Global Freedom of Expression


Congratulations to the Nobel Peace Prize Winners, Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov

Key Details

  • Themes
    Press Freedom, Political Expression

“Congratulations to Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov. At a time when society is facing grave threats ranging from climate change to the pandemic, the Nobel Committee is to be commended for focusing the world’s attention on the pervasive danger to functioning democracies posed by attacks on a free press. There can be no remedies for global problems without courageous journalists who are protected and able to push facts to the fore of public discussion. This is a moment to reenergize demands that governments everywhere respect freedom of expression.”

Lee C. Bollinger, President, Columbia University

Catalina Botero Marino, Interim Director, Columbia Global Freedom of Expression


Lee C. Bollinger

President, Columbia University
Founder, Global Freedom of Expression, Columbia University

Catalina Botero Marino

Consulting Director, Global Freedom of Expression, Columbia University