Majul c. Moyano

Affaire Résolue Résultat mitigé

Key Details

  • Mode D'expression
    Brochure / Affiches / Bannières
  • Date de la Décision
    octobre 16, 2020
  • Résultat
    Rejeté
  • Numéro de Cas
    CCC 63096/2018/CA1
  • Région et Pays
    Argentine, Latin-America and Caribbean
  • Organe Judiciaire
    Cour d'appel
  • Type de Loi
    Droit Constitutionnel
  • thèmes
    Violence contre les orateurs / Impunité

Ce cas est disponible dans d'autres langues:    Vue en: English    Vue en: Español    Vue en: العربية

Analyse de Cas

Résumé du Cas et Résultat

La Cour dʼappel nationale argentine en matière criminelle et correctionnelle a décidé de clore lʼenquête sur P. Moyano, car les éléments requis de menace criminelle nʼétaient pas réunis. Luis Majul, un journaliste, a intenté une action pénale contre P. Moyano pensant que Moyano était responsable de la coordination dʼun groupe de personnes ayant accroché des affiches contre lui et sa femme le long des voies publiques. Ces affiches contenaient les insultes « Maître-chanteur et extorqueur de juges et de procureurs » et « Méprisez et souvenez-vous de ce visage ». La Cour dʼappel a considéré que même si les affiches visaient à porter atteinte à la réputation professionnelle de M. Majul, elles nʼatteignaient pas le seuil nécessaire pour constituer une menace de M. Moyano contre le plaignant. La Cour a estimé quʼil nʼétait pas prouvé que les communications contenaient « lʼannonce dʼun préjudice futur certain et manifeste, condition incontournable de la qualification pénale proposée par le demandeur dans son recours » [p. 4].


Les Faits

M. Luis Majul est un journaliste qui a déposé une plainte pénale contre P. Moyano, un dirigeant syndical qui aurait coordonné un groupe de personnes afin dʼaccrocher des affiches pour donner une image négative du journaliste et de son épouse. Les affiches contenaient des insultes telles que « Maître-chanteur et extorqueur de juges et de procureurs » accompagnées dʼune image de lui, de sa femme et du procureur de Buenos Aire.

Suite à ces événements, une enquête criminelle pour menaces a été ouverte contre M. Moyano. Elle a toutefois été classée sans suite par la juge de première instance, qui a estimé quʼil était impossible de poursuivre lʼenquête compte tenu de lʼabsence de lʼélément constitutif du délit consistant en lʼexistence dʼune « annonce dʼun préjudice futur certain et manifeste ». Cette décision a été prise sur la base de lʼarticle 195 du Code de procédure pénale de la Nation et de lʼarticle 45 du Code pénal argentin.

Le plaignant, M. Majul, a fait appel de cette décision les trois raisons suivantes. Premièrement, selon lui, la juge de première instance nʼa interprété les insultes « Maître-chanteur et extorqueur de juges et de procureurs » et « Méprisez et souvenez-vous de ce visage » que comme étant préjudiciables pour le procureur, ignorant quʼelles lʼétaient également pour le journaliste qui était réellement menacé par les affiches. Deuxièmement, en raison des incohérences du jugement sur certains extraites du jugement, lʼaffaire a été classée sans suite parce quʼil nʼavait été possible dʼidentifier les personnes ayant commis le crime, dans dʼautres extraits du jugement, il a été affirmé que lʼaffaire était classée sans suite parce que les actes enquêtés ne pouvaient être qualifiés dʼinfractions. Enfin, M. Majul a affirmé quʼil nʼétait pas pertinent pour lʼenquête de considérer que M. Moyano n’était coupable en raison de son absence sur les lieux où les affiches ont été accrochées, puisquʼil était clair – dʼaprès dʼautres preuves telles que des vidéos quʼil avait incité dʼautres personnes à le faire.

 


Aperçu des Décisions

Les juges Ricardo Matías Pinto et Rodolfo Pociello Argerich ont rendu lʼarrêt pour la Cour dʼappel nationale argentine en matière pénale et correctionnelle. La question principale soumise à la Cour était de déterminer si le fait de coordonner un groupe de personnes pour accrocher des affiches portant la photo dʼun journaliste, accompagnées des expressions « Maître-chanteur et extorqueur de juges et de procureurs » et « Méprisez et souvenez-vous de ce visage » constituait des menaces au sens du droit pénal.

Le plaignant a fait valoir que les faits décrits étaient suffisants pour condamner M. Moyano pour menaces, puisque « tous les éléments de preuve corroborent lʼhypothèse selon laquelle les affiches visaient à mettre fin aux enquêtes et à la publication dʼinformations relatives aux affaires judiciaires de P. Moyano, sous la menace de rendre sa vie et celle de sa famille impossible à vivre » [p. 2]. En dʼautres termes, M. Majul a affirmé que les affiches étaient un mécanisme utilisé pour faire taire ses enquêtes journalistiques.

A contrario, les juges ont considéré que les affiches et les expressions qui les accompagnaient nʼétaient pas suffisantes pour condamner M. Moyano pour menaces, car la loi exige un acte par lequel un individu annonce délibérément « quʼil veut causer à autrui un préjudice futur ». Selon les juges de cette affaire, il nʼy avait pas de preuve dʼune intention manifeste et certaine dʼencourir un préjudice futur.

La Cour a en outre précisé que « la désapprobation sociale que peuvent avoir les actes analysés ne saurait se substituer à lʼun des éléments requis par la loi pénale » [p. 4]. Par conséquent, même si la Cour a reconnu que les mesures prises à lʼencontre du journaliste visaient à porter atteinte à sa réputation professionnelle, M. Moyano ne pouvait pas être condamné pour le délit de menace à lʼencontre du journaliste.

En considération de ce qui précède, la Cour a confirmé la décision du juge de première instance de clore lʼenquête.

 


Direction De La Décision

Info Rapide

La direction de la décision indique si la décision élargit ou réduit l'expression sur la base d'une analyse de l'affaire.

Résultat mitigé

Cette décision a une issue mitigée, car, dʼune part, elle ne protège pas le droit à la liberté dʼexpression du journaliste, même sʼil est reconnu que des actes visant à porter atteinte à la réputation du journaliste ont eu lieu ; mais, dʼautre part, elle établit une norme élevée pour engager des poursuites judiciaires contre des personnes qui expriment des opinions inconfortables et choquantes. Lʼaffaire sʼinscrit dans le cadre dʼun débat critique concernant la protection de la liberté dʼexpression, à savoir la mesure à partir de laquelle les expressions susceptibles de saper les activités des chiens de garde comme les journalistes ou les défenseurs des droits de lʼhomme devraient être sanctionnées dʼune manière ou dʼune autre, ce qui pourrait avoir un effet direct sur lʼapplication des normes générales en matière de
liberté dʼexpression.

Perspective Globale

Info Rapide

La perspective globale montre comment la décision de la Cour a été influencée par les normes d'une ou de plusieurs régions.

Tableau Des Autorités

Normes, droit ou jurisprudence nationales

  • Arg., Criminal Code, art. 45

Importance du Cas

Info Rapide

L'importance du cas fait référence à l'influence du cas et à la manière dont son importance évolue dans le temps.

La décision établit un précédent contraignant ou persuasif dans sa juridiction.

Documents Officiels du Cas

Vous avez des commentaires?

Faites-nous savoir si vous remarquez des erreurs ou si l'analyse de cas doit être révisée.

Envoyer un Retour D'information

Global Freedom of Expression

Majul v. Moyano

Closed Mixed Outcome

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Pamphlets / Posters / Banners
  • Date of Decision
    October 16, 2020
  • Outcome
    Dismissed
  • Case Number
    CCC 63096/2018/CA1
  • Region & Country
    Argentina, Latin-America and Caribbean
  • Judicial Body
    Appellate Court
  • Type of Law
    Constitutional Law
  • Themes
    Violence Against Speakers / Impunity

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

The Argentinian National Court of Appeals in Criminal and Correctional Matters decided to close the investigation into P. Moyano, since the required elements of criminal threat were not met. Luis Majul, a journalist, filed a criminal action against P. Moyano because he believed that Moyano was responsible for coordinating a group of people who hung posters against him and his wife along public roads. Those posters contained the slurs “squeezer and extortionist of judges and prosecutors” and “Repudiate and remember this face”. The Appellate Court considered that even though the posters aimed to undermine the professional reputation of Mr. Majul, they did not meet the threshold necessary to constitute a threat by Mr. Moyano against the complainant. The Court reasoned that it was not proven that the communications contained an “announcement of a future certain and clear harm, an unavoidable requirement of the criminal qualification proposed by the plaintiff in his appeal” [p. 4].


Facts

Mr. Luis Majul is a journalist who filed a criminal complaint against P. Moyano, a union leader who allegedly coordinated a group of people in order to hang some posters that portrayed a negative image of the journalist and his wife. The posters contained slurs such  as “squeezer and extortionist of judges and prosecutors” accompanied by an image of him, his wife and the Buenos Aire’s attorney. 

As a result of these events a criminal investigation for threats was initiated against Mr. Moyano. However, it was closed by the first instance judge, as she found that it was impossible to proceed with the investigation considering the lack of presence of the element of the offense consisting in the existence of a “future announcement of a certain and clear harm”. This decision was taken based on article 195 the from Criminal Procedural Code of the Nation and on article 45 of Argentinian Criminal Code. 

This decision was appealed by the complainant -Mr. Majul- for three main reasons. First, because in his opinion the first instance judge only interpreted the slurs “squeezer and extortionist of judges and prosecutors” and “Repudiate and remember this face” as detrimental for the prosecutor, ignoring that it was also negative for the journalist who was actually being threatened by the posters. Second, due to the inconsistencies of the ruling – according to which the case was closed because it had not been possible to identify the people who committed the crime, even though in other excerpts of the judgement it was claimed that the case was being closed because the acts investigated could not be classified as offences. Finally, Mr. Majul claimed that it was not relevant for the investigation that Mr. Moyano was not present at the place where the posters were hung, since it was clear -from other evidence such as videos- that he instigated others to do so. 


Decision Overview

Judges Ricardo Matías Pinto and Rodolfo Pociello Argerich delivered the judgment for the Argentinian National Court of Appeals in Criminal and Correctional Matters. The main issue before the Court was to determine whether coordinating a group of people to hang posters with a journalist’s picture on it, accompanied by the expressions “squeezer and extortionist of judges and prosecutors” and “Repudiate and remember this face” constituted threats under the criminal law. 

The complainant argued that the described facts were enough for convicting Mr. Moyano for threats, since “all the evidence corroborated the hypothesis that the posters aimed to stop the investigations and publication of information related to P. Moyano’s legal cases, under threat of making his and his family’s lives impossible” [p. 2]. In other words, Mr. Majul claimed that the posters were a mechanism that was being used to silence his journalistic investigations. 

Conversely, the judges considered that the posters and the expressions that accompanied them were not sufficient for convicting Mr. Moyano for threats, as the law required an act by which an individual deliberately announces “that he wants to cause another person some future harm”. According to the judges in this case, it was no evidence of a clear or certain stated intention to incur a future harm. 

The Court further stated that the “social disapproval that the acts analyzed may have cannot replace one of the elements required by the criminal law” [p. 4]. Therefore, even though the Court recognized that the actions taken against the journalist aimed to undermine his professional reputation, Mr. Moyano could not be convicted for the offence of threatening the journalist. 

In consideration of the above, the Court upheld the decision of the first instance judge to close the investigation. 


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Mixed Outcome

This decision has a mixed outcome, as it on one hand fails to protect the right to freedom of expression of the journalist, even when it is recognized that acts intending to undermine the journalist’s reputation took place; but on the other hand, it establishes a high standard for taking legal action against people who express uncomfortable and shocking opinions. The case falls within a critical discussion regarding the protection of freedom of expression, namely the extent to which expressions that might undermine activities of watchdogs like journalists or human rights defenders should have some sort of punishment whilst this might have a direct effect on the application of general standards on freedom of expression. 

Global Perspective

Quick Info

Global Perspective demonstrates how the court’s decision was influenced by standards from one or many regions.

Table of Authorities

National standards, law or jurisprudence

  • Arg., Criminal Code, art. 45

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

Official Case Documents

Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback