Constitutionnalité du Décret Législatif n°540 de 2020

Affaire Résolue élargit l'expression

Key Details

  • Mode D'expression
    Transmission audio visuelle, Communication électronique / basée sur l'internet
  • Date de la Décision
    juin 24, 2020
  • Résultat
    Loi ou action maintenue
  • Numéro de Cas
    C-197/20
  • Région et Pays
    Colombie, Latin-America and Caribbean
  • Organe Judiciaire
    Cour constitutionnelle
  • Type de Loi
    Droit Constitutionnel
  • thèmes
    Droits numériques, Licences / Réglementation des médias
  • Mots-Cles
    Internet, COVID-19, État d'urgence

Ce cas est disponible dans d'autres langues:    Vue en: English    Vue en: Español

Analyse de Cas

Résumé du Cas et Résultat

La Cour constitutionnelle de Colombie a déclaré constitutionnel le décret n° 540. Le décret, signé par le Président, a été promulgué en vertu des pouvoirs découlant de la précédente déclaration de l’état d’urgence dans le contexte de la pandémie COVID-19. Le décret contient deux mesures visant à répondre à la demande accrue de services de télécommunications en raison de l’isolement et de la distanciation sociale requis, ce qui a créé de sérieux problèmes quant à la satisfaction, entre autres, aux droits à l’éducation, au travail, à la liberté d’expression et à l’accès à l’information. La Cour a conclu qu’en réduisant les charges administratives en rapport avec la prestation des services de télécommunications, ainsi que les coûts des services mobiles au profit des personnes à revenus limités, le décret atténue les difficultés résultant de la crise et contribue à garantir l’exercice des droits et libertés fondamentaux.


Les Faits

Le 17 mars 2020, le Président colombien a pris le décret n° 417 dans le contexte de la pandémie de la COVID-19 “par lequel un état d’urgence économique, sociale et écologique est déclaré sur l’ensemble du territoire national. » Le décret confère à la présidence le pouvoir de prendre des décrets législatifs dans les conditions énoncées à l’article 215 de la Constitution. Sur la base de la déclaration de l’état d’urgence, le Président a publié, entre autres, le décret législatif n°540 de 2020 “en vertu duquel des mesures sont adoptées pour élargir l’accès aux télécommunications dans le contexte de l’état d’urgence économique, sociale et écologique”, qui a été déféré à la Cour constitutionnelle pour contrôle.

L’article premier du décret établit une procédure spéciale pour le traitement des demandes de licence pour la construction, la connexion, l’installation, la modification ou l’exploitation de tout équipement pour la fourniture de services de télécommunications. Plus précisément, le délai à observer pour que le silence administratif positif soit constaté dans le traitement de telles demandes est réduit de deux mois à 10 jours. L’article 2 déclare les services de téléphonie mobile et d’Internet exonérés de la taxe sur la valeur ajoutée (TVA) pendant les quatre mois suivant la publication du décret.

Le secrétariat juridique auprès du cabinet du président de la République, le ministère des technologies de l’information et des communications, le ministère des finances et du crédit public et la commission de régulation des communications ont pris part au processus pour défendre la constitutionnalité du décret législatif n° 540 de 2020.

Le cabinet du président a fait valoir que l’utilisation d’Internet et de la téléphonie mobile a augmenté principalement en raison des mesures de distanciation sociale prises pendant la pandémie nécessitant le déroulement de plusieurs activités et la fourniture de produits et services de base à travers les réseaux de télécommunications. Cette utilisation génère des schémas de flux différents de ceux prévus au moment de la conception des réseaux en temps normal, c’est-à-dire qu’au lieu de concentrer le flux , par exemple, dans les sites d’étude et de travail pendant la majeure partie de la journée, il doit être orienté vers les foyers tout au long de la journée, ce qui provoque une plus grande pression au niveau du réseau. Il devient donc essentiel d’accélérer les procédures pour le déploiement de l’infrastructure nécessaire, afin d’assurer une bonne mise à disposition.

D’autre part, le cabinet a déclaré que l’exonération de la TVA sur les services de téléphonie mobile et d’Internet garantit l’accès aux utilisateurs disposant de moins de ressources. En raison de l’impact de la pandémie et les actions de lutte contre la propagation de la COVID-19, il était nécessaire de mettre en œuvre des mesures garantissant l’accès à certains biens et services de base pour que les habitants puissent faire leur travail et leurs activités éducatives et exercer leurs droits et libertés fondamentaux associés aux services de télécommunications.

Le Bureau de l’inspecteur général a estimé que le décret répondait aux exigences matérielles et formelles exigées par la Constitution et par la loi.

 


Aperçu des Décisions

La principale question soumise à la Cour constitutionnelle de Colombie était la constitutionnalité du décret législatif n° 540 de 2020.

D’abord, la Cour a expliqué que les télécommunications étaient considérées comme un service public bien avant la Constitution politique colombienne de 1991 et que la prestation de ces services était associée à la satisfaction de divers droits fondamentaux, tels que la liberté d’expression, l’accès à l’information et à la culture, dont la garantie contribue à la construction d’une société pluraliste, pacifique, démocratique et participative.

La Cour a mentionné que le régime actuel de réglementation des télécommunications est prévu par la loi 1341 de 2009, qui établit le cadre général pour la formulation des politiques publiques régissant le secteur des technologies de l’information et de la communication (TIC) et promeut, entre autres, l’utilisation efficace des réseaux et du spectre électromagnétique « permettant à la population du territoire national d’accéder librement et sans discrimination à la Société de l’information. » Il reconnaît également le rapport intrinsèque entre l’accès à l’information et d’autres droits constitutionnels fondamentaux, et répond à la nécessité d’établir des programmes différenciés en faveur des groupes vulnérables dans le but de contribuer à combler la fracture numérique.

L’irruption de la pandémie actuelle a déclenché une série d’effets à plusieurs niveaux auxquels les États, y compris la Colombie, ont essayé de faire face afin d’éviter que la crise ne s’aggrave ou ne se propage. A cet égard, la Cour a admis que de larges pans de la population, tels que les étudiants et les travailleurs, ont dû transférer leurs activités vers des environnements généralement destinés à la vie familiale et au repos. Toutefois, une telle nécessité ne devrait et ne pourrait pas présenter un risque d’interrompre brusquement et violemment l’exercice normal de droits importants tels que l’éducation, le travail, la liberté d’expression et l’accès à l’information.

En outre, la Cour constitutionnelle a souligné que l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) et l’Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT), dans une déclaration conjointe datée du 20 avril 2020, ont jugé que les technologies et les services de communication remplissaient trois rôles importants, à savoir la réponse au besoin de tous d’accéder aux informations de santé dont ils ont besoin; l’autonomisation des gens tout en étant en sécurité dans leur isolement, pour rester productifs et connectés; et le développement d’activités médicales et de santé telles que la télémédecine, la connexion au réseau médical et hospitalier et l’analyse en temps réel des données de diagnostic pour “mieux contenir et prédire plus rapidement les épidémies.”

La Cour s’est appuyée également sur les travaux du Bureau du rapporteur spécial pour la liberté d’expression de la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l’homme qui a estimé que compte tenu de l’importance de l’exercice des droits fondamentaux dans le monde numérique, il est expressément reconnu que l’article 13 de la Convention américaine relative aux droits de l’homme, qui garantit le droit de chacun à la liberté d’expression “s’applique pleinement aux communications, aux idées et aux informations diffusées sur Internet.” Le Bureau du rapporteur spécial a souligné que cette question avait également été expressément abordée par l’ONU. La Cour a rappelé aussi que le principe de l’accès universel “fait référence à la nécessité de garantir la connectivité et l’accès à l’infrastructure Internet et à d’autres services TIC de manière universelle, omniprésente, équitable, vraiment abordable et de qualité adéquate dans l’ensemble du territoire. » Il a, enfin, indiqué que “des mesures devraient être prises pour promouvoir progressivement l’accès universel non seulement à l’infrastructure, mais aussi à la technologie nécessaire à son utilisation et à la plus grande quantité possible d’informations disponibles sur Internet; éliminer les obstacles arbitraires à l’accès à l’infrastructure, à la technologie et à l’information en ligne et adopter des mesures de discrimination positive pour permettre l’exercice effectif de ce droit aux personnes ou aux communautés qui font face à la marginalisation et à la discrimination.”

En ces termes, la Cour a considéré que dans l’urgence de répondre aux besoins de télécommunications, le délai de deux mois pour constater le silence administratif positif concernant la demande de licences est jugé excessif. De plus, le mandat prévu à l’article 1 du décret législatif n° 540 de 2020 n’a pas pour effet d’éliminer ou de passer outre les exigences d’obtention de la licence, mais simplement de réduire le délai dont disposent les autorités territoriales pour vérifier si les informations répondent aux exigences réglementaires et techniques.

En ce qui concerne les mesures prévues à l’article 2 du décret législatif, la Cour a constaté que les effets économiques négatifs des mesures d’isolement social visant à prévenir la propagation de la pandémie ont généré une utilisation intensive d’Internet et de la téléphonie mobile, étant donné qu’un nombre important d’activités ainsi que la fourniture de biens et services de premier besoin, doivent être effectués à travers ces canaux.

La Cour a conclu qu’en réduisant les coûts des services mobiles au profit des personnes à revenus limités, le décret allège le fardeau financier provoqué par de la crise et contribue à garantir l’exercice des droits et libertés fondamentaux associés au service de télécommunications.

Pour ces motifs, la Cour a décidé de déclarer constitutionnel le décret législatif n° 540 de 2020.

 


Direction De La Décision

Info Rapide

La direction de la décision indique si la décision élargit ou réduit l'expression sur la base d'une analyse de l'affaire.

élargit l'expression

La décision étend l’expression dans la mesure où elle reconnaît que dans des situations d’urgence telles que la pandémie de la COVID-19, la prestation de services de télécommunications est essentielle pour garantir une multitude de droits fondamentaux tels que l’accès à l’information, la liberté d’expression et l’éducation, notamment pour les catégories les plus vulnérables de la population affectée par les politiques d’isolement et de distanciation sociale.

Perspective Globale

Info Rapide

La perspective globale montre comment la décision de la Cour a été influencée par les normes d'une ou de plusieurs régions.

Tableau Des Autorités

Lois internationale et/ou régionale connexe

  • ACHR, art. 13

Normes, droit ou jurisprudence nationales

  • Colom., Constitution of Colombia (1991), art. 215.
  • Colom., Law 1341, 2009

Importance du Cas

Info Rapide

L'importance du cas fait référence à l'influence du cas et à la manière dont son importance évolue dans le temps.

La décision établit un précédent contraignant ou persuasif dans sa juridiction.

Documents Officiels du Cas

Vous avez des commentaires?

Faites-nous savoir si vous remarquez des erreurs ou si l'analyse de cas doit être révisée.

Envoyer un Retour D'information

2022 GLOBAL FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION PRIZES: NOMINATIONS NOW OPEN!

Recognize a Significant Legal Ruling or Excellence in Legal Services which advance a global understanding of freedom of expression and nominate here or learn more about the prizes.

Global Freedom of Expression

Constitutionality of Legislative Decree 540 of 2020

Closed Expands Expression

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Audio / Visual Broadcasting, Electronic / Internet-based Communication
  • Date of Decision
    June 24, 2020
  • Outcome
    Law or Action Upheld
  • Case Number
    C-197/20
  • Region & Country
    Colombia, Latin-America and Caribbean
  • Judicial Body
    Constitutional Court
  • Type of Law
    Constitutional Law
  • Themes
    Digital Rights, Licensing / Media Regulation
  • Tags
    Internet, License, State of Emergency, COVID-19

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

There is a Spanish language version of this case available.    View Spanish version

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

The Constitutional Court of Colombia declared Legislative Decree No. 540 constitutional. The Decree, signed by the President, was enacted under the powers derived from the previous declaration of the state of emergency in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic. The Decree contains two measures aimed at meeting the increased demand for telecommunications services due to the required isolation and social distancing, which created serious challenges for the satisfaction of, among others, the rights to education, work, freedom of expression and access to information. The Court concluded that by reducing administrative burdens for the provision of telecommunications services, as well as the costs of mobile services for the benefit of those with reduced earning capacity, the Decree alleviates hardships resulting from the crisis and contributes to guaranteeing the exercise of fundamental rights and freedoms.


Facts

On March 17, 2020, the Colombian President, in the context of COVID-19 pandemic, issued Decree 417 “whereby a State of Economic, Social and Ecological Emergency is declared throughout the National territory.” The Decree empowers the presidency to issue legislative decrees under the terms set forth in Article 215 of the Constitution. Based on the declaration of the State Emergency, the President issued, among others, Legislative Decree 540 of 2020, “whereby measures are adopted to expand access to telecommunications in the context of the State of Economic, Social and Ecological Emergency”, which was referred to the Constitutional Court for its control.

Article 1 of the Decree establishes a special procedure for the processing of license applications for the construction, connection, installation, modification or operation of any equipment for the provision of telecommunications services. Specifically, the term that must elapse for the positive administrative silence to be configured in the processing of such applications is reduced from two months to 10 days. Article 2 declares mobile voice and internet services exempt from value-added tax (VAT) during the four months following the issuance of the Decree.

The Legal Secretariat of the Office of the President of the Republic, together with the Ministry of Information and Communications Technologies, the Ministry of Finance and Public Credit, and the Communications Regulation Commission participated in the process to defend the constitutionality of Legislative Decree 540 of 2020.

The Office of the President argued that the use of the Internet and mobile telephony has grown mainly due to social distancing measures during the COVID-19 pandemic that force a significant number of activities, as well as the provision of basic goods and services, to be carried out through telecommunications networks. This use generates traffic patterns that are different from those foreseen at the time of designing the networks in normal times, i.e., instead of being concentrated, for example, in study and work sites for most of the day, they are distributed in all homes throughout the day, which puts greater pressure on the network in operation. To this extent, it was essential to expedite the procedures for the deployment of the necessary infrastructure, in order to ensure its efficient provision.

On the other hand, they stated that the VAT exemption on mobile voice and internet services ensures access for users with fewer resources. Due to the impact of the pandemic and the actions taken to prevent the spread of COVID-19, it was necessary to implement measures that guarantee people’s access to certain basic goods and services so that they can carry out their work and educational activities and exercise fundamental rights and freedoms associated with telecommunications services.

The Office of the Inspector General considered that the Decree fulfilled the material and formal requirements demanded by the Constitution and the Law.

 


Decision Overview

The main issue before the Constitutional Court of Colombia was the constitutionality of Legislative Decree 540 of 2020.

First, the Court explained that telecommunications have been considered a public service since before the 1991 Political Constitution of Colombia and their provision has been associated with the satisfaction of a variety of fundamental rights, such as freedom of expression and access to information and culture, whose guarantee, contributes to the construction of a pluralistic, peaceful, democratic and participatory society.

The Court mentioned that the current regime for telecommunications regulation is provided for in Law 1341 of 2009, which establishes the general framework for the formulation of public policies governing the information and communications technologies (ICT) sector and promotes the efficient use of networks and the electromagnetic spectrum, among other elements, “enabling the population of the national territory to access the Information Society freely and without discrimination.” It also recognizes the intrinsic relationship between access to the information and other fundamental constitutional rights, and addresses the need to establish differentiated programs in favor of vulnerable groups with the aim of contributing to closing the digital divide.

The irruption of the current pandemic triggered a series of multilevel effects that States, including Colombia, have tried to address in order to prevent the crisis from deepening or worsening. In this sense, the Court understood that large population groups such as students and workers, had to move their activities to environments usually intended for family life and rest. Such need, however, should not -and could not- have the potential to abruptly and violently interrupt the normal exercise of important rights such as education, work, freedom of expression and access to information.

Moreover, the Constitutional Court underlined that the World Health Organization (WHO) and the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), in a joint statement of 20 April 2020, considered that communications technologies and services fulfill three important roles, namely: meeting the need of all people to access the health information they need; enabling people, while being secure in their isolation, to remain productive and connected; and, enabling the development of medical and health activities such as telemedicine, medical and hospital network connection and real-time analysis of diagnostic data, to “contain and predict outbreaks better and faster.”

The Court also relied on the work of Office of the Special Rapporteur (OSR) for Freedom of Expression of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights which considered that given the importance of the exercise of fundamental rights in the digital environment, it has been expressly recognized that Article 13 of the American Convention on Human Rights, which guarantees the right of everyone to freedom of expression, “applies fully to communications, ideas and information distributed through the Internet.” The OSR highlighted that this has also been expressly addressed by the United Nations. It also argued that the principle of universal access “refers to the need to guarantee connectivity and access to the Internet infrastructure and other ICT services that is universal, ubiquitous, equitable, truly affordable, and of adequate quality, all throughout the State’s territory.” And finally, that “steps should be taken to progressively promote universal access not only to infrastructure but also the technology necessary for its use and to the greatest possible amount of information available on the Internet; to eliminate arbitrary barriers to access to infrastructure, technology and information online, and to adopt measures of positive differentiation to allow for the effective enjoyment of this right for individuals or communities who face marginalization and discrimination.”

In these terms, the Court considered that in the urgency to meet the demand for remote communications, two months were considered excessive for the configuration of the positive administrative silence regarding the request for the licenses. Moreover, the mandate provided for in Article 1 of Legislative Decree 540 of 2020 does not have the effect of eliminating or dismissing the requirements for obtaining the license, but simply reducing the term available to the territorial authorities to verify whether the information satisfies the regulatory and technical requirements.

In relation to the measure provided for in Article 2 of the Legislative Decree, the Court found that that the negative economic effects of the social isolation measures to prevent the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic have generated an intense use of the Internet and mobile telephony, given that a significant number of activities, as well as the provision of goods and services of primary need, must be carried out through these channels.

The Court concluded that by reducing the costs of mobile services for the benefit of those with reduced earning capacity, the Decree alleviates the financial hardship resulting from the crisis and contributes to guaranteeing the exercise of fundamental rights and freedoms associated with the telecommunications service.

On these grounds, the Court decided to declare Legislative Decree 540 of 2020 constitutional.


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Expands Expression

The decision expands expression to the extent that it acknowledges that in emergency situations such as the COVID-19 pandemic, the supply of telecommunications services is essential for the guarantee of a multiplicity of fundamental rights such as access to information, freedom of expression and education, especially for the most vulnerable population affected by the policies of isolation and social distancing.

Global Perspective

Quick Info

Global Perspective demonstrates how the court’s decision was influenced by standards from one or many regions.

Table of Authorities

Related International and/or regional laws

  • ACHR, art. 13

National standards, law or jurisprudence

  • Colom., Constitution of Colombia (1991), art. 215.
  • Colom., Law 1341, 2009

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

Official Case Documents

Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback