Rana Muhammad Arshad c. Pakistan

Affaire Résolue élargit l'expression

Key Details

  • Mode D'expression
    Presse / Journaux
  • Date de la Décision
    novembre 3, 2020
  • Résultat
    Injonction ou Ordonnance Accordée, Décision - Résultat de la procédure, Motion accordée, Résultat de la décision (Disposition/Verdict))
  • Numéro de Cas
    W.P. No. 2939/2020
  • Région et Pays
    Pakistan, Asie et Asie Pacifique
  • Organe Judiciaire
    Cour d'appel
  • Type de Loi
    Droit Constitutionnel, Droit Pénal
  • thèmes
    Surveillance, Violence contre les orateurs / Impunité

Ce cas est disponible dans d'autres langues:    Vue en: English    Vue en: Español    Vue en: العربية

Analyse de Cas

Résumé du Cas et Résultat

La Haute Cour dʼIslamabad, une cour constitutionnelle du Pakistan, a estimé que lʼenquête ouverte contre le journaliste Rana Muhammed Arshad par lʼAgence fédérale dʼinvestigation au moyen dʼun avis non daté constituait un abus de la procédure établie par la loi, et que le journaliste était en fait « visé en représailles de son travail ». La Cour a estimé quʼune telle action violait le droit fondamental à la liberté de parole et dʼexpression, à la liberté de la presse et le droit dʼun citoyen dʼaccéder aux informations dʼimportance publique consacrés par les articles 19 et 19A de la Constitution de la République islamique du Pakistan de 1973. La Cour a en outre estimé que lorsquʼune agence dʼinvestigation abuse de ses pouvoirs coercitifs, cela affecte profondément la liberté de la presse et lʼindépendance dʼun journaliste, et donne lieu à la perception de représailles pour ses fonctions professionnelles. Par ces observations, la Cour a ordonné à lʼAgence fédérale dʼinvestigation dʼélaborer des directives spéciales concernant les procédures contre les personnes exerçant la profession de journaliste.


Les Faits

Rana Muhammad Arshad est un journaliste qui a été convoqué par lʼAgence fédérale dʼinvestigation par le biais dʼun avis non daté et rédigé, émis en vertu de la loi de 2016 sur la prévention des crimes électroniques (PECA 2016). Dans le cadre de la PECA 2016, lʼAgence fédérale dʼinvestigation a été désignée en tant qu’agence dʼinvestigation avec pour mandat de poursuivre les crimes commis par voie électronique et autres cybercrimes. Lʼavis ne révélait pas lʼacte pour lequel le requérant était convoqué, bien que le requérant pense que lʼavis était en réponse à un tweet prétendument répréhensible posté par le requérant. Le requérant a déclaré quʼen plus de lʼavis, des agents de lʼAgence fédérale dʼinvestigation ont fait une descente à son domicile dans lʼintention de lʼarrêter en raison de ses reportages journalistiques critiques.

Mécontent de la conduite de lʼAgence fédérale dʼinvestigation, Rana Muhammad Arshad a invoqué la compétence de la Haute Cour dʼIslamabad en vertu de lʼarticle 199 du Code pénal de la Constitution de la République islamique du Pakistan de 1973, pour contester lʼavis non daté et les actions des fonctionnaires de lʼAgence fédérale dʼinvestigation qui en découlent. Le requérant a fait valoir que lʼAgence fédérale dʼinvestigation avait violé son obligation légale en émettant un avis non daté et non motivé, et quʼil sʼagissait dʼune « tentative de le dissuader dʼexercer ses fonctions de journaliste sans crainte ni faveur » [§ 6].

Lʼaffaire a été entendue pour la première fois par la Haute Cour le 8 octobre 2020, et à cette date, la Cour a interdit à lʼAgence fédérale dʼinvestigation de prendre toute mesure défavorable à lʼencontre du requérant. Par la suite, lʼaffaire a été définitivement tranchée le 3 novembre 2020.


Aperçu des Décisions

Le juge en chef Minallah a rendu lʼarrêt au nom de la Cour.

La question principale devant la Cour dans cette requête concernait la légalité de lʼavis émis par lʼAgence fédérale dʼinvestigation au requérant, et les actions alléguées des fonctionnaires de lʼAgence fédérale dʼinvestigation conformément à lʼavis émis.

Le requérant a affirmé que lʼavis contesté avait été la cause d’un harcèlement inutile à son encontre. Il a également été soutenu que la divulgation de lʼobjet de la convocation dans lʼavis était une obligation légale imposée à lʼAgence fédérale dʼinvestigation et à ses fonctionnaires, et que cette obligation avait été violée puisque lʼavis ne mentionnait aucune raison de convoquer le journaliste. Le requérant a affirmé que lʼAgence fédérale dʼinvestigation avait « exercé ses pouvoirs de manière irréfléchie dans le but de le dissuader dʼexercer ses fonctions de journaliste sans crainte ni faveur » [§ 6].

Lʼenquêteur de lʼAgence fédérale dʼinvestigation, qui avait signifié lʼavis et aurait fait une descente au domicile du requérant, a comparu devant la Cour et a déposé un rapport écrit. Lʼenquêteur a informé la Cour quʼil avait visité la résidence du requérant uniquement pour vérifier son adresse, et a admis quʼaucune preuve incriminante nʼa été trouvée contre le requérant au cours des investigations. Après avoir pris connaissance du rapport de lʼenquêteur et lʼavoir interrogé, la Cour a estimé quʼil nʼy avait pas dʼexplication plausible à lʼenvoi dʼun avis non daté et à la non-divulgation de lʼobjet de la convocation, et quʼil nʼy avait pas non plus de preuve suggérant que le requérant avait commis une infraction en vertu de la PECA 2016, de manière à justifier que lʼAgence fédérale dʼinvestigation « procède avec une telle promptitude et une telle insouciance, avec pour effet manifeste un harcèlement et un intimidation non seulement à l’encontre du requérant, mais aux membres de sa famille également » [§ 2].

La Cour a ensuite examiné lʼimportance de la profession de journaliste du requérant. La Cour a déclaré que la liberté de la presse sera chose compliquée « si les journalistes perdent leur indépendance et travaillent dans la crainte dʼêtre exposés à des préjudices ou à des représailles en raison de leurs reportages » [§ 7]. Les reportages journalistiques indépendants peuvent être perçus par le gouvernement comme critiques, cependant, toute appréhension ou peur créée dans lʼesprit des journalistes diffusant des informations dʼimportance publique, non seulement porte atteinte à lʼindépendance de la profession, mais est également contraire au droit à la liberté de parole et dʼexpression garanti par la Constitution, qui est « le droit de lʼhomme le plus cher et renforce les autres droits garantis par la Constitution » [§ 6]. La Cour a estimé quʼune presse libre sert de contre-pouvoir et que les informations quʼelle diffuse ne peuvent être compromises.

La Cour a ensuite examiné les articles 19 et 19A de la Constitution du Pakistan, qui garantissent à chaque citoyen le droit à la liberté de parole et dʼexpression, y compris la liberté de la presse et le droit des citoyens dʼavoir accès aux informations dʼimportance publique. La Cour est allée plus loin en déclarant que la violation des droits garantis par la Constitution en vertu des articles 19 et 19A affecterait également dʼautres droits garantis par la Constitution. Se référant à lʼaffaire Syed Mansoor Ahsan c. Ardeshir Cowasjee [1998] PLD 1998 SC 823, la Cour a réaffirmé que le droit à la liberté de parole et dʼexpression est lʼun des piliers de la liberté individuelle et quʼil est donc du devoir de la Cour dʼen préserver le caractère sacré et le mandat constitutionnel. Par conséquent, même la perception que le reportage dʼun journaliste entraînera une réaction négative de la part des agents de lʼÉtat est une violation des articles 19 et 19A de la Constitution. Rien ne peut violer davantage les articles 19 et 19A que la peur créée dans lʼesprit des journalistes quʼils seront pris pour cible pour leurs reportages. La Cour a ainsi souligné quʼil est du devoir constitutionnel de lʼÉtat et de la Cour de protéger lʼindépendance et la profession des journalistes conformément aux articles 19 et 19A. Il est également de la responsabilité de lʼÉtat de démontrer son engagement à protéger les journalistes et la liberté de la presse.

La Cour a reconnu que la liberté dʼexpression et de la presse a un lien direct avec la stabilité et la croissance économiques, et que la liberté de la presse est « une panacée contre les maux de la pauvreté, de la corruption et de lʼinégalité » [§ 8]. Lʼinhibition ou la limitation de la liberté dʼexpression et lʼatteinte à la liberté de la presse sont considérées comme des caractéristiques dʼun État régressif.

La Cour a en outre souligné quʼune presse libre donne du pouvoir aux segments faibles et marginalisés de la société et incite à la responsabilisation sur la base dʼinformations diffusées par des reportages indépendants et responsables. La Cour a souligné quʼil y avait eu une forte augmentation du nombre de pétitions alléguant que des fonctionnaires avaient abusé des dispositions de la PECA 2016. Soit les dispositions ont été mal interprétées par ces fonctionnaires, soit elles ont été utilisées de manière irréfléchie et non professionnelle pour supprimer les activités journalistiques critiques. La Cour a donc estimé quʼil est du devoir de lʼÉtat de dissiper ces perceptions dʼabus de pouvoirs coercitifs pour menacer la liberté de la presse. En lʼespèce, la Cour est parvenue à la conclusion que lʼavis non daté signifié au requérant et les actions de lʼagent de lʼAgence fédérale dʼinvestigation par la suite sʼapparentaient à un abus de pouvoir en vertu de la PECA 2016, et que Rana Mohammed Arshad était en fait visé pour son travail de journaliste. Par ces observations, la Cour a ordonné au directeur général de lʼAgence fédérale dʼinvestigation de formuler des directives spéciales pour enquêter sur les personnes engagées dans le journalisme. La Cour a exprimé sa confiance dans le gouvernement fédéral pour prendre des mesures rapides et efficaces afin dʼempêcher lʼabus des pouvoirs coercitifs prévus par la PECA 2016 en général et contre les journalistes indépendants et responsables en particulier. La Cour a proposé la mise en place dʼune instance efficace visant à traiter les plaintes des journalistes, relatives aux violations de la liberté de la presse. En outre, la Cour a suggéré que le gouvernement fédéral mène des consultations significatives avec les principales parties prenantes, y compris les associations, les conseils et les syndicats de journalistes, afin de dissiper les craintes dʼintimidation et de répondre aux préoccupations concernant lʼabus de pouvoirs coercitifs par les fonctionnaires, en particulier en ce qui concerne la PECA 2016.


Direction De La Décision

Info Rapide

La direction de la décision indique si la décision élargit ou réduit l'expression sur la base d'une analyse de l'affaire.

élargit l'expression

Cet arrêt souligne sans équivoque lʼimportance de la liberté de la presse et de la liberté de parole et dʼexpression, non seulement en tant que droits garantis par la Constitution, mais aussi en tant quʼéléments essentiels au développement de la société et du pays dans son ensemble. La Cour souligne lʼobligation constitutionnelle imposée à lʼÉtat non seulement de protéger les reportages indépendants des journalistes, mais aussi de démontrer son engagement à protéger la liberté de la presse. Elle reconnaît les rôles importants que joue une presse libre dans lʼélargissement de lʼaccès à lʼinformation pour engendrer une population informée, et pour le développement et la croissance générale de lʼÉtat. Cette affaire établit un solide précédent en faveur dʼune presse qui peut exercer librement ses fonctions, sans aucune interférence déraisonnable de lʼÉtat.

Perspective Globale

Info Rapide

La perspective globale montre comment la décision de la Cour a été influencée par les normes d'une ou de plusieurs régions.

Tableau Des Autorités

Normes, droit ou jurisprudence nationales

Importance du Cas

Info Rapide

L'importance du cas fait référence à l'influence du cas et à la manière dont son importance évolue dans le temps.

La décision établit un précédent contraignant ou persuasif dans sa juridiction.

Documents Officiels du Cas

Pièces Jointes:

Vous avez des commentaires?

Faites-nous savoir si vous remarquez des erreurs ou si l'analyse de cas doit être révisée.

Envoyer un Retour D'information

Global Freedom of Expression

Rana Muhammad Arshad v. Pakistan

Closed Expands Expression

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Press / Newspapers
  • Date of Decision
    November 3, 2020
  • Outcome
    Decision - Procedural Outcome, Motion Granted, Decision Outcome (Disposition/Ruling), Injunction or Order Granted
  • Case Number
    W.P. No. 2939/2020
  • Region & Country
    Pakistan, Asia and Asia Pacific
  • Judicial Body
    Appellate Court
  • Type of Law
    Criminal Law, Constitutional Law
  • Themes
    Violence Against Speakers / Impunity
  • Tags
    Violence, Surveillance

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

The Islamabad High Court, a constitutional court in Pakistan, held that the investigation initiated against journalist Rana Muhammed Arshad, by the Federal Investigating Agency (FIA) by means of an undated notice was an abuse of the procedure established by law, and that the journalist was in fact being “targeted as retaliation for his work.” The Court held that such action was violative of the fundamental right to freedom of speech and expression, free press and a citizen’s right to access information of public importance enshrined in Articles 19 and 19A of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, 1973. The Court further held that when an investigative agency abuses its coercive powers, it profoundly affects the freedom of press and independence of a journalist, and gives rise to a perception of retaliation to professional functions. With these observations, the Court directed the Federal Investigating Agency to frame special guidelines regarding proceedings against persons engaged in the profession of journalism.  


Facts

Rana Muhammad Arshad is a journalist who was summoned by the Federal Investigating Agency (FIA) through an undated and vaguely worded notice issued under the Prevention of Electronic Crimes Act 2016 (PECA 2016). Under PECA 2016, FIA has been designated as an investigation agency that has the mandate to prosecute crimes committed using electronic means and other cybercrimes. The notice did not disclose the act for which the Petitioner was being summoned, although the Petitioner believes that the notice was in response to an allegedly objectionable tweet posted by the Petitioner. The Petitioner stated that in addition to the notice, FIA officials raided his residence with the intention of arresting him because of his critical journalistic reporting. 

Aggrieved by the FIA’s conduct, Rana Muhammad Arshad invoked Islamabad High Court’s  jurisdiction under Article 199 of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, 1973, to challenge the undated notice and the actions of the FIA officials pursuant thereto. The Petitioner argued that the FIA had violated its statutory obligation by issuing an undated notice without reasons, and was an “attempt to deter him from performing his functions as a journalist without fear or favour” [para. 6]. 

The matter was first heard by the High Court on October 08, 2020, and on this date, the Court restrained the FIA from taking any adverse action against the Petitioner. Thereafter, the matter was finally decided on November 03, 2020. 


Decision Overview

Chief Justice Minallah delivered the judgment for the Court.

The main issue before the Court in this petition was the legality of the notice issued by the FIA to the Petitioner, and the alleged actions of the FIA officials pursuant to the notice issued.

The Petitioner claimed that the impugned notice had caused him unnecessary harassment. It was further argued that the disclosure of the purpose of summoning in the notice was a statutory obligation imposed on the FIA and its officials, and this obligation had been violated since the notice did not disclose any reasons for summoning the journalist. The Petitioner asserted that the FIA had “recklessly exercised their powers in an attempt to deter him from performing his functions as a journalist without fear or favour” [para. 6].

The Investigating Officer of the FIA, who had served the notice and allegedly raided the house of the Petitioner appeared before the Court and filed a written report. The Investigating Officer informed the Court that he had visited the Petitioner’s residence only to verify his address, and admitted that during the course of the investigations, no incriminating evidence was found against the Petitioner. After having perused the Investigating Officer’s report and having questioned him, the Court found that neither was there a plausible explanation for sending an undated notice and not disclosing the purpose for summoning, nor was there any evidence to suggest that the Petitioner had committed an offence under PECA 2016, so as to warrant the FIA “to proceed with such haste and recklessness and which has obviously caused harassment and intimidation, not only to the Petitioner but his family members as well” [para. 2].

The Court then discussed the importance of the Petitioner’s occupation as a journalist. The Court stated that freedom of press will be elusive “if journalists lose their independence and function under fear of being exposed to harm or retaliation because of their reporting” [para. 7]. Independent journalistic reporting may be perceived by the Government as critical, however, any apprehension or fear created in the minds of journalists disseminating information of public importance, not only undermines the independence of the occupation, but is also contrary to the constitutionally guaranteed right to freedom of speech and expression, which is “the most cherished human right and fortifies the other constitutionally guaranteed rights” [para. 6]. The Court held that a free press acts as a watchdog and the information disseminated by it cannot be compromised. 

The Court then went on to discuss Articles 19 and 19A of the Constitution of Pakistan, which guarantees to every citizen the right to freedom of speech and expression, including the freedom of press and the right of citizens to have access to information of public importance. The Court went a step further to state that violation of the constitutionally guaranteed rights under Article 19 and 19A would also affect other constitutionally guaranteed rights. With reference to the case of Syed Mansoor Ahsan v. Ardeshir Cowasjee [1998] PLD 1998 SC 823, the Court reiterated that  the right to free speech and expression is one of the pillars of individual liberty and thus it is the duty of the Court to uphold its sanctity and constitutional mandate. Therefore even the perception that a journalists’ reporting will lead to backlash by state agents, is violative of Articles 19 and 19A of the Constitution, nothing can violate Articles 19 and 19A more than the fear created in the minds of journalists that they will be targeted for their reporting. The Court thereby delineated that it is the constitutional duty of the State and the Court to protect the independence and the occupation of journalists in accordance with Article 19 and 19A. It is also the State’s responsibility to demonstrate their commitment to protecting journalists and the freedom of press.

The Court acknowledged that the freedom of speech and press has a direct nexus with ensuring economic stability and growth, and free press is “a panacea to evils of poverty, corruption and inequality” [para. 8]. Inhibiting or limiting free speech and undermining the freedom of the press are seen as hallmarks of a regressive state.  

The Court further stressed that a free press empowers the weak and marginalized segments of society, and gives an impetus to accountability on the basis of information disseminated through independent and responsible reporting. The Court highlighted that there had been a surge in the filing of petitions claiming that public functionaries have abused the provisions under PECA 2016. Either the provisions were being misinterpreted by these public functionaries or being used in a reckless unprofessional manner to suppress critical journalistic pursuits. The Court therefore held that it is the  duty of the State to dispel such perceptions of abuse of coercive powers to threaten free press. In the present case, the Court came to the conclusion that the undated notice served to the Petitioner and the FIA official’s actions thereafter amounted to an abuse of exercising powers under PECA 2016, and Rana Mohammed Arshad was in fact being targeted for his work as a journalist. With such observations, the Court directed the Director General of the FIA to formulate special guidelines for investigating persons engaged in journalism. The Court expressed its confidence in the Federal Government to take prompt and effective action to prevent the abuse of coercive powers under PECA 2016 in general and against independent and responsible journalists in particular. The Court proposed the establishment of an effective forum for addressing complaints of journalists, relating to violations of the freedom of press. Moreover, the Court suggested that the Federal Government conduct meaningful consultations with key stakeholders, including associations, councils and unions of journalists to dismiss apprehensions of intimidation and address concerns about abuse of coercive powers by public functionaries, particularly in relation to PECA 2016.  


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Expands Expression

This judgment unequivocally stresses on the importance of free press, and freedom of speech and expression, not only as constitutionally mandated rights, but as also being essential to the development of the society and country as a whole. The Court stresses on the constitutional obligation imposed on the State to not only protect independent reporting by journalists, but to also demonstrate its commitment towards protecting free press.  It recognizes the important roles that a free press plays in expanding access to information to create an informed citizenry, and for the overall development and growth of the State. This case sets a strong precedent in support of a press that can freely carry out its duties, without any unreasonable state interference. 

Global Perspective

Quick Info

Global Perspective demonstrates how the court’s decision was influenced by standards from one or many regions.

Table of Authorities

National standards, law or jurisprudence

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

Official Case Documents

Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback