رنا محمد أرشد ضد باكستان

قضية مُنتهية الحكم يُعزز من حُرية التعبير

Key Details

  • نمط التعبير
    الصحافة / الصحف
  • تاريخ الحكم
    نوفمبر ٣, ٢٠٢٠
  • النتيجة
    ما انتهي اليه الحكم من الناحية الاجرائية, قبول الطلب, الحكم الذي قضت به المحكمة, قبول منح أمر قضائي / قرار إعدادي
  • رقم القضية
    التماس رقم ٢٩٣٩/٢٠٢٠
  • المنطقة والدولة
    Pakistan, آسيا والمحيط الهادئ
  • الهيئة القضائية
    محكمة الاستئناف
  • نوع القانون
    القانون الدستوري, القانون الجنائي
  • المحاور
    المراقبة / التصنت, العنف ضدّ المتحدّثين/الإفلات من العقوبة

سياسة إسناد المحتوى

تُعد مبادرة جامعة كولومبيا لحرية التعبير العالمية إحدى المبادرات الأكاديمية، وبالتالي، فهي تشجع على مشاركة وإعادة نشر مقتطفات من المحتوى الخاص بها طالما لا يتم استخدامه لأغراض تجارية وذلك بالإضافة إلى احترام سياستها التالية:
  • نسب المحتوى للمبادرة باعتبارها مصدره.
  • ربط ما يتم مشاركته أو نشره من تحليل قضايا، منشورات، تحديثات، مدونات، إلى عنوان URL الأصلي التحديث أو المدونة أو الصفحة الخاصة بالمحتوى القابل للتحميل الذي تشير إليه.
يمكن الاطلاع على معلومات أكثر عن الإسناد وحقوق النشر والترخيص فيما يخص الوسائط التي تستخدمها المبادرة والمتوفرة على صفحة الاعتمادات الخاصة بالمبادرة.

هذه القضية متاحة بلغات إضافية:    استعرضها بلغة أخرى: English    استعرضها بلغة أخرى: Español    استعرضها بلغة أخرى: Français

تحليل القضية

ملخص القضية وما انتهت اليه

قضت محكمة إسلام أباد العليا – محكمة دستورية في باكستان – بأنَّ التحقيق الذي بدأته وكالة التحقيقات الفيدرالية (FIA) ضد الصحفية رنا محمد أرشد بإشعار غير مؤرخ كان انتهاكًا للإجراءات المنصوص عليها في القانون، وأنَّ الصحفية كانت في الواقع “مستهدفة انتقامًا لعملها”. خلصت المحكمة إلى أنَّ مثل هذا الإجراء ينتهك الحق الأساسي في حرية الكلام والتعبير وحرية الصحافة وحق المواطن في الوصول إلى المعلومات ذات الأهمية العامة المنصوص عليها في المادتين 19 و19(أ) من دستور جمهورية باكستان الإسلامية لعام 1973. كما خلصت المحكمة إلى أنَّه عندما تُسيء وكالة تحقيق إلى سلطاتها القسرية، فإنَّها تؤثر تأثيراً عميقاً على حرية الصحافة واستقلال الصحفي، وتؤدي إلى الشعور بالانتقام من الوظائف المهنية. وجهت المحكمة وكالة التحقيقات الفيدرالية – من خلال هذه الملاحظات – إلى وضع مبادئ توجيهية خاصة فيما يتعلق بالإجراءات ضد الأشخاص العاملين في مهنة الصحافة.


الوقائع

رنا محمد أرشد صحفية استدعتها وكالة التحقيقات الفيدرالية (FIA) من خلال إشعار غير مؤرخ وصيغة غامضة صادر بموجب قانون منع الجرائم الإلكترونية لعام 2016 (PECA 2016). بموجب قانون منع الجرائم الإلكترونية لعام 2016، جرى تعيين وكالة التحقيقات الفيدرالية بمثابة وكالة تحقيق لديها أمر رسمي لمحاكمة الجرائم المرتكبة باستخدام الوسائل الإلكترونية وغيرها من الجرائم الإلكترونية. لم يكشف الإشعار عن الفعل الذي جرى استدعاء مقدم الالتماس من أجله، بالرغم من أنَّ مقدم الالتماس يرى أنَّ الإشعار كان استجابة إلى تغريدة يُزعم أنَّها مرفوضة نشرها مُقدِّم الالتماس. وذكر مُقدِّم الالتماس أنَّه بالإضافة إلى الإشعار، داهم مسؤولون من وكالة التحقيقات الفيدرالية منزله بنية اعتقاله بسبب تقاريره الصحفية الانتقادية.

بعد أن شعرت رنا محمد أرشد بالضيق من سلوك وكالة التحقيقات الفيدرالية، استندت إلى اختصاص المحكمة العليا في إسلام أباد المادة 199 من دستور جمهورية باكستان الإسلامية لعام 1973، للطعن في الإشعار غير المؤرخ وتصرفات مسؤولي وكالة التحقيقات الفيدرالية وفقًا له. جادل مُقدِّم الالتماس بأنَّ وكالة التحقيقات الفيدرالية قد انتهكت التزامها القانوني بإصدار إشعار غير مؤرخ من دون أسباب، وكان “محاولة لردعها عن أداء مهامها كصحفية دون خوف أو محاباة” [الفقرة. 6].

نظرت المحكمة العليا في القضية لأول مرة في 8 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2020، وفي هذا التاريخ، منعت المحكمة مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي من اتخاذ أي إجراء سلبي ضد مُقدِّم الالتماس. بعد ذلك، جرى البت في الأمر أخيرًا في 03 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2020.


نظرة على القرار

وقام رئيس المحكمة مين الله بإصدار حكم المحكمة.

كانت القضية الرئيسية المعروضة على المحكمة في هذا الالتماس هي شرعية الإشعار الصادر من وكالة التحقيقات الفيدرالية إلى مُقدِّم الالتماس، والتصرفات المزعومة الصادرة من مسؤولي وكالة التحقيقات الفيدرالية وفقًا للإخطار الصادر.

وادعى مُقدِّم الالتماس أنَّ الإشعار المطعون فيه تسبب له في مضايقات لا داعي لها. وقيل كذلك أنَّ الكشف عن الغرض من الاستدعاء في الإشعار كان التزامًا قانونيًا مفروضًا على وكالة التحقيقات الفيدرالية ومسؤوليها، وقد جرى انتهاك هذا الالتزام لأنَّ الإشعار لم يكشف عن أي أسباب لاستدعاء الصحفية. أكد مُقدِّم الالتماس أنَّ وكالة التحقيقات الفيدرالية “مارست سلطاته برعونة في محاولة لردعها عن أداء مهامها كصحفية دون خوف أو محاباة” [الفقرة. 6].

مثُل ضابط التحقيق في وكالة الاستخبارات الفيدرالية، الذي كان قد أرسل الإشعار وزُعم أنَّه داهم منزل مُقدِّم الالتماس، أمام المحكمة وقدم تقريرًا كتابيًا. وأبلغ ضابط التحقيق المحكمة بأنَّه لم يزر مسكن مُقدِّم الالتماس سوى للتحقق من عنوانه، واعترف بأنَّه أثناء سير التحقيقات، لم تُعثر على أدلة تجريم ضد مُقدِّم الالتماس. وجدت المحكمة – بعد الاطلاع على تقرير ضابط التحقيق واستجوابه – أنَّه لم يكن ثمَّة تفسير معقول لإرسال إشعار غير مؤرخ وعدم الكشف عن الغرض من الاستدعاء، ولم يكن ثمَّة أي دليل يشير إلى أنَّ مُقدِّم الالتماس قد ارتكب جريمة بموجب قانون منع الجرائم الإلكترونية لعام 2016، من أجل ضمان أن تتقدم وكالة التحقيقات الفيدرالية “بمثل هذه التسرع والرعونة والذي تسبب بوضوح في مضايقة وترهيب، ليس لمُقدِّم الالتماس فحسب ولكن لأفراد أسرته كذلك” [الفقرة. 2].

ثمَّ ناقشت المحكمة أهمية عمل مُقدِّم الالتماس كصحفي. ذكرت المحكمة أنَّ حرية الصحافة ستكون بعيدة المنال “إذا فقد الصحفيون استقلالهم وعملهم خوفًا من التعرض للأذى أو الانتقام بسبب تقاريرهم” [الفقرة. 7]. قد تنظر الحكومة إلى التقارير الصحفية المستقلة على أنَّها انتقادية، ومع ذلك، فإنَّ أي تخوف أو خوف ينشأ في أذهان الصحفيين الذين ينشرون معلومات ذات أهمية عامة، لا يقوض استقلال الاحتلال فحسب، بل يتعارض أيضًا مع الحق المكفول دستوريًا في الحرية الكلام والتعبير، وهما “أكثر حقوق الإنسان احترامًا ويقوي الحقوق الأخرى التي يكفلها الدستور” [فقرة. 6]. ورأت المحكمة أنَّ الصحافة الحرة تعمل كجهة رقابة ولا يمكن المساومة على المعلومات التي تنشرها.

ثم واصلت المحكمة مناقشة المادتين 19 و19(أ) من دستور باكستان، اللتين تضمن لكل مواطن الحق في حرية الكلام والتعبير، بما في ذلك حرية الصحافة وحق المواطنين في الوصول إلى المعلومات ذات الأهمية العامة. واتَّخذت المحكمة خطوة إلى الأمام لتصرح بأنَّ انتهاك الحقوق المكفولة دستوريًا بموجب المادتين 19 و19أ من شأنه أن يؤثر كذلك على الحقوق الأخرى المكفولة دستوريًا. بالإشارة إلى حالة سيد منصور احسان ضد ارديشير كواسجي [1998] PLD 1998 SC 823، أكدت المحكمة مُجددًا أنَّ الحق في حرية الكلام والتعبير هو أحد ركائز الحرية الفردية، وبالتالي فمن واجب المحكمة الحفاظ على قدسيتها وولايتها الدستورية. ومن ثمَّ، مجرد تصور أنَّ تغطية الصحفيين ستؤدي إلى رد فعل عنيف من موظفي الدولة، هو انتهاك للمادتين 19 و19(أ) من الدستور، ولا شيء يمكن أن ينتهك المادتين 19 و19(أ) أكثر من الخوف الذي ينشأ في أذهان الصحفيين من أنَّهم سيُستهدفون لما يرفعونه من تقارير. وبذلك حددت المحكمة أنَّه من الواجب الدستوري للدولة والمحكمة حماية استقلال الصحفيين ومهنتهم وفقًا للمادتين 19 و19(أ). كما تقع على عاتق الدولة مسؤولية إثبات التزامها بحماية الصحفيين وحرية الصحافة.

أقرت المحكمة بأنَّ حرية التعبير والصحافة لها علاقة مباشرة بضمان الاستقرار الاقتصادي والنمو، وأنَّ حرية الصحافة هي “علاج شافي لشرور الفقر والفساد وعدم المساواة” [الفقرة. 8]. يعتبر منع حرية التعبير أو تقييدها وتقويض حرية الصحافة من السمات المُميِّزة للدولة الرجعية.

وشددت المحكمة كذلك على أنَّ الصحافة الحرة تمكّن الشرائح الضعيفة والمهمشة في المجتمع، وتمنح قوة دافعة للمساءلة على أساس المعلومات التي يُجرى نشرها من خلال التقارير المستقلة والمسؤولة. وسلطت المحكمة الضوء على حدوث زيادة مفاجئة في تقديم الالتماسات التي تدعي بأنَّ الموظفين الحكوميين قد أساءوا استخدام الأحكام المنصوص عليها في قانون منع الجرائم الإلكترونية لعام 2016. إما أنَّه قد جرى إساءة تفسير الأحكام من هؤلاء الموظفين الحكوميين أو جرى استخدامها برعونة وبطريقة غير مهنية لقمع الملاحقات الصحفية الانتقادية. ومن ثمَّ رأت المحكمة أنَّه من واجب الدولة تبديد مثل هذه التصورات عن إساءة استخدام السلطات القسرية لتهديد حرية الصحافة. توصلت المحكمة – في القضية الحالية – إلى استنتاج مفاده أنَّ الإخطار غير المؤرخ قُدِّم إلى مُقدِّم الالتماس وأنَّ تصرفات مسؤول وكالة التحقيقات الفيدرالية بعد ذلك ترقى إلى إساءة استخدام الصلاحيات بموجب قانون منع الجرائم الإلكترونية لعام 2016، وأنَّ رنا محمد أرشد كانت في الواقع مستهدفة لعملها كصحافية. وجهت المحكمة – من خلال هذه الملاحظات – المدير العام لوكالة التحقيقات الفيدرالية لصياغة مبادئ توجيهية خاصة للتحقيق مع الأشخاص العاملين في مجال الصحافة. أعربت المحكمة عن ثقتها في أن تتخذ الحكومة الفيدرالية إجراءات فورية وفعَّالة لمنع إساءة استخدام السلطات القسرية بموجب قانون منع الجرائم الإلكترونية لعام 2016 بشكل عام وضد الصحفيين المستقلين والمسؤولين بشكل خاص. اقترحت المحكمة إنشاء منتدى فعَّال لمعالجة شكاوى الصحفيين المتعلقة بانتهاكات حرية الصحافة. فضلاً عن ذلك، اقترحت المحكمة أن تُجري الحكومة الفيدرالية مشاورات هادفة مع أصحاب المصلحة الرئيسيين، بما في ذلك الجمعيات والمجالس ونقابات الصحفيين لنبذ المخاوف من الترويع ومعالجة المخاوف بشأن إساءة استخدام السلطات القسرية من الموظفين الحكوميين، لا سيما فيما يتعلق بقانون منع الجرائم الإلكترونية لعام 2016.


اتجاه الحكم

معلومات سريعة

يشير اتجاه الحكم إلى ما إذا كان الأخير يُوسع من مدي التعبير أم يُضيقه بناءً على تحليل للقضية.

الحكم يُعزز من حُرية التعبير

يؤكد هذا الحكم بشكل لا لبس فيه على أهمية حرية الصحافة وحرية الكلام والتعبير، ليس كحقوق مفروضة دستوريًا فحسب، ولكن باعتبارها ضرورية كذلك لتنمية المجتمع والبلد ككل. تشدد المحكمة على الالتزام الدستوري المفروض على الدولة ليس لحماية التقارير المستقلة للصحفيين فحسب، ولكن لإثبات التزامها بحماية الصحافة الحرة كذلك. وهو يعترف بالأدوار المهمة التي تلعبها الصحافة الحرة في توسيع الوصول إلى المعلومات لضمان تنشئة مواطنين يتسمون بالوعي، ومن أجل التنمية الشاملة ونمو الدولة. تُشكِّل هذه القضية سابقة قوية في دعم الصحافة القادرة على أداء واجباتها بحرية، دون أي تدخل غير معقول من الدولة.

المنظور العالمي

معلومات سريعة

يوضح المنظور العالمي كيف تأثر قرار المحكمة بمعايير سواء من منطقة واحدة أو عدة مناطق.

جدول المراجع المستند اليها

معيار أو قانون أو فقه وطني

اهمية القضية

معلومات سريعة

تُشير أهمية هذه القضية إلى مدى تأثيرها وكيفية تغير مدى أهميتها بمرور الوقت.

يُنشئ القرار سابقة ملزمة أو مقنعة داخل نطاقه القضائي.

وثائق القضية الرسمية

هل لديك تعليقات؟

أخبرنا إذا لاحظت وجود أخطاء أو إذا كان تحليل القضية يحتاج إلى مراجعة.

ارسل رأيك

Global Freedom of Expression

Rana Muhammad Arshad v. Pakistan

Closed Expands Expression

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Press / Newspapers
  • Date of Decision
    November 3, 2020
  • Outcome
    Decision - Procedural Outcome, Motion Granted, Decision Outcome (Disposition/Ruling), Injunction or Order Granted
  • Case Number
    W.P. No. 2939/2020
  • Region & Country
    Pakistan, Asia and Asia Pacific
  • Judicial Body
    Appellate Court
  • Type of Law
    Criminal Law, Constitutional Law
  • Themes
    Violence Against Speakers / Impunity
  • Tags
    Violence, Surveillance

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

The Islamabad High Court, a constitutional court in Pakistan, held that the investigation initiated against journalist Rana Muhammed Arshad, by the Federal Investigating Agency (FIA) by means of an undated notice was an abuse of the procedure established by law, and that the journalist was in fact being “targeted as retaliation for his work.” The Court held that such action was violative of the fundamental right to freedom of speech and expression, free press and a citizen’s right to access information of public importance enshrined in Articles 19 and 19A of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, 1973. The Court further held that when an investigative agency abuses its coercive powers, it profoundly affects the freedom of press and independence of a journalist, and gives rise to a perception of retaliation to professional functions. With these observations, the Court directed the Federal Investigating Agency to frame special guidelines regarding proceedings against persons engaged in the profession of journalism.  


Facts

Rana Muhammad Arshad is a journalist who was summoned by the Federal Investigating Agency (FIA) through an undated and vaguely worded notice issued under the Prevention of Electronic Crimes Act 2016 (PECA 2016). Under PECA 2016, FIA has been designated as an investigation agency that has the mandate to prosecute crimes committed using electronic means and other cybercrimes. The notice did not disclose the act for which the Petitioner was being summoned, although the Petitioner believes that the notice was in response to an allegedly objectionable tweet posted by the Petitioner. The Petitioner stated that in addition to the notice, FIA officials raided his residence with the intention of arresting him because of his critical journalistic reporting. 

Aggrieved by the FIA’s conduct, Rana Muhammad Arshad invoked Islamabad High Court’s  jurisdiction under Article 199 of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, 1973, to challenge the undated notice and the actions of the FIA officials pursuant thereto. The Petitioner argued that the FIA had violated its statutory obligation by issuing an undated notice without reasons, and was an “attempt to deter him from performing his functions as a journalist without fear or favour” [para. 6]. 

The matter was first heard by the High Court on October 08, 2020, and on this date, the Court restrained the FIA from taking any adverse action against the Petitioner. Thereafter, the matter was finally decided on November 03, 2020. 


Decision Overview

Chief Justice Minallah delivered the judgment for the Court.

The main issue before the Court in this petition was the legality of the notice issued by the FIA to the Petitioner, and the alleged actions of the FIA officials pursuant to the notice issued.

The Petitioner claimed that the impugned notice had caused him unnecessary harassment. It was further argued that the disclosure of the purpose of summoning in the notice was a statutory obligation imposed on the FIA and its officials, and this obligation had been violated since the notice did not disclose any reasons for summoning the journalist. The Petitioner asserted that the FIA had “recklessly exercised their powers in an attempt to deter him from performing his functions as a journalist without fear or favour” [para. 6].

The Investigating Officer of the FIA, who had served the notice and allegedly raided the house of the Petitioner appeared before the Court and filed a written report. The Investigating Officer informed the Court that he had visited the Petitioner’s residence only to verify his address, and admitted that during the course of the investigations, no incriminating evidence was found against the Petitioner. After having perused the Investigating Officer’s report and having questioned him, the Court found that neither was there a plausible explanation for sending an undated notice and not disclosing the purpose for summoning, nor was there any evidence to suggest that the Petitioner had committed an offence under PECA 2016, so as to warrant the FIA “to proceed with such haste and recklessness and which has obviously caused harassment and intimidation, not only to the Petitioner but his family members as well” [para. 2].

The Court then discussed the importance of the Petitioner’s occupation as a journalist. The Court stated that freedom of press will be elusive “if journalists lose their independence and function under fear of being exposed to harm or retaliation because of their reporting” [para. 7]. Independent journalistic reporting may be perceived by the Government as critical, however, any apprehension or fear created in the minds of journalists disseminating information of public importance, not only undermines the independence of the occupation, but is also contrary to the constitutionally guaranteed right to freedom of speech and expression, which is “the most cherished human right and fortifies the other constitutionally guaranteed rights” [para. 6]. The Court held that a free press acts as a watchdog and the information disseminated by it cannot be compromised. 

The Court then went on to discuss Articles 19 and 19A of the Constitution of Pakistan, which guarantees to every citizen the right to freedom of speech and expression, including the freedom of press and the right of citizens to have access to information of public importance. The Court went a step further to state that violation of the constitutionally guaranteed rights under Article 19 and 19A would also affect other constitutionally guaranteed rights. With reference to the case of Syed Mansoor Ahsan v. Ardeshir Cowasjee [1998] PLD 1998 SC 823, the Court reiterated that  the right to free speech and expression is one of the pillars of individual liberty and thus it is the duty of the Court to uphold its sanctity and constitutional mandate. Therefore even the perception that a journalists’ reporting will lead to backlash by state agents, is violative of Articles 19 and 19A of the Constitution, nothing can violate Articles 19 and 19A more than the fear created in the minds of journalists that they will be targeted for their reporting. The Court thereby delineated that it is the constitutional duty of the State and the Court to protect the independence and the occupation of journalists in accordance with Article 19 and 19A. It is also the State’s responsibility to demonstrate their commitment to protecting journalists and the freedom of press.

The Court acknowledged that the freedom of speech and press has a direct nexus with ensuring economic stability and growth, and free press is “a panacea to evils of poverty, corruption and inequality” [para. 8]. Inhibiting or limiting free speech and undermining the freedom of the press are seen as hallmarks of a regressive state.  

The Court further stressed that a free press empowers the weak and marginalized segments of society, and gives an impetus to accountability on the basis of information disseminated through independent and responsible reporting. The Court highlighted that there had been a surge in the filing of petitions claiming that public functionaries have abused the provisions under PECA 2016. Either the provisions were being misinterpreted by these public functionaries or being used in a reckless unprofessional manner to suppress critical journalistic pursuits. The Court therefore held that it is the  duty of the State to dispel such perceptions of abuse of coercive powers to threaten free press. In the present case, the Court came to the conclusion that the undated notice served to the Petitioner and the FIA official’s actions thereafter amounted to an abuse of exercising powers under PECA 2016, and Rana Mohammed Arshad was in fact being targeted for his work as a journalist. With such observations, the Court directed the Director General of the FIA to formulate special guidelines for investigating persons engaged in journalism. The Court expressed its confidence in the Federal Government to take prompt and effective action to prevent the abuse of coercive powers under PECA 2016 in general and against independent and responsible journalists in particular. The Court proposed the establishment of an effective forum for addressing complaints of journalists, relating to violations of the freedom of press. Moreover, the Court suggested that the Federal Government conduct meaningful consultations with key stakeholders, including associations, councils and unions of journalists to dismiss apprehensions of intimidation and address concerns about abuse of coercive powers by public functionaries, particularly in relation to PECA 2016.  


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Expands Expression

This judgment unequivocally stresses on the importance of free press, and freedom of speech and expression, not only as constitutionally mandated rights, but as also being essential to the development of the society and country as a whole. The Court stresses on the constitutional obligation imposed on the State to not only protect independent reporting by journalists, but to also demonstrate its commitment towards protecting free press.  It recognizes the important roles that a free press plays in expanding access to information to create an informed citizenry, and for the overall development and growth of the State. This case sets a strong precedent in support of a press that can freely carry out its duties, without any unreasonable state interference. 

Global Perspective

Quick Info

Global Perspective demonstrates how the court’s decision was influenced by standards from one or many regions.

Table of Authorities

National standards, law or jurisprudence

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

Official Case Documents

Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback