قضيّة كاميرات التعرف على ملامح الوجه بمترو الانفاق بساو باولو

في مرحلة الاستئناف الحكم يُعزز من حُرية التعبير

Key Details

  • نمط التعبير
    التعبير غير اللفظي
  • تاريخ الحكم
    مايو ٧, ٢٠٢١
  • النتيجة
    قبول الطلب, نقض القانون أو الإجراء أو اعتباره غير دستوري
  • رقم القضية
    ٤٢.٢٠١٨.٨.٢٦.٠١٠٠-١٠٩٠٦٦٣
  • المنطقة والدولة
    البرازيل, أمريكا اللاتينية والكاريبي
  • الهيئة القضائية
    محكمة أول درجة
  • نوع القانون
    القانون المدني
  • المحاور
    الخصوصية وحماية البيانات والاحتفاظ بها
  • الكلمات الدلالية
    الخصوصية, حماية وحفظ البيانات, تقنية التعرف على الوجه

سياسة إسناد المحتوى

تُعد مبادرة جامعة كولومبيا لحرية التعبير العالمية إحدى المبادرات الأكاديمية، وبالتالي، فهي تشجع على مشاركة وإعادة نشر مقتطفات من المحتوى الخاص بها طالما لا يتم استخدامه لأغراض تجارية وذلك بالإضافة إلى احترام سياستها التالية:
  • نسب المحتوى للمبادرة باعتبارها مصدره.
  • ربط ما يتم مشاركته أو نشره من تحليل قضايا، منشورات، تحديثات، مدونات، إلى عنوان URL الأصلي التحديث أو المدونة أو الصفحة الخاصة بالمحتوى القابل للتحميل الذي تشير إليه.
يمكن الاطلاع على معلومات أكثر عن الإسناد وحقوق النشر والترخيص فيما يخص الوسائط التي تستخدمها المبادرة والمتوفرة على صفحة الاعتمادات الخاصة بالمبادرة.

هذه القضية متاحة بلغات إضافية:    استعرضها بلغة أخرى: English    استعرضها بلغة أخرى: Español

تحليل القضية

ملخص القضية وما انتهت اليه

قضت محكمة مدنية في ساو باولو بالبرازيل بأن استخدام تقنية التعرف على ملامح الوجه على خط مترو الأنفاق يُعدّ انتهاكا للحق في خصوصية صورة المرء وحرية المعلومات. فبعد أن قدم مشغل خط مترو أنفاق في ساو باولو أبواب تفاعليّة لعربات مترو تعرض إعلانات تستهدف الرّكاب بناء على المعلومات التي تم جمعها من خلال تقنية الكشف عن ملامح الوجه، التجأت منظمة لحقوق المستهلك إلى المحكمة تطلب تعويضات وأمر يحظر استخدام المعدات. اعتبرت المحكمة أن استخدام أي برنامج التعرف على الوجه أو الكشف يتطلب موافقة المستخدمين وأمرت مُشغّل مترو الانفاق بوقف استخدام هذه التكنولوجيا.


الوقائع

قامت شركة فياواترو التي تُشرف على تشغيل أحد خطوط مترو أنفاق في ساو باولو في عام 2018  بتركيز أبواب تفاعلية في محطاتها كانت تنوي استخدامها لعرض الإعلانات الشخصية للمسافرين باستخدام المعلومات الديموغرافية والتعابير الحسّية من خلال كاميرات مجهزة بتقنية تكشف عن ملامح الوجه. رفع المعهد البرازيلي للدفاع عن المستهلك وهو منظمة لحقوق المستهلك ومكتب المحامين العامين دعوى جماعية أمام المحكمة المدنية رقم 37 بساو باولو طالبين 100 مليون ريال برازيلي كتعويض وأمر ضد استخدام المعدات من قبل شركة فياواترو.


نظرة على القرار

أصدرت القاضية باترسيا مارتينز كونسي شيمو قرار المحكمة. تمثلت القضية المركزية أمام المحكمة في تحديد ما إذا كان استخدام تقنية التعرف على ملامح الوجه دون موافقة مستخدمي مترو الأنفاق مسموحا به.

ذكرت شركة فياواترو بأنه لا توجد معالجة للبيانات الشخصية لأن الركاب لا يتمّ التعرف عليهم بشكل فردي وأن المُعدّات لا تستخدم تقنية التعرف الفعلي على الوجه بل فقط “ترسم ملامح الوجه”.

اعتبرت المحكمة أن شركة فياواترو تتحمل عبء إثبات صحة ادعائهم وأن فياواترو لم تُقدّم للمحكمة أدلة كافية. لاحظت المحكمة بشكل خاص عدم وجود أدلة الخبراء وذكرت أنه حتى” رسم ملامح الوجه” التي أكدت شركة فياواترو بكونها التكنولوجيا المُستخدمة فعلا “من شأنها على ما يبدو اعتماد مفهوم البيانات البيومترية ” بموجب قانون حماية البيانات العام ومن المرجح أن تتطلب موافقة من أصحاب تلك البيانات.

شدّدت المحكمة على أحكام قانون حماية البيانات العامة بشأن معالجة البيانات المتعلقة بالأطفال والمراهقين.

اعتبرت المحكمة أن شركة فياواترو “انتهكت بشكل لا لبس فيه” الحق في حماية صورة المرء ومتطلبات حماية البيانات لمعالجة البيانات الحساسة وحق المستهلكين في المعلومات وأمرت فياواترو بعدم استخدام الأبواب التفاعلية دون الحصول على موافقة مسبقة من الركاب ومنحت 100000 ريال برازيلي تعويضا عن الضرر الجماعي الناجم عن معالجة البيانات غير القانونية. كان هذا أقل من 100 مليون ريال برازيلي التي سعت منظمة لحقوق المستهلك الحصول عليها ورفضت المحكمة المطالبة بالتعويض عن الأضرار غير الاقتصادية التي لحقت بالركاب أنفسهم معتبرة أن ذلك سيتداخل مع الأضرار الناجمة عن الضرر الجماعي.


اتجاه الحكم

معلومات سريعة

يشير اتجاه الحكم إلى ما إذا كان الأخير يُوسع من مدي التعبير أم يُضيقه بناءً على تحليل للقضية.

الحكم يُعزز من حُرية التعبير

في القضية الأولى التي تنطوي على التعرف على ملامح الوجه في وسائل النقل العام، عزّزت المحكمة حماية حقوق الخصوصية وحظرت استخدام تقنية التعرف على الوجه التي تمّ ذكر تأثيرها السلبي مرارا وتكرارا على حُرّية التعبير من خلال رفض الادعاء بأن تقنية “رسم ملامح الوجه” لا تتطلب حماية البيانات.

المنظور العالمي

معلومات سريعة

يوضح المنظور العالمي كيف تأثر قرار المحكمة بمعايير سواء من منطقة واحدة أو عدة مناطق.

اهمية القضية

معلومات سريعة

تُشير أهمية هذه القضية إلى مدى تأثيرها وكيفية تغير مدى أهميتها بمرور الوقت.

يُنشئ القرار سابقة ملزمة أو مقنعة داخل نطاقه القضائي.

وثائق القضية الرسمية

هل لديك تعليقات؟

أخبرنا إذا لاحظت وجود أخطاء أو إذا كان تحليل القضية يحتاج إلى مراجعة.

ارسل رأيك

Global Freedom of Expression

The Case of São Paulo Subway Facial Recognition Cameras

On Appeal Expands Expression

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Non-verbal Expression
  • Date of Decision
    May 7, 2021
  • Outcome
    Motion Granted, Law or Action Overturned or Deemed Unconstitutional
  • Case Number
    1090663-42.2018.8.26.0100
  • Region & Country
    Brazil, Latin-America and Caribbean
  • Judicial Body
    First Instance Court
  • Type of Law
    Civil Law
  • Themes
    Privacy, Data Protection and Retention
  • Tags
    Data Protection and Retention, Facial Recognition

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

This case is available in additional languages:    View in: Español    View in: العربية

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

A Civil Court in São Paulo, Brazil held that the use of facial recognition technology on a subway line was an infringement of the right to privacy of one’s image and to the freedom of information. After the operator of a subway line in São Paulo introduced interactive subway car doors which displayed personalized advertisements to the passengers based on information gathered through facial detection technology, a consumer rights organization approached the Court seeking damages and an order prohibiting the use of the equipment. The Court held that the use of any facial recognition or detection software required the consent of users, and ordered the subway operator to cease using the technology.


Facts

In 2018, ViaQuatro, the operator of one of São Paulo’s subway lines, deployed interactive doors at its stations. It planned to use them to display personalized advertisements to riders, gauging demographics information and emotional reaction through cameras equipped with facial recognition technology. Idec (Instituto Brasileiro de Defesa do Consumidor), a consumer rights organization, and the public defenders’ office filed a class action suit in the 37th Civil Court, São Paulo, seeking 100 million Brazilian reais in damages and an order against the use of the equipment by ViaQuatro.


Decision Overview

Judge Patrícia Martins Conceição entered the judgement of the Court. The central issue for the Court’s determination was whether the use of facial recognition technology without the subway users’ consent was permissible.

ViaQuatro argued that there was no processing of personal data, because the passengers were never identified individually, and that no actual face recognition was used by the equipment but rather only “face detection”.

The Court held that ViaQuatro bore the onus to demonstrate the proof of their claim and that ViaQuatro had not provided the Court with sufficient evidence. The Court particularly noted the lack of expert evidence. The Court stated that even “face detection”, as ViaQuatro maintained the technology was employing “would seemingly implicate the concept of biometric data” under the General Data Protection Law, and so likely required consent from data subjects.

The Court emphasized the General Data Protection Law’s provisions on the processing of data on children and adolescents.

The Court held that ViaQuatro had “unequivocally violated” the right to the protection of one’s image, data protection requirements for the processing of sensitive data, and consumers’ right to information. It ordered ViaQuatro not to use the interactive doors without securing prior consent from passengers, and awarded 100,000 Brazilian reais in damages for collective harm arising from the unlawful data processing. This was less than the 100 million Brazilian reais Idec had sought. The Court rejected the claim of damages for non-economic harm to riders themselves, holding that this would overlap with the damages for collective harm.


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Expands Expression

In the first case involving facial recognition on public transportation, the Court expanded the protection given by the rights to privacy and prohibited the use of facial recognition technology which has repeatedly been described as having a chilling effect on freedom of speech by rejecting the claim that “face detection” technology did not require data protection.

Global Perspective

Quick Info

Global Perspective demonstrates how the court’s decision was influenced by standards from one or many regions.

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

Official Case Documents

Attachments:

Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback