Otto-Preminger-Institut c. Autriche

Affaire Résolue Résultat mitigé

Key Details

  • Mode D'expression
    Transmission audio visuelle
  • Date de la Décision
    septembre 20, 1995
  • Résultat
    Sanctions pénales, Loi ou action maintenue
  • Numéro de Cas
    13470/87
  • Région et Pays
    Autriche, Europe et asie centrale
  • Organe Judiciaire
    Cour Européenne des droits de l’homme (CEDH)
  • Type de Loi
    Droit Pénal
  • thèmes
    Réglementation du contenu / censure

Ce cas est disponible dans d'autres langues:    Vue en: English    Vue en: Español    Vue en: العربية

Analyse de Cas

Résumé du Cas et Résultat

La Cour européenne des droits de l’homme a déterminé que la saisie et la confiscation d’un film par le gouvernement ne violait pas le droit à la liberté d’expression en vertu de l’article 10 de la Convention européenne des droits de l’homme. Le ministère public autrichien a engagé une procédure pénale contre le Preminger-Institut für audiovisuelle Mediengestaltung (OPI) en vertu de l’article 188 du code pénal, à la demande de l’Église catholique romaine, pour avoir projeté un film qui dénigrait les doctrines religieuses. En vertu de la loi autrichienne sur les médias, le procureur a ensuite saisi le film et en a empêché la diffusion publique. La Cour a estimé que l’absence d’une position uniforme en Europe sur l’importance de la religion dans la société signifiait que les autorités nationales avaient droit à une certaine marge d’appréciation pour évaluer la nécessité d’imposer des restrictions pour éviter d’offenser les croyances religieuses.


Les Faits

Otto-Preminger-Institut für audiovisuelle Mediengestaltung (OPI) est une association privée installée à Innsbruck en Autriche qui œuvre pour la promotion de la créativité, la communication et les loisirs dans les médias audio-visuels.

En 1985, l’association a annoncé une série de 6 projections du film intitulé Das Liebeskonzil (« Le Concile d’amour »), interdit aux moins de 17 ans. L’annonce n’a pas fait mention du contenu du film mais a précisé qu’il contenait des caricatures et des représentations figuratives simplistes des excès de la foi chrétienne.

Sur requête de l’église catholique romaine, le procureur général a engagé des poursuites pénales contre M. Dietmar Zing, premier responsable d’OPI en date du 10 mai 1985. Il a été accusé d’avoir commis un acte de « dénigrement de doctrines religieuses, interdit en vertu de l’article 188 du Code pénal.


Aperçu des Décisions

La Cour a d’abord jugé que la saisie du film était justifiée par un objectif légitime au sens de l’article 10 de la Convention. Elle a noté que généralement « la manière dont on s’oppose à ou on renie les croyances et doctrines religieuses est une question qui engage la responsabilité de l’état et notamment pour assurer la jouissance paisible du droit garanti en vertu de l’article 9 à ceux qui croient en de telles doctrines.” [para. 47]

Dans l’affaire présente, l’article 188 du Code pénal autrichien était censé réprimer les comportements dirigés contre la religion et pouvant causer une “ indignation justifiée.” Selon la Cour, l’objectif est de protéger les citoyens pour qu’ils ne voient pas leurs croyances religieuses insultées par les diverses formes d’expression publique. Sur la base des termes utilisés dans les arrêts des tribunaux autrichiens et leur formulation, la Cour a statué que la saisie en tant qu’ingérence poursuivait, en effet, un objectif légitime. [para. 48]

La Cour a ensuite examiné la nécessité d’une telle saisie et confiscation dans une société démocratique. Elle rappelle d’abord l’importance du principe fixé dans l’affaire Handyside c. Royaume-Uni,  requête n° 5493/72 (1976) ​selon lequel l’article 10 de​ la Convention vaut non seulement pour les « informations » ou « idées » accueillies avec faveur ou considérées comme inoffensives ou indifférentes, mais aussi pour celles qui heurtent, choquent ou inquiètent l’état ou toute autre partie de la population. Ainsi le veulent le pluralisme, la tolérance et l’esprit d’ouverture sans lesquels il n’est pas de « société démocratique ». [para. 49]

A ce propos, la Cour a d’abord estimé que les tribunaux nationaux autrichiens n’ont pas outrepassé la marge d’appréciation qui leur est donnée lorsqu’ils ont conclu qu’il existait un “besoin social pressant” pour la préservation de la paix religieuse. Tout en prenant en compte que l’accès du public au film était payant et soumis à une limite minimum d’âge , la Cour a jugé que la projection prévue dans une ville, où la religion catholique romaine était majoritaire, a été largement annoncée et équivaut donc à une expression suffisamment publique pour causer une offense. La Cour a également considéré qu’en procédant à la confiscation du film, les autorités ont agi pour assurer la paix religieuse dans la région en question et pour empêcher les gens de se sentir attaqués dans leurs croyances de manière injustifiée et blessante. Elle a ensuite appliqué ce même raisonnement à la confiscation du film par le gouvernement.

Par conséquent, la Cour a jugé que la saisie et confiscation du film de la part du gouvernement ne constituait pas une violation de l’article 10 de la Convention. [1]

 

[1] Voir Religion, moralité, blasphème et obscénité par ARTICLE 19 pour plus d’informations sur les restrictions imposées à la liberté d’expression en vue de protéger la moralité publique et les croyances religieuses dans le système européen des droits de l’homme, disponible à travers le lien suivant : https://www.article19.org/pages/en/religion-morality-blasphemy-obscenity-more.htm         l.


Direction De La Décision

Info Rapide

La direction de la décision indique si la décision élargit ou réduit l'expression sur la base d'une analyse de l'affaire.

Résultat mitigé

Cette affaire montre clairement les limites et les applications de la marge d’appréciation. Le principe bien connu de l’affaire Handyside c. Royaume-Uni, requête. n° 5493/72 (1976) a été appliqué ici et les autorités locales sont en droit d’évaluer et de décider de ce qui risque d’être politiquement, socialement et culturellement sensible dans la zone en question. En appliquant la marge d’appréciation, il importe de définir l’impact que cela pourrait avoir sur la société. Cette affaire ne fait ni étendre ni limiter la liberté d’expression mais lui accorde une meilleure compréhension dans le sens de l’application de la marge d’appréciation et l’interprétation locale de la loi.

Perspective Globale

Importance du Cas

Documents Officiels du Cas

Documents Officiels du Cas:


Pièces Jointes:

Vous avez des commentaires?

Faites-nous savoir si vous remarquez des erreurs ou si l'analyse de cas doit être révisée.

Envoyer un Retour D'information

Global Freedom of Expression

Español

Otto-Preminger-Institut v. Austria

Closed Mixed Outcome

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Audio / Visual Broadcasting
  • Date of Decision
    September 20, 1995
  • Outcome
    Law or Action Upheld, Criminal Sanctions
  • Case Number
    13470/87
  • Region & Country
    Austria, Europe and Central Asia
  • Judicial Body
    European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR)
  • Type of Law
    Criminal Law
  • Themes
    Content Regulation / Censorship, Religious Expression

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

Preminger-Institut für audiovisuelle Mediengestaltung (OPI), an Austrian audio-visual media promotion association, announced in May 1985 that it would screen a series of films, including a satirical performance that contained trivial imagery of Christianity. As the announcement was made in a public information bulletin, the public prosecutor instituted a criminal proceeding against the organization at the request of the Roman Catholic Church for disparaging religious doctrines under Section 188 of the Penal Code. And pursuant to the Austrian Media Act, the prosecutor later seized the film and prevented its public distribution.

The European Court of Human Rights did not find the government seizure of the film a violation of the right to freedom of expression under Article 10 of the European Convention on Human Rights. By taking into account the absence of a uniform position in Europe on the significance of religion in society, the Court held that national authorities were entitled to a certain margin of appreciation in assessing the necessity of imposing restrictions to avoid offending religious beliefs.

 


Facts

Otto-Preminger-Institut für audiovisuelle Mediengestaltung (OPI), was a private association in Innsbruck, Austria that sought to promote creativity, communication and entertainment through the audio-visual media. 

In 1985, the association announced a series of six showings of the film Das Liebeskonzil (“Council in Heaven”). The show was restricted for persons 17 and under. The announcement did not include the contents of the movie itself, but carried a statement that trivial imagery and absurdities of the Christian creed would be caricatured. 

At the request of the Roman Catholic Church, the public prosecutor brought criminal proceedings against OPI’s manager, Mr. Dietmar Zingl, on May 10, 1985. He was charged with the act of “disparaging religious doctrines,” prohibited under Section 188 of the Penal Code.


Decision Overview

The Court first found that the seizure of the film pursued a legitimate aim within the meaning of Article 10 of the Convention. It noted that generally “the manner in which religious beliefs and doctrines are opposed or denied is a matter which may engage the responsibility of the State, notably its responsibility to ensure the peaceful enjoyment of the right guaranteed under Article 9 to the holders of those beliefs and doctrines.” [para. 47]

In the present case, Section 188 of the Austrian Penal Code was intended to suppress behavior that was directed against religion, and likely to cause “justified indignation.” Thus, according to the Court, its purpose was to protect citizens from having their religious beliefs insulted by public expression. Based on the terms used in the decisions of the Austrian courts, and how they were phrased, the Court found that the seizure as an interference did indeed pursue a legitimate aim. [para. 48]

The Court then discussed the necessity for such seizure and forfeiture in a democratic society. It first reiterated the importance of the Handyside v. United Kingdom, App. No. 5493/72 (1976) rule, which holds that Article 10 of the Convention does not only apply to “‘information’ or ‘ideas’ that are favorably received or regarded as inoffensive or as a matter of indifference, but also to those that shock, offend or disturb the State or any sector of the population. Such are the demands of that pluralism, tolerance and broadmindedness without which there is no ‘democratic society.’” [para. 49]

Here, the Court first held that the domestic court of Austria did not overstep their margin of appreciation in concluding that there was “a pressing social need” for the preservation of religious peace. While taking into account that public access to the film at issue was subject to payment and age limitation, the Court found that the proposed screening in a city, where Roman Catholic is the majority religion, was widely advertised and therefore, amounted to an expression sufficiently public to cause offense. The Court also considered that in seizing the film, the authorities acted to ensure the religious peace in that region and to prevent people from feeling the object of the attacks on their religious beliefs in an unwarranted and offensive manner. It then applied the same reasoning to the government’s forfeiture of the film.

Accordingly, the Court found that the government seizure and forfeiture of the film did not amount to a violation of Article 10 of the Convention.1


  1. See Religion, morality, blasphemy and obscenity by ARTICLE 19 on further discussion of free speech restrictions for protection of public morals and religious beliefs in the European human rights system, available at: https://www.article19.org/pages/en/religion-morality-blasphemy-obscenity-more.html


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Mixed Outcome

This case clearly shows the limitations and applications for the margin of appreciation. The well known rule of Handyside v. United Kingdom, App. No. 5493/72 (1976) was applied here, and the local authorities have the right to assess and decide what would be politically, socially, and culturally sensitive in the local area. In the application of the margin of appreciation, it is important to outline the impact that it could have on the society. This case neither expands expression nor contracts it, but gives a better understanding towards the application of margin of appreciation and the local interpretation of the law.

Global Perspective

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

The decision was cited in:

Official Case Documents

Official Case Documents:


Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback