Lohé Issa Konaté c. République du Burkina Faso

Affaire Résolue élargit l'expression

Key Details

  • Mode D'expression
    Presse / Journaux
  • Date de la Décision
    décembre 5, 2014
  • Résultat
    Réparations effectuées par la personne ou l'entité qui a exercé la liberté d'expression, Loi ou action annulée ou jugée inconstitutionnelle
  • Numéro de Cas
    App. No. 004/2013
  • Région et Pays
    Burkina Faso, Afrique
  • Organe Judiciaire
    Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples
  • Type de Loi
    Droit international/régional des droits de l'homme
  • thèmes
    Réglementation du contenu / censure, Defamation / Reputation, Expression politique
  • Mots-Cles
    Diffamation Criminelle, Diffamation civile, Agents publics

Ce cas est disponible dans d'autres langues:    Vue en: English    Vue en: العربية

Analyse de Cas

Résumé du Cas et Résultat

Le 5 décembre 2014, la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples a rendu un arrêt historique dans sa première affaire concernant la liberté de la presse. Le jugement a annulé la condamnation du journaliste Lohé Issa Konaté qui avait fait l’objet de sévères sanctions pénales imposées par le Burkina Faso suite à des accusations de diffamation pour avoir publié plusieurs articles de journaux alléguant la corruption d’un procureur. La Cour a estimé que la condamnation constituait une ingérence disproportionnée dans les droits à la liberté d’expression garantis au requérant. Elle a noté que les personnalités publiques telles que les procureurs doivent tolérer plus de critiques que les particuliers.  En outre, la Cour a ordonné au Burkina Faso d’amender sa législation sur la diffamation afin de la rendre conforme aux normes internationales en abrogeant les peines privatives de liberté pour les actes de diffamation ; et d’adapter sa législation afin de garantir que les autres sanctions pour diffamation remplissent les critères de nécessité et de proportionnalité, conformément aux obligations internationales du pays.


Les Faits

En août 2012, le journaliste Lohé Issa Konaté a écrit deux articles pour le journal L’Ouragan, dans lesquels il a accusé le procureur général de corruption. En réponse, le procureur a porté plainte contre M. Konaté et un co-accusé pour diffamation, insulte publique et outrage au tribunal. Des plaintes ont aussi déposées au pénal contre les deux accusés et des dommages-intérêts ont été réclamés.

En octobre 2012, M. Konaté a été reconnu coupable par la Cour suprême Ouagadougou et condamné à un an de prison, une amende de US $3000 et des dommages-intérêts au profit du procureur d’un montant de US $9000. De plus, la Cour a aussi ordonné la suspension du journal L’Ouragan ayant publié les articles pour une période de 6 mois. La décision a ensuite été confirmée en appel . En juin 2013, une requête a été déposée au nom de M. Konaté auprès de la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples alléguant que les sanctions excessives imposées violaient ses droits de liberté d’expression tels que garantis par l’article 9 de la Charte africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples (“Toute personne a le droit d’exprimer et de diffuser ses opinions dans le cadre des lois et règlements.”), l’article 19 du Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques (“Toute personne a droit à la liberté d’expression ”), et l’article 66(2)(c) du Traité instituant la CEDEAO (Les états sont tenus d’assurer le respect des droits des journalistes); auxquels le Burkina Faso est membre.

La requête a été présentée par Media Legal Defense Initiative (“MLDI”), une ONG dédiée à la défense juridique des médias indépendants, des journalistes et des bloggeurs qui sont menacés à cause de leurs publications. L’objectif de MLDI est de promouvoir la liberté d’expression dans les médias, telle que soutenue par les normes internationales. MLDI a porté son aide à plus de 1500 journalistes à travers le monde et peut se prévaloir d’assurer une défense de haute qualité en matière de liberté d’expression.


Aperçu des Décisions

Appréciation du requérant :

La requête a invoqué que la Cour africaine devrait revoir l’affaire pour constituer sa propre jurisprudence en matière de liberté d’expression étant donné que la Cour n’avait pas encore connu d’une affaire relative à la liberté d’expression avant l’affaire en cours. Le requérant a notamment fait valoir que la condamnation du journaliste “à une peine de prison, le paiement d’une amende substantielle et des dommages-intérêts constitue une violation de son droit de liberté d’expression protégé en vertu de divers traités auxquels le Burkina Faso est membre.”

Citant plusieurs conventions et traités internationaux, le requérant a soutenu que le Burkina Faso avait l’obligation de protéger le droit à la liberté d’expression. Cette analyse a été fondée sur les conventions et traités régionaux et internationaux que le Burkina Faso a ratifiés, la constitution du Burkina Faso et la reconnaissance par la communauté internationale du droit à la liberté d’expression. Quant au fond de l’affaire, la requête a noté que la condamnation pour diffamation et publication était une violation du droit des requérants à la liberté d’expression pour plusieurs raisons : “(1) les lois ayant servi pour condamner le requérant violaient le droit à la liberté d’expression; (2) la diffamation criminelle constitue une violation du droit à la liberté d’expression; (3) la peine d’emprisonnement pour diffamation est une violation du droit à la liberté d’expression ; (4) la critique des agents publics jouit d’une protection en vertu du droit à la liberté d’expression ; et (5) les sanctions sévères imposées au requérant constituent une violation du droit à la liberté d’expression.”

Appréciation de la cour :

La Cour s’est focalisée essentiellement sur la permissivité légale de législation du Burkina Faso dans le contexte des traités et chartes sus-mentionnés. La Cour s’est notamment penchée sur les sanctions pénales en cas de diffamation criminelle et si ces dernières donnaient lieu à une restriction inadmissible aux droits à la liberté d’expression. Pour répondre à cette question, la Cour a examiné les exigences que la loi nationale limitant la liberté d’expression doit satisfaire pour être admise. Il s’agit d’une analyse à trois niveaux. D’abord, la langue utilisée par la législation nationale est-elle suffisamment claire pour que toutes les parties s’y conforment ? Ensuite, la restriction sert-elle un objectif légitime ? et en fin, la limitation dans la loi est-elle nécessaire pour réaliser cet objectif ?

Pour les deux premières questions, la Cour a trouvé que les lois du Burkina Faso portant sur la diffamation et prévoyant des sanctions pénales satisfaisaient aux exigences. Premièrement, les lois indiquent clairement les restrictions et les sanctions qui seraient imposées en cas d’enfreinte à la loi. Deuxièmement, les restrictions servaient un objectif légitime. Il ne peut y avoir d’enfreinte à la liberté d’expression que si la restriction se base sur un intérêt public prédominant. Ici, l’objectif de la législation sur la diffamation est de protéger l’honneur et la réputation des personnes contre les atteintes par autrui, chose que la Cour a estimé servir un intérêt public pertinent.

L’affaire dépendait vraiment de la troisième question: la limitation imposée était-elle nécessaire pour réaliser l’objectif ? L’analyse de la question est allée dans le sens qui cherchait à savoir si oui ou non les sanctions prises, dans ce cas des sanctions criminelles, étaient proportionnelles par rapport au droit à la liberté d’expression. En d’autres termes, les sanctions ne devaient pas aller plus loin qu’il n’est strictement nécessaire pour la réalisation de l’objectif, et dans ce cas l’objectif de la législation portant sur la diffamation était la préservation de l’honneur du procureur. La Cour était d’avis que le degré d’ingérence devait être moindre dans le contexte d’un débat public portant sur des personnalités publiques. La Cour a estimé que les sanctions pénales prévues par la législation du Burkina Faso portant sur la diffamation n’étaient pas proportionnelles. La Cour a aussi noté que les sanctions pénales pour diffamation pouvaient même être catégoriquement inappropriées dans un scénario de diffamation parce que le recours en civil est plus que suffisant pour empêcher la publication d’une œuvre diffamatoire. Parce que la législation du Burkina Faso prévoit des sanctions pénales à l’encontre de toute personne jugée coupable de diffamation, la législation en la matière elle-même n’était pas en conformité avec les droits à la liberté d’expression protégés en vertu des chartes et traités sus-mentionnés dans la mesure où elle imposait une sanction disproportionnée. Par ailleurs, les sanctions pécuniaires prises contre M. Konate d’un montant de 12000 US $ en plus de la suspension de son journal étaient en elles-mêmes excessives. Ainsi, la Cour a statué que le jugement prononcé dans l’affaire Konate était inadéquat au vu du droit international parce qu’il violait de manière illégitime les droits garantis de M. Konate à la liberté d’expression.

La décision finale de la Cour a trouvé que le Burkina Faso avait manqué à ses obligations en vertu de l’article 9 de la Charte africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples, l’article 19 du Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques et l’article 66(2)(c) du Traité instituant la CEDEAO. La Cour a donc ordonné au Burkina Faso d’amender sa législation nationale pour interdire les sanctions pénales pour diffamation criminelle. M. Konate pouvait également prétendre à des réparations de la part du Burkina Faso à une date ultérieure après le dépôt d’un mémoire en la matière.

Cette décision établit une norme selon laquelle le gouvernement ne peut pas criminaliser la liberté d’expression en renversant la peine de prison prononcée contre un journaliste pour motif de diffamation. Il s’agit du premier jugement en Afrique qui détermine un tel niveau de liberté d’expression créant par la même occasion un précédent solide pour la région


Direction De La Décision

Info Rapide

La direction de la décision indique si la décision élargit ou réduit l'expression sur la base d'une analyse de l'affaire.

élargit l'expression

Le thème principal de la décision montre que très rares sont les affaires dans lesquelles la législation en matière de diffamation qui prévoit des sanctions pénales peut être jugée comme ayant introduit adéquatement des restrictions à la liberté d’expression. C’est ainsi que tous les états africains membres de la Charte africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples ne peuvent invoquer des accusations criminelles pour diffamation sans violer les règles de liberté d’expression garantie par la Charte.

Cette affaire a déjà eu un impact sur les états africains. Des avocats ougandais se sont basés sur cette décision de la Cour pour invoquer l’anticonstitutionnalité de la loi nationale en matière de calomnie.

Perspective Globale

Info Rapide

La perspective globale montre comment la décision de la Cour a été influencée par les normes d'une ou de plusieurs régions.

Tableau Des Autorités

Lois internationale et/ou régionale connexe

  • ICCPR, art. 19
  • Treaty of the Economic Community of West African States, Art. 66(c)
  • ACHPR, art. 9
  • ACmHPR, Zimbabwe Lawyers for Human Rights v. Zimbabwe, Comm. No. 284/03 (2009)

    “les mots clés de l’article 56(3) sont : « désobligeant et insultant, et ces mots doivent être dirigés contre l’état membre concerné ou l’Union africaine. D’après l’Oxford Advanced Dictionary, désobligeant signifie parler avec mépris de …ou dénigrer … et insultant signifie maltraiter dédaigneusement ou offenser l’amour-propre ou la pudeur de … »

  • UNHR Comm., Keun-Tae Kim v. The Republic of Korea, Comm. No. 574/1994 (Jan. 04, 1999)

    “[…] pour être considérées une “loi”, les normes doivent être
    élaborées de manière suffisamment Claire pour permettre à chacun d’adapter son comportement aux règles et doivent être rendues publiques. La loi ne peut pas donner aux personnes qui sont en charge de son application des pouvoirs illimités de décision sur la restriction de la liberté d’expression. Les lois doivent contenir des règles qui sont suffisamment précises pour permettre aux personnes qui les appliquent de savoir quelles formes d’expression sont légitimement limitées et quelles sont les formes qui sont indûment restreintes.”

  • ACmHPR, Kenneth Good v. Botswana, Comm. No. 313/05 (May 31, 2010)

    “Bien que dans la Charte africaine, les motifs de limitation de la liberté d’expression ne sont cités de manière expresse comme c’est le cas dans d’autres traités régionaux et internationaux des droits de l’homme , la phrase “dans le cadre de la loi ”, dans l’article 9 (2) donne une marge pour utiliser prudemment les intérêts individuels, collectifs et nationaux légitimes et justifiables comme motifs de la limitation.”

  • ACmHPR, Malawi African Ass'n v. Mauritania, Comm. No. 54/91 (2000)

    “La phrase “dans le cadre de la loi” dit être interprétée par rapport aux normes internationales qui peuvent fournir les justificatifs de la limitation de la liberté d’expression.”

  • ACmHPR, Media Rights Agenda, Constitutional Rights Project v. Nigeria, Comm. No. 105/93-128/94-130/94-152/96 (Oct. 1998)

    “Les raisons pour d’éventuelles limitations doivent se baser sur l’intérêt public légitime et les inconvénients de la limitation doivent être strictement proportionnels et absolument nécessaires pour assurer les bénéfices.”

  • ACmHPR, Media Rights Agenda, Constitutional Rights Project v. Nigeria, Comm. No. 105/93-128/94-130/94-152/96 (Oct. 1998)

    “Les personnes endossant des fonctions publiques impliquant une grande visibilité doivent nécessairement faire face à un degré plus élevé de critique par rapport aux citoyens ordinaires ; sinon le débat public risque d’être étouffé.”

  • ECtHR, Gavrilovici v. Moldavia, App. No. 25464/05 (2009)

    Les lois en matière de diffamation criminelle ne devraient être
    utilisées qu’en dernier recours.


  • Seuls le discours haineux et l’incitation à la violence devraient être punis de peine de prison.

  • ECtHR, Lehideux v. France, App. No. 24662/94 (1998)

    Les procédures civiles sont préférées à celles pénales dans les
    recours pour diffamation.

  • IACtHR, Tristán Donoso v. Panama, Series C No. 193 (2009)

    Les états ne devraient recourir à la diffamation criminelle qu’en dernier recours.

  • IACtHR, Herrera-Ulloa v. Costa Rica, Ser. C No. 107, (July 2, 2004)

    L’emprisonnement pour diffamation est disproportionné.

Importance du Cas

Info Rapide

L'importance du cas fait référence à l'influence du cas et à la manière dont son importance évolue dans le temps.

La décision établit un précédent contraignant ou persuasif dans sa juridiction.

Le Burkina Faso est membre de la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples et est donc tenu par la décision de la Cour.

La décision a été citée dans:

Documents Officiels du Cas

Vous avez des commentaires?

Faites-nous savoir si vous remarquez des erreurs ou si l'analyse de cas doit être révisée.

Envoyer un Retour D'information

Global Freedom of Expression

Español

Lohé Issa Konaté v. The Republic of Burkina Faso

Closed Expands Expression

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Press / Newspapers
  • Date of Decision
    December 5, 2014
  • Outcome
    Law or Action Overturned or Deemed Unconstitutional, Reparations made by individual or entity who exercised FoE
  • Case Number
    App. No. 004/2013
  • Region & Country
    Burkina Faso, Africa
  • Judicial Body
    African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights
  • Type of Law
    International/Regional Human Rights Law
  • Themes
    Content Regulation / Censorship, Defamation / Reputation, Political Expression
  • Tags
    Imprisonment, Public Officials, Civil Defamation, Criminal Defamation

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

On 5 December 2014, the African Court of Human and Peoples’ Rights delivered a landmark judgment in its first case concerning freedom of the press. The judgment overruled the conviction of the journalist Lohé Issa Konaté who had faced harsh criminal penalties levied by Burkina Faso following charges of defamation for publishing several newspaper articles that alleged corruption by a state prosecutor. The Court found that the conviction was a disproportionate interference with the applicant’s guaranteed rights to freedom of expression. It noted that public figures such as prosecutors must tolerate more criticism than private individuals.  Furthermore, the Court ordered Burkina Faso to amend its legislation on defamation in order to make it compliant with international standards by repealing custodial sentences for acts of defamation; and to adapt its legislation to ensure that other sanctions for defamation meet the test of necessity and proportionality, in accordance with the country’s international obligations.


Facts

In August 2012 the journalist Lohé Issa Konaté wrote two articles for the newspaper L’Ouragan, in which he accused a state prosecutor of corruption. In response, the prosecutor filed a complaint against Mr. Konaté and a co-defendant for defamation, public insult, and contempt of court. Criminal charges against both defendants were also filed and damages sought.

In October 2012, Mr. Konaté was found guilty by the Ouagadougou High Court and sentenced to 1 year imprisonment, a fine of US $3000, and damages to be paid to the prosecutor of US $9000. Moreover, the Court also suspended the newspaper which published the articles, L’Ouragan, for 6 months. The decision was subsequently upheld by the Ouagadougou Court of Appeal. In June 2013, an application was filed on behalf of Mr. Konaté before the African Court on Human and peoples’ Right (ACHPR) alleging that the excessive penalties imposed violate his freedom of expression rights as guaranteed by Article 9 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (“Every individual shall have the right to express and disseminate his opinions within the law”), Article 19 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (“Everyone shall have the right to freedom of expression”), and Article 66(2)(c) of the Treaty of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) (states must ensure respect for the rights of journalists); all three of which Burkina Faso is a party to.

The application was brought by the Media Legal Defense Initiative (“MLDI”), which is a NGO dedicated to providing legal defense to independent media, journalists, and bloggers who are under threat for their publications. MLDI’s goal is to promote freedom of expression, as supported by international standards, in the media. MLDI has assisted over 1,500 journalists worldwide and prides itself on providing high quality legal defense in the area of freedom of expression.


Decision Overview

Application Overview:

The application pleaded that African Court should review this case to build its jurisprudence for freedom of expression, as the African Court had not yet heard a case pertaining to freedom of speech before the current decision. Specifically, the application alleged that the conviction of the journalist “to a prison sentence, payment of a substantial fine, civil damages and costs violates his right to freedom of expression as protected by the various treaties to which Burkina Faso is a party.”

Citing numerous international treaties and conventions, the application surmised that Burkina Faso has an obligation to protect the right to freedom of expression. This analysis was based on international and regional treaties and conventions that Burkina Faso has ratified the Constitution of Burkina Faso, and the international community’s recognition of the right to freedom of expression. On the merits of the case, the application noted that the conviction for defamation and publication violated the defendant’s right to freedom of expression for several reasons. These included: “(1) the laws under which applicant was convicted violated the right to freedom of expression; (2) criminal defamation violates the right to freedom of expression; (3) imprisonment for defamation violates the right to freedom of expression; (4) criticism of public officials enjoys protection under the right to freedom of expression; and (5) the severe sanctions imposed on the applicant violate the right to freedom of expression.”

Court Decision Overview:

The main focus of the Court was on the legality of Burkina Faso’s defamation laws in the context of the above mentioned treaties and charters. Specifically, the Court looked at whether criminal penalties for defamation gave rise to an impermissible restriction of one’s freedom of expression rights. To answer that question, the Court looked to the requirements that domestic law limiting freedom of expression must meet in order to be allowed. This is a three question analysis. First, is the language of the domestic law clear enough that parties can easily conform to it? Second, does the restriction serve a legitimate purpose? Third, is the limitation in the law necessary to achieve that purpose?

As to the first two questions, the Court found that the defamation laws in Burkina Faso, which allowed for criminal penalties, both met the requirements. First, the laws clearly delineated what the restrictions were and what penalties would be imposed. Second, the restrictions did serve a legitimate purpose. Freedom of expression can only be infringed if that restriction is based on an overarching public interest. Here, the purpose of the defamation laws was to protect the honor and reputation of persons from being wrongly tarnished by others, which the Court found to serve an adequate public interest.

The case really hinged on the third question: was the limitation imposed necessary to achieve the objective? The analysis of this question dealt with whether or not the penalty imposed, here criminal penalties, was proportionate against the right to freedom of expression. In other words, penalties should only go as far as strictly necessary to achieve an objective, here the objective of the defamation laws was to protect the honor of a prosecutor. The Court further opined that there should be an even lesser degree of interference when speech in the context of public debate related to public figures. The Court found that the criminal penalties imposed by Burkina Faso’s defamation laws were not proportionate. It also noted that criminal penalties for defamation may be categorically inappropriate in a defamation scenario because civil recourse is more than sufficient to prevent defamatory works being published. As Burkina Faso’s laws did call for criminal sanctions against those found guilty of defamation, the defamation laws themselves were not in accordance with the freedom of expression rights protected in the above mentioned treaties and charters since they imposed a disproportionate penalty. Moreover, the monetary penalties imposed on Mr. Konate, US $12000, coupled with the suspension of his newspaper were excessive themselves. As such, the domestic court’s sentence of Mr. Konate was improper under international law because it violated his guaranteed freedom of expression rights.

The Court’s final judgment was the Burkina Faso had violated its duties under Article 9 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights, Article 19 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, and Article 66(2)(c) of ECOWAS. Accordingly, the Court held that Burkina Faso must amend its domestic law to reflect that criminal penalties for defamation are not allowed. Further, Mr. Konate may receive reparations from Burkina Faso at a later date, after he has filed a brief on the matter.

This decision sets the standard that governments should not criminalize defamation. It is the first case in Africa to set such a high standard for freedom of expression, and it creates a strong precedent for the region.


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Expands Expression

This decision’s overarching theme is that only in very rare cases will defamation laws which call for criminal sanctions be upheld as proper restrictions of freedom of expression. As such, all African states who are parties to African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights are essentially disallowed from using criminal charges for defamation without violating freedom of expression rules guaranteed by the Charter.

This case is already creating a impact in the African states. Ugandan Lawyers have relied on this ruling to argue the countries criminal libel laws are unconstitutional.

Global Perspective

Quick Info

Global Perspective demonstrates how the court’s decision was influenced by standards from one or many regions.

Related International and/or regional laws

  • ICCPR, art. 19
  • Treaty of the Economic Community of West African States, Art. 66(c)
  • ACHPR, art. 9
  • ACmHPR, Zimbabwe Lawyers for Human Rights v. Zimbabwe, Comm. No. 284/03 (Apr. 2009)

    “The operative words in Article 56(3) are disparaging and insulting and these words must be directed against the State Party concerned or its institutions or the African Union. According to the Oxford Advanced Dictionary, disparaging means to speak slightingly of … or to belittle … and insulting means to abuse scornfully or to offend the self-respect or modesty of …”

  • UNHR Comm., Keun-Tae Kim v. The Republic of Korea, Comm. No. 574/1994 (Jan. 04, 1999)

    “[…]to be considered as “law”, norms have to be drafted with sufficient clarity to enable an individual to adapt his behaviour to the rules and made accessible to the public. The law cannot give persons who are in charge of its application unlimited powers of decision on the restriction of freedom of expression. Laws must contain rules which are sufficiently precise to allow persons in charge of their application to know what forms of expression are legitimately restricted and what forms of expression are unduly restricted.”

  • ACmHPR, Kenneth Good v. Botswana, Comm. No. 313/05 (May 31, 2010)

    “Though in the African Charter, the grounds of limitation to freedom of expression are not expressly provided as in other international and regional human rights treaties, the phrase “within the law”, under Article 9 (2) provides a leeway to cautiously fit in legitimate and justifiable individual, collective and national interests as grounds of limitation.”

  • ACmHPR, Malawi African Ass'n v. Mauritania, Comm. No. 54/91 (2000)

    “[T]he phrase “within the law” must be interpreted in reference to international norms which can provide grounds of limitation on freedom of expression.”

  • ACmHPR, Media Rights Agenda, Constitutional Rights Project v. Nigeria, Comm. No. 105/93-128/94-130/94-152/96 (Oct. 1998)

    “[T]he reasons for possible limitations must be based on legitimate public interest and the disadvantages of the limitation must be strictly proportionate to and absolutely necessary for the benefits to be gained.”

  • ACmHPR, Media Rights Agenda, Constitutional Rights Project v. Nigeria, Comm. No. 105/93-128/94-130/94-152/96 (Oct. 1998)

    “[P]eople who assume highly visible public roles must necessarily face a higher degree of criticism than private citizens; otherwise public debate may be stifled altogether.”

  • ECtHR, Gavrilovici v. Moldavia, App. No. 25464/05 (2009)

    Criminal defamation laws should be used only as a last resort.


  • Only hate speech and incitement of violence should warrant a prison sentence.

  • ECtHR, Lehideux v. France, App. No. 24662/94 (1998)

    Civil proceedings are preferred over criminal proceedings in defamation actions.

  • IACtHR, Tristán Donoso v. Panama, Series C No. 193 (2009)

    States should only use criminal defamation as a last resort.

  • IACtHR, Herrera-Ulloa v. Costa Rica, Ser. C No. 107, (July 2, 2004)

    Imprisonment for defamation is disproportional.

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

Burkina Faso is a member state to the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights and therefore is bound by the decision of the court.

The decision was cited in:

Official Case Documents

Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback