Tusalp c. Turquie

Affaire Résolue élargit l'expression

Key Details

  • Mode D'expression
    Presse / Journaux
  • Date de la Décision
    mai 25, 2012
  • Résultat
    Dommages pécuniaires / Amendes, CEDH, Violation de l'article 10
  • Numéro de Cas
    App. Nos. 32131/08 & 41617/08
  • Région et Pays
    Turquie, Europe et asie centrale
  • Organe Judiciaire
    Cour Européenne des droits de l’homme (CEDH)
  • Type de Loi
    Droit international/régional des droits de l'homme, Droit Civil
  • thèmes
    Defamation / Reputation, Expression politique
  • Mots-Cles
    Diffamation civile, Journalisme

Ce cas est disponible dans d'autres langues:    Vue en: English    Vue en: العربية

Analyse de Cas

Résumé du Cas et Résultat

La Cour européenne des droits de l’homme a statué en faveur du journaliste et chroniqueur turc Erbil Tusalp, estimant que sa condamnation pour la publication d’articles critiques à l’égard du Premier ministre de l’époque, Recep Tayyip Erdogan, constituait une violation de sa liberté d’expression. Tusalp avait été reconnu coupable d’avoir porté atteinte aux droits de la personne d’Erdogan en relation avec deux articles publiés dans le journal de Birgün qui soutenaient qu’Erdogan avait menti sur l’ordre public, s’était livré à la corruption et présentait des troubles psychologiques. La Cour européenne a jugé que les jugements civils étaient en violation de l’article 10 au motif que les remarques de Tusalp, bien qu’offensantes ou inélégantes, étaient des jugements de valeur fondés sur des faits ou des événements particuliers. La Cour a toutefois souligné que les propos offensants peuvent « échapper à la protection de la liberté d’expression s’ils constituent un dénigrement injustifié, par exemple lorsque la seule intention de la déclaration offensante est d’insulter ». Dans ce cas, la Cour a conclu que les remarques contenues dans les articles n’étaient pas de simples attaques personnelles contre le Premier ministre, mais qu’il s’agissait bien d’opinions sur des sujets d’intérêt public.


Les Faits

Le 24 décembre 2005, le journaliste et éditorialiste Erbil Tusalp a rédigé un article intitulé “Stabilité,” pour le quotidien turc Birgün dans lequel il a critiqué le premier ministre Recep Tayyip Erdogan. Il a dit dans cet article : “ Que cela vous plaise ou non, la stabilité continue.

Chaque mot qu’il prononce choque même s’il est rejeté et corrigé.” Il a ensuite accusé Erdogan de mentir sur les affaires internes, “du revenu national à l’inflation dans le budget.” Il a aussi dit que le premier ministre a accordé une amnistie pour ses amis accusés de corruption.

Le 6 mai 2006, le journal Birgün a publié un autre article de Tusalp dans lequel il affirmait qu’Erdogan souffrait de problèmes psychologiques avec une attitude hostile envers les universitaires, les journalistes et les partis d’opposition. “Eu égard au fait qu’il diffame les oiseaux dans le ciel et les loups dans les montagnes, il répond aux critiques par des jurons, pour lui les professeurs universitaires sont immoraux, le parti d’opposition est chétif, les journalistes effrontés… » avait écrit Tuslap.

En 2006, Erdogan a porté deux plaintes en civil contre Tusalp et la maison d’édition devant le tribunal de première instance d’Ankara aux motifs que les articles constituaient des attaques contre sa personne. Le tribunal a statué en faveur d’Edogan et a ordonné aux défendeurs de payer des dommages-intérêts d’une valeur de 5,000 TRL plus les intérêts pour chacun des articles publiés. Le tribunal a jugé que les articles sont allés au-delà de la limite acceptable de la critique des responsables publics en s’attaquant aux droits des individus.

En 2008, La Cour de cassation a rejeté la requête de Tusalp pour la révision des deux jugements.

Tusalp a donc présenté deux requêtes séparées auprès de la Cour européennes des droits de l’homme arguant que les jugements en civil constituaient une ingérence injustifiées dans son droit à la liberté d’expression aux termes de l’article 10 de la Convention européenne des droits de l’homme.


Aperçu des Décisions

Tusalp a affirmé que ses articles visaient à critiquer Erdogan en sa qualité officielle de premier ministre qui doit être plus tolérant envers de telles critiques plutôt que d’engager des poursuites en civil en guise de pression sur la fonction journalistique.

D’un autre côté, le gouvernement a soutenu que l’ingérence avec le droit de Tusalp à la liberté d’expression était faite dans la poursuite d’un but légitime, celui de protéger la réputation et les droits reconnus aussi en vertu du même article 10 de la Convention. Il a également maintenu que les remarques portées dans les articles dépassaient les limites acceptables de la critique. Le gouvernement truc s’est spécifiquement référé à la jurisprudence de la Cour dont les affaires Brasilier c. France, requête n° 71343/01 (2006) et Vides Aizsardzības Klubs c. Lettonie, requête n° 57829/00 (2004), réitérant la notion selon laquelle la protection de la réputation s’étend aussi aux politiciens. [para. 34]

La première question à laquelle la Cour devait répondre concernait l’ingérence et si elle était prévue par la loi. La Cour a statué que les poursuites civiles contre Tusalp étaient engagées en vertu de l’article 49 du code des obligations turc.

La deuxième question cherchait à savoir si l’ingérence poursuivait un but légitime et reconnu en vertu de l’article 10 de la Convention. La Cour a jugé que les actions entreprises contre Tusalp poursuivaient un objectif légitime consistant en la protection de la réputation ou des droits d’autrui au sens de l’article 10(2).

Enfin, la Cour a évalué si l’ingérence était “nécessaire dans une société démocratique” ce qui nécessitait de déterminer si l’action faisant l’objet de la plainte correspondait à un « besoin social pressant ” [para. 41], et plus précisément “si les raisons avancées par les autorités nationales pour justifier l’ingérence étaient ‘pertinentes et suffisantes’ et si les mesures prises étaient ‘proportionnelles aux buts légitimes poursuivis ” [para 42] (citant Chauvy et al. c. France, requête n° 64915/01 (2004). Dans le cas présent, la Cour a maintenu sa position par rapport à la presse en notant que même si la presse est tenue de ne pas dépasser ses limites et notamment en ce qui concerne la réputation d’autrui, sa mission consiste à diffuser l’information et les idées et que “la liberté journalistique couvrait aussi l’éventuel recours à un certain degré d’exagération ou même à la provocation.” [para. 44]

En appliquant cela aux articles de Tusalp, la Cour a d’abord conclu que les remarques exprimées contre le premier ministre pouvaient être considérées insultantes ou manquant d’élégance mais elles étaient suffisamment factuelles parce qu’elles étaient “en grande partie des jugements de valeur fondés sur des faits particuliers, des évènements ou des incidents déjà connus par le grand public.” [para. 47] Deuxièmement, la Cour a souligné que l’article 10 de la Convention ne s’appliquait pas seulement aux formes d’expression favorables mais également « à celles qui heurtent, choquent ou inquiètent ; ainsi le veulent le pluralisme, la tolérance et l’esprit d’ouverture sans lesquels il n’est pas de « société démocratique ». [para. 48] Toutefois, l’expression outrageante n’est pas protégée par la Convention “ si elle équivaut à un dénigrement gratuit et lorsque le seul objectif de la déclaration outrageante est d’insulter.” [para. 48] A ce niveau, la Cour a trouvé que les critiques acerbes de Tusalp portaient sur l’état actuel des choses dont la corruption dans le gouvernement et son intolérance par rapport à des points de vue opposés et n’étaient pas de simples attaques personnelles contre Erdogan. Elle en a conclu que les tribunaux nationaux de la Turquie avaient dépassé la marge d’appréciation qui leur était réservées et les jugements prononcés étaient disproportionnés par rapport au but légitime de protection de la réputation personnelle du premier ministre.

Partant, la Cour a déclaré que la Turquie avait violé l’article 10 de la Convention.


Direction De La Décision

Info Rapide

La direction de la décision indique si la décision élargit ou réduit l'expression sur la base d'une analyse de l'affaire.

élargit l'expression

Perspective Globale

Info Rapide

La perspective globale montre comment la décision de la Cour a été influencée par les normes d'une ou de plusieurs régions.

Tableau Des Autorités

Lois internationale et/ou régionale connexe

Normes, droit ou jurisprudence nationales

  • Turk., Turkish Code of Obligations, Law No. 6098 (2011)

    Article 49

Importance du Cas

Info Rapide

L'importance du cas fait référence à l'influence du cas et à la manière dont son importance évolue dans le temps.

La décision établit un précédent contraignant ou persuasif dans sa juridiction.

La décision a été citée dans:

Documents Officiels du Cas

Documents Officiels du Cas:


Rapports, Analyses et Articles D'actualité :


Vous avez des commentaires?

Faites-nous savoir si vous remarquez des erreurs ou si l'analyse de cas doit être révisée.

Envoyer un Retour D'information

Global Freedom of Expression

Español

Tusalp v. Turkey

Closed Expands Expression

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Press / Newspapers
  • Date of Decision
    May 25, 2012
  • Outcome
    Monetary Damages / Fines, ECtHR, Article 10 Violation
  • Case Number
    App. Nos. 32131/08 & 41617/08
  • Region & Country
    Turkey, Europe and Central Asia
  • Judicial Body
    European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR)
  • Type of Law
    Civil Law, International/Regional Human Rights Law
  • Themes
    Defamation / Reputation, Political Expression
  • Tags
    Civil Defamation, Journalism

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

From December 2005 to May 2006, the Turkish daily newspaper Birgün published two articles written by journalist and columnist Erbil Tusalp in which he criticized the Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan. Among other things, Tusalp accused him of “lying about matters from national income to inflation to the budget” and granting immunity to his friends who were facing corruption charges. In his second article, he alleged Erdogan of having psychological problems with hostile attitude towards academia, journalists, and opposition parties. In 2006, the Prime Minister brought civil actions against Tusalp and the publishing company before the Ankara Civil Court of First Instance on the grounds that the remarks stated in the articles amounted to an attack on his personal rights. The court ordered the defendants to jointly pay compensation in the amount of 5,000 Turkish liras plus interest for each published article. The Court of Cessation later refused Tusalp’s request for hearing on both judgments.

In 2008, Tusalp lodged two separate applications before the European Court of Human Rights, arguing that the civil judgments impermissibly interfered with his right to freedom of expression under Article 10 of the European Convention on Human Rights. The Court held that the issued civil judgments were in violation of Article 10 because Tusalp’s remarks, while maybe considered offensive or inelegant, were value judgments based on particular facts or events. It emphasized, however, that an offensive language may “fall outside the protection of freedom of expression if it amounts to wanton denigration, for example where the sole intent of the offensive statement is to insult.” Here, the Court concluded that remarks contained in the articles were not merely personal attacks against the Prime Minister but were opinions on topics in the public interest.


Facts

On December 24, 2005, journalist and columnist Erbil Tusalp wrote an article, entitled “Stability,” for Turkish daily newspaper Birgün in which he criticized the Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan. He said: “Whether you like it or not stability is continuing. Every word that comes out of his mouth shocks, even if denied and corrected.” He then accused Erdogan of lying on domestic matters, “from national income to inflation to the budget.” He also said that the prime minister had given amnesty to his friends who were facing corruption charges.

On May 6, 2006, Birgün newspaper published another article by Tusalp in which he accused Erdogan of having psychological issues with hostile attitude towards academia, journalists, and opposition parties. “Having regard to the fact that he defames the birds in the air and the wolves in the mountains, he responds to criticisms with swearing, for him University professors are immoral, the opposition party meagre, journalists shameless . . .,” Tusalp wrote.

In 2006, Erdogan brought two civil actions against Tusalp and the publishing company before the Ankara Civil Court of First Instance on the grounds that the articles amounted to an attack on his personal rights. The court found in favor of Erdogan and ordered the defendant to pay compensation in the amount of 5,000 Turkish liras plus interest for each article. It reasoned that the articles went beyond the acceptable limit of criticizing public officials as they attacked personal rights.

In 2008, the Court of Cessation refused Tusalp’s request for hearing on both judgments.

Subsequently, Tusalp lodged two separate applications before the European Court of Human Rights, arguing that the civil judgments impermissibly interfered with his right to freedom of expression under Article 10 of the European Convention on Human Rights.


Decision Overview

Tusalp contended that his articles were aimed at criticizing Erdogan in his official capacity as the Prime Minister who must be more tolerant to such criticisms rather than bringing civil lawsuits as a way of pressure on his journalistic function.

On the other hand, the government argued that the interference with Tusalp’s right to freedom of expression pursued the legitimate aim of protecting the reputation and rights of others recognized under Article 10 of the Convention. It also maintained that the remarks made in the articles went beyond the acceptable level of criticism. The Turkish government specifically referred to the Court’s case law, including Brasilier v. France, Application No. 71343/01 (2006) and Vides Aizsardzības Klubs v. Latvia, Application No. 57829/00 (2004), reiterating the notion that protecting reputation extends to politicians. [para. 34]

The first issue before the Court was whether the interference was proscribed by law. It held that the civil actions against Tusalp were pursuant to Article 49 of Turkey’s Code of Obligations.

The second issue was whether the interference pursued a legitimate aim recognized under Article 10 of the Convention. The Court found that the actions taken against Tusalp pursued the legitimate aim of protecting the reputation or rights of others, within the meaning of Article 10(2).

Lastly, the Court assessed whether the interference was “necessary in a democratic society,” which requires the determination of whether the action complained of corresponded to a “pressing social need”  [para. 41] Specifically, “whether the reasons adduced by the national authorities to justify the interference were ‘relevant and sufficient’ and whether the measure taken was ‘proportionate to the legitimate aims pursued’” [para 42] (quoting Chauvy and Others v. France, Application No. 64915/01 (2004). Relevant to the present case, the Court reiterated its position on the press, noting that although the press must not overstep its boundaries, particularly with respect to reputation of others, its duty is to impart information and ideas and that “[j]ournalistic freedom also covers possible recourse to a degree of exaggeration, or even provocation.” [para. 44]

As applied to Tusalp’s articles, the Court first found that while his remarks against the Prime Minister could be considered as offensive or inelegant, they had sufficient factual basis because they were “mostly value judgments based on particular facts, events or incidents which were already known to the general public.” [para. 47] Second, the Court underscored that Article 10 of the Convention applies not only to favorable forms of expression, but also “those that offend, shock or disturb; such are the demands of that pluralism, tolerance and broadmindedness without which there is no ‘democratic society.’” [para.  48] Offensive expression, however, is not protected under the Convention “if it amounts to wanton denigration, for example where the sole intent of the offensive statement is to insult.” [para. 48] Here, the Court found Tusalp’s strong criticisms concerned current state of affairs, including government corruption and its intolerance towards opposing views rather than mere personal attacks against Erdogan. It concluded that the domestic courts of Turkey overstepped their margin appreciation and the judgments were disproportionate to the legitimate aim of protecting the Prime Minister’s personal reputation.

Accordingly, the Court found Turkey in violation of Article 10 of the Convention.


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Expands Expression

Global Perspective

Quick Info

Global Perspective demonstrates how the court’s decision was influenced by standards from one or many regions.

Table of Authorities

Related International and/or regional laws

National standards, law or jurisprudence

  • Turk., Turkish Code of Obligations, Law No. 6098 (2011)

    Article 49

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

The decision was cited in:

Official Case Documents

Official Case Documents:


Reports, Analysis, and News Articles:


Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback