Nieto Marquez c. Las Igualadas

Affaire Résolue élargit l'expression

Key Details

  • Mode D'expression
    Communication électronique / basée sur l'internet, Discours public
  • Date de la Décision
    août 6, 2019
  • Résultat
    Jugement en faveur du défendeur, Rejeté
  • Numéro de Cas
    SU355/19
  • Région et Pays
    Colombie, Latin-America and Caribbean
  • Organe Judiciaire
    Cour constitutionnelle
  • Type de Loi
    Droit Constitutionnel
  • thèmes
    Defamation / Reputation, Expression politique
  • Mots-Cles
    Personalités publiques

Ce cas est disponible dans d'autres langues:    Vue en: English    Vue en: Español    Vue en: العربية

Analyse de Cas

Résumé du Cas et Résultat

La Cour constitutionnelle a estimé que la vidéo en ligne dʼun journaliste commentant et critiquant lʼopinion dʼun influenceur sur la communauté LGBTI ne portait pas atteinte à ses droits fondamentaux à la dignité, l’honneur et la réputation. La Cour a établi un test pour distinguer les informations factuelles des opinions en considérant six éléments contextuels. Certains sujets, en raison de leur valeur dʼintérêt public, tels que lʼégalité des sexes ou la discrimination à lʼencontre de la communauté LGBTI, devraient être considérés comme des discours spécifiquement protégés à la lumière des normes colombiennes et interaméricaines de la liberté dʼexpression. La Cour a donc estimé que la vidéo était protégée par le droit à la liberté dʼexpression car elle représentait une opinion critique fondée sur des faits accessibles au public, vrais et vérifiables, liés à une question sociale importante.


Les Faits

Lʼinfluenceuse chrétienne Erika Nieto Marquez a publié une vidéo sur sa chaîne YouTube intitulée « Mi video más sincero » (Ma vidéo la plus honnête), dans laquelle elle parle de son opinion sur la communauté LGBTI, du point de vue de sa foi. En réponse, la journaliste Maria Angela Urbina a publié une vidéo intitulée « Kika Nieto odia a gays y lesbianas así diga lo contrario » (Kika Nieto déteste les gays et les lesbiennes même si elle dit le contraire) dans « Las Igualadas », une chaîne dʼopinion qui appartient au journal El Espectador. Elle y a commenté et critiqué la vidéo de Kika Nieto.

En réponse, Mme Nieto a demandé au journal El Espectador de rectifier les informations diffusées sur « Las Igualadas », par la journaliste, Mme Urbina. Selon Mme Nieto, Mme Urbina a lancé des attaques verbales, des accusations diffamatoires à son encontre et a décidé avec malveillance de lʼaccuser “dʼêtre une personne violente et perverse, capable de frapper et de tuer une autre personne en raison de son orientation sexuelle”. En outre, Mme Nieto a allégué que Mme Urbina l’a accusée d’inciter ses abonnés à commettre des actes atroces contre les personnes de la communauté LGBTI. Elle a donc demandé au directeur du journal d’apporter une rectification publique.

Le directeur du journal El Espectador a rejeté la demande de Mme Nieto en considérant, tout dʼabord, quʼil nʼest possible de rectifier que des faits fallacieux ou erronés, mais pas des pensées ou des opinions. Deuxièmement, « Las Igualadas » est une chaîne dʼopinion créée pour discuter des questions de genre et de discrimination. Par conséquent, lʼopinion donnée sur cette plateforme est inviolable conformément à lʼarticle 20 de la Constitution.

Suite à cela, Mme Nieto a déposé une Tutela (demande de protection des droits constitutionnels) alléguant la violation de ses droits fondamentaux à la réputation et à lʼhonneur.

Le tribunal de première instance a donné tort à la plaignante en considérant que la vidéo du défendeur ne comportait pas dʼexpressions visant à lʼoffenser ou à déformer ses propos, mais plutôt à critiquer les déclarations quʼelle avait faites sur la communauté LGBTI. La Cour a établi que la transmission dʼune information est différente de celle dʼune opinion, car la première doit faire lʼobjet dʼun contrôle préalable de véracité et dʼimpartialité, afin dʼéviter quʼelle soit fausse ou erronée, contrairement à l’opinion qui est subjective.

La décision nʼa pas été contestée par la plaignante.

Le décret 2591/91, qui réglemente la tutela, établit quʼune fois la procédure régulière terminée, chaque dossier de tutela doit être envoyé à la Cour constitutionnelle, qui peut décider de le sélectionner pour un examen spécial ou non.

Cette affaire a été choisie par la Cour constitutionnelle pour être examinée.

 


Aperçu des Décisions

Le juge Luis Guillermo Guerrero a rendu lʼarrêt de la Cour.
La question principale soumise à la Cour était de déterminer si Mme Urbina, la journaliste, et le journal El Espectador ont violé les droits fondamentaux au bon nom et à lʼhonneur du plaignant en publiant la vidéo intitulée « Kika Nieto odia a gays y lesbianas así diga lo contrario » (Kika Nieto déteste les gays et les lesbiennes même si elle dit le contraire).

La plaignante a fait valoir que Mme Urbina, la journaliste, a porté des accusations diffamatoires à son encontre. Le directeur du journal El Espectador a répondu que « Las Igualadas » est une chaîne dʼopinion protégée par lʼarticle 20 de la Constitution et que le contenu de la chaîne ne relève pas du droit à lʼinformation.

La Cour a mentionné que lʼarticle 20 de la Constitution incorpore la garantie de protection de la liberté dʼexpression au sens strict, et de la liberté dʼopinion et dʼinformation, le droit de rectification dans des conditions dʼéquité et lʼinterdiction de la censure, entre autres.

Pour la Cour, le droit à la liberté dʼexpression comprend non seulement le droit de sʼexprimer sans aucune ingérence arbitraire, mais aussi le droit dʼutiliser tout moyen approprié pour diffuser des expressions. Lʼexpression est indissociable des moyens de diffusion utilisés pour la rendre effective. Les restrictions aux possibilités de diffusion constituent, elles aussi, une limitation de la liberté dʼexpression. Ce droit comprend également la liberté de choisir le ton ou lʼesthétique du discours.

La Cour a évoqué les différences entre la liberté dʼinformation et la liberté dʼopinion. Pour la Cour, la liberté dʼinformation représente une charge plus importante pour ceux qui lʼexercent car, sʼagissant de lʼexpression de faits, elle doit être fondée sur des données vérifiables et comporte une exigence de véracité et dʼimpartialité. La liberté dʼopinion, puisque son champ de protection inclut les idées, les façons de voir le monde et les appréciations personnelles, ne requiert pas ces exigences.

La Cour a établi un test pour distinguer les informations des opinions en considérant six éléments contextuels : « i) le message ; ii) le but ; iii) les caractéristiques de la manière dont il est diffusé ; iv) la manière dont il est utilisé et présenté à un public ; v) la présentation graphique de la section ; et vi) la longueur » [§ 4.2].

Dans certains cas, il est difficile de faire la différence entre une information et une opinion, surtout lorsque cette dernière nʼest pas pure et simple, mais quʼelle est associée à des faits. Pour la Cour, les juges doivent étudier le contexte et la fonction du contenu communiqué.
Dans ce cas particulier, la Cour a donc déclaré que, même lorsque lʼopinion de « Las Igualadas » inclut des informations, cʼest-à-dire des faits mentionnés dans la vidéo, cela nʼimplique pas que la nature de la chaîne dʼopinion mute, et elle reste dans le cadre de la liberté dʼexpression.

La Cour a évoqué les types de discours spécialement protégés par la liberté dʼexpression et les interdictions ou limitations à ce droit.

Pour la Cour, certains sujets tels que lʼégalité des sexes ou la discrimination de la communauté LGBTI devraient être considérés comme un discours particulièrement protégé à la lumière des normes colombiennes et interaméricaines de la liberté dʼexpression, puisquʼil sʼagit dʼune question dʼintérêt public. Lorsquʼun individu exerce sa liberté dʼexpression dans lʼintérêt public, la possibilité dʼimposer des limites doit être analysée plus rigoureusement. Lʼévaluation des opinions en tant quʼactes de contrôle de la puissance publique au sein des démocraties constitutionnelles devrait avoir une marge large et réfléchie. Pour la Cour, « i) toute limitation à la liberté dʼexpression doit être expressément justifiée, ii) les limitations à la liberté dʼexpression sont suspectées dʼêtre inconstitutionnelles et sont soumises à un contrôle strict de constitutionnalité, en particulier celles qui ont trait à des expressions sur des questions dʼintérêt public, et iii) la Constitution établit une interdiction générale de la censure » [§ 4.3].

En ce qui concerne les interdictions ou les limitations du droit à la liberté dʼexpression, la Cour a déclaré que « si la règle générale est que toute expression est protégée par le droit à la liberté dʼexpression, il existe certains [types] de discours qui non seulement ne sont pas protégés, mais qui font lʼobjet dʼune interdiction manifeste dans les législations nationales et internationales, tels que la pornographie enfantine, lʼincitation au génocide, la propagande de guerre, lʼincitation à la violence et au terrorisme » [§ 4.4].

La Cour a cité la CIDH, qui a indiqué que « lʼimposition de sanctions pour abus de la liberté dʼexpression sous lʼaccusation dʼincitation à la violence (entendue comme lʼincitation à commettre des crimes, à porter atteinte à lʼordre public ou à la sécurité nationale) doit être étayée par des preuves réelles, véridiques, objectives et solides que la personne nʼa pas simplement émis une opinion (même si cette opinion était dure, injuste ou dérangeante), mais que la personne avait lʼintention claire de commettre un crime et la possibilité réelle, effective et réelle dʼatteindre cet objectif. Agir autrement reviendrait à admettre la possibilité de punir les opinions, et tous les États seraient autorisés à supprimer tout type de pensée ou dʼexpression critique à lʼégard des autorités qui, comme lʼanarchisme et les
opinions radicalement opposées à lʼordre établi, remettent en cause lʼexistence des institutions actuelles ».

La Cour a conclu en disant que, lorsque des tensions apparaissent entre la liberté de pensée, dʼopinion et dʼinformation et les droits à lʼhonneur et à la réputation, les tribunaux doivent identifier quelle liberté est exercée. Dans le cas des informations, une charge plus importante de véracité, dʼimpartialité et dʼimportance publique est requise, tandis que dans le cas des pensées ou des opinions, les tribunaux doivent évaluer sʼil sʼagit dʼexpressions dépourvues de tout fondement factuel, de vexations ou de tromperie.
La Cour a estimé que le discours exprimé par « Las Igualadas » dans la vidéo était une opinion critique fondée sur lʼintérêt public, la vérité et des faits vérifiables. Pour cette raison, la vidéo est protégée par le droit à la liberté dʼexpression. En conclusion, la Cour a confirmé la décision de la première instance.


Direction De La Décision

Info Rapide

La direction de la décision indique si la décision élargit ou réduit l'expression sur la base d'une analyse de l'affaire.

élargit l'expression

La décision élargit lʼexpression. La Cour a établi une norme élevée pour sanctionner les discours offensants et choquants et a mentionné les questions liées au genre comme étant une question dʼintérêt public. En outre, elle a appliqué une norme stricte concernant la sanction des « discours de haine ». La Cour a également appliqué un test pour différencier les faits des jugements de valeur et a fourni des éléments pour une évaluation contextuelle de ce
quʼest une opinion.

Perspective Globale

Info Rapide

La perspective globale montre comment la décision de la Cour a été influencée par les normes d'une ou de plusieurs régions.

Tableau Des Autorités

Lois internationale et/ou régionale connexe

  • ECtHR, Tamiz v. United Kingdom, App No. 3877/14 (2017)
  • IACtHR, Herrera Ulloa v. Costa Rica, ser. C No. 107 (2004)
  • IACtHR, López Álvarez v. Honduras, ser. C No. 141 (2006)
  • ACHR, art. 12
  • ACHR, art. 13
  • ICCPR, art. 20

Normes, droit ou jurisprudence nationales

  • Colom., Constitution of Colombia (1991), art. 20.
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-259/94
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-602/95
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, C-010/00
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-1202/00
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-1198/04
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-040/05
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-626/07
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-391/07
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-417/09
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-439/09
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-298/09
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-218/09
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-260/10
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-263/10
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-003/11
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-088/13
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-040/13
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-256/13
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-135/14
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-914/14
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-015/15
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-312/15
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-277/15
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-546/16
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-693/16
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-022/17
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-695/17
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-117/18

Importance du Cas

Info Rapide

L'importance du cas fait référence à l'influence du cas et à la manière dont son importance évolue dans le temps.

La décision établit un précédent contraignant ou persuasif dans sa juridiction.

Documents Officiels du Cas

Vous avez des commentaires?

Faites-nous savoir si vous remarquez des erreurs ou si l'analyse de cas doit être révisée.

Envoyer un Retour D'information

Global Freedom of Expression

Nieto Marquez v. Las Igualadas

Closed Expands Expression

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Electronic / Internet-based Communication, Public Speech
  • Date of Decision
    August 6, 2019
  • Outcome
    Dismissed, Judgment in Favor of Defendant
  • Case Number
    SU355/19
  • Region & Country
    Colombia, Latin-America and Caribbean
  • Judicial Body
    Constitutional Court
  • Type of Law
    Constitutional Law
  • Themes
    Defamation / Reputation, Political Expression
  • Tags
    Public Figures

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

The Constitutional Court found that a journalist’s online video commenting on and criticizing an influencer’s opinion on the LGBTI community did not violate the latter’s fundamental rights to good name and honor. The Court established a test to distinguish between factual information and opinions by considering six  contextual elements. Further, some topics due to their public interest value, such as gender equality or discrimination against the LGBTI community, should be considered as specially protected speech in light of Colombian and Inter-American standards of freedom of expression. Hence, the Court held that the video was protected by the right to freedom of expression because it represented a critical opinion based on publicly available, true and verifiable facts related to an important social issue.


Facts

Christian Influencer Erika Nieto Marquez published a video on her YouTube channel called “Mi video más sincero” (my most honest video), where she talked about her opinion of the LGBTI community, in her religious perspective. As a response, journalist Maria Angela Urbina published a video called “Kika Nieto odia a gays y lesbianas así diga lo contrario” (Kika Nieto hates gays and lesbians even if she says otherwise) in “Las Igualadas”, an opinion channel that belongs to El Espectador newspaper. There, she commented on and criticized Nieto’s video. 

In response, Nieto requested that El Espectador newspaper rectify the information disseminated on “Las Igualadas”, by the journalist Urbina. According to Nieto, the journalist Urbina made verbal attacks, defamatory accusations against her, and maliciously decided to accuse her of being a violent and perverse person, capable of hitting and killing another person because of her sexual orientation. In addition, Nieto alleged that Urbina said that she sought to incite her followers to commit atrocious acts against people from the LGBTI community. Lastly, she asked the director of the newspaper to make a public rectification. 

The director of El Espectador newspaper rejected Nieto’s request considering, first, that it is only feasible to rectify false or erroneous facts but not thoughts or opinions. Second, “Las Igualadas” is an opinion channel created to discuss gender and discrimination issues. Consequently, the opinion given on that platform is inviolable as per Article 20 of the Constitution.

Following this, Nieto filed a Tutela (an application for the protection of constitutional rights) alleging the violation of her fundamental rights to good name and honor.

The first instance Court ruled against the plaintiff considering that the defendant’s video did not include expressions that were intended to offend her or misrepresent her comments, but rather to criticize the statements she had made about the LGBTI community. The Court established that it is different to transmit information rather than opinion, since the former must be subject to a prior review for veracity and impartiality, in order to avoid it being false or erroneous. In other words, false or erroneous information must be clarified or rectified. Opinion is subjective. 

The decision was not contested by the plaintiff.  

The Decree 2591/91, which regulates tutela, establishes that once the regular proceeding is concluded every tutela file should be send to the Constitutional Court, which may decide to select it for a special review or not. This case was chosen by the Constitutional Court for its review.


Decision Overview

Judge Luis Guillermo Guerrero delivered the judgment of the Court.

The main issue before the Court was to determine whether the journalist Urbina and El Espectador newspaper violated the fundamental rights to good name and honor of the plaintiff by publishing the video called “Kika Nieto odia a gays y lesbianas así diga lo contrario” (Kika Nieto hates gays and lesbians even if she says otherwise).

The plaintiff argued that the journalist Urbina made defamatory accusations against her. The director of El Espectador newspaper responded that “Las Igualadas” is an opinion channel protected by Article 20 of the Constitution and that the content of the channel is not within the scope of the right to information. 

The Court mentioned that Article 20 of the Constitution incorporates the guarantee of protection of freedom of expression in strict sense, and freedom of opinion and information, the right to rectification under conditions of equity and the prohibition of censorship, among others. 

For the Court, the right to freedom of expression includes not only the right to express oneself without any arbitrary interference, but also the right to use any appropriate means to disseminate expressions. The expression is inseparable from the means of dissemination used to make it effective. Restrictions on the possibilities of dissemination constitute, likewise, a limitation to freedom of expression. This right also includes the freedom to choose the tone or the esthetic of the speech.  

The Court referred to the differences between freedom of information and freedom of opinion. For the Court, freedom of information bears a greater burden for those who exercise it because, as it concerns the expression of facts, it must be based on verifiable data and has the requirement of truthfulness and impartiality. Freedom of opinion, since its scope of protection includes ideas, ways of seeing the world and personal appreciations, does not demand those requirements.

The Court established a test to distinguish between information and opinions by considering six  contextual elements: “(i) the message; (ii) the purpose; (iii) the characteristics of the way in which it is disseminated; (iv) the way it is used and presented to an audience; (v) the graphic presentation of the section; and (vi) the length” [para. 4.2].

There are cases where it is difficult to differentiate information from opinion, especially when the latter is not pure and simple, but instead is combined with facts. For the Court, judges must study the context and function of the communicated content.

In this particular case, the Court said therefore, even when the opinion of “Las Igualadas” includes information, that is, facts referred to in the video, this does not imply that the nature of the opinion channel mutates, and it remains within the scope of freedom of expression. 

The Court referred to types of speech specially protected by freedom of expression and the prohibitions or limitations to this right. 

For the Court, some topics such as gender equality or discrimination of the LGBTI community should be considered as a specially protected speech in light of Colombian and Inter-American standards of freedom of expression, since it is a matter of public interest. When an individual exercises freedom of expression in the public interest, the possibility of imposing limits must be analyzed more rigorously. The assessment of opinions as acts of control of public power within constitutional democracies should have a wide and thoughtful margin. For the Court, “(i) any limitation to freedom of expression must be expressly justified, (ii) limitations to freedom of expression are under suspicion of unconstitutionally and are subject to strict constitutionality control, especially those that have to do with expressions on matters of public interest, and (iii) the Constitution establishes a general prohibition of censorship” [para. 4.3].

Related to the prohibitions or limitations of the right to freedom of expression, the Court said “although the general rule is that every expression is protected by the right of freedom of expression, there are certain [types of] speech that are not only not protected, but are also subject to a manifest prohibition in national and international legislation, such as child pornography, incitement to genocide, war propaganda, incitement to violence and to terrorism” [para. 4.4]. 

The Court quoted the IACmHR, who has indicated that “the imposition of sanctions for the abuse of freedom of expression under the charge of incitement to violence (understood as the incitement to commit crimes, the breaking of public order or national security) must be backed up by actual, truthful, objective and strong proof that the person was not simply issuing an opinion (even if that opinion was hard, unfair or disturbing), but that the person had the clear intention of committing a crime and the actual, real and effective possibility of achieving this objective. Acting otherwise would mean admitting the possibility of punishing opinions, and all the States would be authorized to suppress any kind of thought or expression critical of the authorities that, like anarchism and opinions radically opposed to the established order, question the existence of current institutions”..

The Court concluded by saying that, when tensions arise between freedom of thought, opinion and information and the rights to honor and good name, Courts must identify which freedom is being exercised.  In the case of information, a greater burden of truthfulness, impartiality and public importance is required, while in the case of thoughts or opinions, the Courts must assess whether they are expressions devoid of any factual rudiments, vexations or deceit.

The Court found that the speech expressed by “Las Igualadas” in the video was a critical opinion based on public interest, truth and verifiable facts. For that reason, the video was protected by the right to freedom of expression. In conclusion, the Court confirmed the decision of the first instance.


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Expands Expression

The decision expands expression. The Court established a high standard for sanctioning offensive and shocking speeches and referred to gender related issues as a matter of public interest. Furthermore, it applied a strict standard regarding the punishment of “hate speech”. The Court also applied a test to differentiate between facts and value judgments and provided elements for a contextual assessment of what an opinion is.   

Global Perspective

Quick Info

Global Perspective demonstrates how the court’s decision was influenced by standards from one or many regions.

Table of Authorities

Related International and/or regional laws

  • ECtHR, Tamiz v. United Kingdom, App No. 3877/14 (2017)
  • IACtHR, Herrera Ulloa v. Costa Rica, ser. C No. 107 (2004)
  • IACtHR, López Álvarez v. Honduras, ser. C No. 141 (2006)
  • ACHR, art. 12
  • ACHR, art. 13
  • ICCPR, art. 20

National standards, law or jurisprudence

  • Colom., Constitution of Colombia (1991), art. 20.
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-259/94
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-602/95
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, C-010/00
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-1202/00
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-1198/04
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-040/05
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-626/07
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-391/07
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-417/09
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-439/09
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-298/09
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-218/09
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-260/10
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-263/10
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-003/11
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-088/13
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-040/13
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-256/13
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-135/14
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-914/14
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-015/15
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-312/15
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-277/15
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-546/16
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-693/16
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-022/17
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-695/17
  • Colom., Constitutional Court, T-117/18

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

Official Case Documents

Official Case Documents:


Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback