قضية المضايقات عبر الإنترنت لكاتبة العمود الصحفي ك. جارجارد من صحيفة إن آر سي الهولندية

قضية مُنتهية الحكم يُعزز من حُرية التعبير

Key Details

  • نمط التعبير
    التواصل الإلكتروني / القائم على الإنترنت, الصحافة / الصحف
  • تاريخ الحكم
    نوفمبر ١٧, ٢٠١٨
  • النتيجة
    تعويض نقدي/ غرامة
  • رقم القضية
    ECLI numbers: ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5253; ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5258; ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5278; ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5295.
  • المنطقة والدولة
    هولندا, أوروبا وآسيا الوسطى
  • الهيئة القضائية
    محكمة أول درجة
  • نوع القانون
    القانون الدستوري, القانون الجنائي
  • المحاور
    العنف ضدّ المتحدّثين/الإفلات من العقوبة
  • الكلمات الدلالية
    نوع الجنس, العنف, التحرش الجنسي

سياسة إسناد المحتوى

تُعد مبادرة جامعة كولومبيا لحرية التعبير العالمية إحدى المبادرات الأكاديمية، وبالتالي، فهي تشجع على مشاركة وإعادة نشر مقتطفات من المحتوى الخاص بها طالما لا يتم استخدامه لأغراض تجارية وذلك بالإضافة إلى احترام سياستها التالية:
  • نسب المحتوى للمبادرة باعتبارها مصدره.
  • ربط ما يتم مشاركته أو نشره من تحليل قضايا، منشورات، تحديثات، مدونات، إلى عنوان URL الأصلي التحديث أو المدونة أو الصفحة الخاصة بالمحتوى القابل للتحميل الذي تشير إليه.
يمكن الاطلاع على معلومات أكثر عن الإسناد وحقوق النشر والترخيص فيما يخص الوسائط التي تستخدمها المبادرة والمتوفرة على صفحة الاعتمادات الخاصة بالمبادرة.

هذه القضية متاحة بلغات إضافية:    استعرضها بلغة أخرى: English    استعرضها بلغة أخرى: Español

تحليل القضية

ملخص القضية وما انتهت اليه

أدانت دائرة القانون الجنائي في محكمة مقاطعة أمستردام (المحكمة الابتدائية) 24 متهمًا بمضايقات عبر الإنترنت لكاتبة العمود ك. جارجارد من صحيفة إن آر سي الهولندية. في 17 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2018، تلقت ك. جارجارد 7600 رسالة بعد نشر بث مباشر للمظاهرات ضد “زوارتي بيت” (بلاك بيت) في أمستلفين. “بلاك بيت” هو شخصية مثيرة للجدل في احتفالات عيد الميلاد الهولندية يساعد “سنتر كلاس” (اندماج هولندي للقديس نيكولاس وسانتا) في تقديم الهدايا، ولكن مظهره يُعتبر من بقايا العبودية. بعد التحقيق في حوالي 200 رسالة من هذه الرسائل، وجه المدعي العام تهمًا ضد 25 مشتبهًا بهم. قررت المحكمة أن 24 متهمًا مدانون بالتحريض على الاعتداء والقتل والقتل غير العمد والتمييز و/أو التشهير. وأشارت المحكمة إلى أن التمييز العنصري غير مقبول، وأن الأشخاص من جميع الخلفيات الاجتماعية والثقافية يجب أن يكونوا قادرين على التمتع بحقوقهم المدنية والشعور بالأمان والقبول في هولندا.

تنوه مبادرة جامعة كولومبيا لحرية التعبير العالمية أن بعض المعلومات الواردة في هذا التحليل مستمدة من مصادر ثانوية.


الوقائع

في 17 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2018، خرجت مظاهرة ضد “زوارتي بيت” (بلاك بيت) أثناء وصول “سنتر كلاس” (اندماج هولندي للقديس نيكولاس وسانتا)، في أمستلفين (بلدية في منطقة العاصمة أمستردام). يصل “سنتر كلاس” على متن قارب بخاري مليء بالهدايا، مع “مساعديه”. وعادةً ما يتم تصوير “مساعديه” على أنهم شخصية سوداء الوجه بأقراط ذهبية كبيرة وشعر مستعار مجعد وشفاه حمراء مبالغ فيها. الشخصية تُعتبر من بقايا العبودية وكانت موضع جدل كبير. ك. جارجارد، كاتبة عمود في صحيفة إن آر سي الهولندية، حضرت المظاهرات ونشرت بثًا مباشرًا للمظاهرة على صفحتها الشخصية على فيسبوك. تم نشر الآلاف من الرسائل التي يغلب عليها الطابع السلبي أسفل البث المباشر.

في 20 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2018، تقدّمت ك. جارجارد بعريضة دعوى لتلقيها “رسائل عنصرية ومتحيزة جنسيًا ومهينة وتهديدية”. جمعت جارجارد وصديقاتها حوالي 200 من ردود الفعل التي تم تلقّيها على البث المباشر، والتي أرفقتها مع دعواها. وبدأت النيابة العامة الهولندية بعد ذلك التحقيق “13Bitburg”. في إطار تحقيق 13Bitburg، فحصت النيابة العامة الرسائل التي تم جمعها وحاولت تحديد هوية الجناة.

كنتيجة للتحقيق، وجه المدعي العام تهمًا تصل عقوبتها إلى أحكام الخدمة المجتمعية و/أو الغرامات ضد 25 مشتبهًا بهم. واحتجَّ المدعي العام بأن نشر رسائل تمييزية أو تحريضية و/أو مهينة أسفل البث المباشر على صفحة ك. جارجارد على فيسبوك قد انتهك المواد 131 و137(ج) و137(د) و266 من القانون الجنائي الهولندي.


نظرة على القرار

أصدر رئيس القضاة “بي إل سي إم فيك” أحكام محكمة مقاطعة أمستردام (دائرة القانون الجنائي).

المسائل المعروضة على المحكمة

كانت المسائل الرئيسية التي قررت المحكمة البت فيها هي ما إذا كانت تعليقات المشتبه بهم الـ 25 تصل إلى حد التحريض على ارتكاب جريمة جنائية و/أو (التحريض على) التمييز و/أو التشهير، وتحديد العقوبة المناسبة.

إفادات الأطراف

في القضايا الخمس والعشرين، احتج المدعي العام بشكل أساسي بأن إفادات المتهمين تصل إلى حد التحريض على الاعتداء والقتل و/أو القتل غير العمد و(التحريض على) التمييز و/أو التشهير. وبما أن هذا “يتجاوز النطاق المسموح به” لحرية التعبير، ادعى المدعي العام أن هناك حاجة اجتماعية ملحّة لتقييد حق المتهمين في حرية التعبير. احتج المدعي العام بأن هذا التقييد سيكون قانونيًا، وله هدف مشروع وضروري في مجتمع ديمقراطي.

كانت الإفادات الرئيسية للمتهمين أنهم أنكروا التهم الموجهة إليهم بالتحريض على الاعتداء والقتل و/أو القتل غير العمد والتمييز. واحتجوا، من بين أمور أخرى، بما يلي: يجب فهم أفعالهم “في سياق معين” [ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5254، الفقرة 5-2]؛ و”لم تكن هناك نية للتحريض على ارتكاب جريمة جنائية” [ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5258، الفقرة 5-2]؛ و”ينبغي ألا تُفهم الكلمات بمعناها الحرفي”؛ و”الغرض من التعبير وسياقه غير واضحين” [ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5278، الفقرة 5-2]، ولم تكن الرسالة شديدة لدرجة تبرر تقييد حرية المتهم في التعبير [ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5258، الفقرة 5-2].

استنتاجات المحكمة واستدلالها

أدانت المحكمة 24 متهمًا. ورأت المحكمة أن 18 متهمًا مدانون بالتحريض على الاعتداء أو القتل أو القتل غير العمد، منتهكين المادة 131 من القانون الجنائي الهولندي، التي تحظر على أي شخص تحريض الآخرين على “ارتكاب أي جريمة جنائية…”. وثبت أن ثلاثة متهمين قد مارسوا التمييز ضد ك. جارجارد، وثبت أن اثنين من المتهمين حرضا على التمييز، منتهكين بذلك المادتين 137(ج) و137(د) من القانون الجنائي الهولندي. ورأت المحكمة أن أحد المتهمين مدان بتهمة التشهير، وخرق المادة 266 من القانون الجنائي الهولندي.

لإثبات التحريض على ارتكاب جريمة جنائية، طبَّقت المحكمة المعيار التالي:

  • يجب أن يحرض المتهم على ارتكاب جريمة جنائية بموجب القانون الهولندي؛
  • يجب أن يكون هناك نية (مشروطة)؛
  • يجب أن تكون الإفادة علنية؛
  • يجب أن تكون الإفادة شفهية أو نصية أو عبر الصور.

لتحديد ما إذا كانت الرسائل تصل إلى حد التحريض على التمييز أو التشهير، طبقت المحكمة المخطط التالي:

  • يجب أن يكون للتعليقات تأثير التحريض على التمييز أو التشهير؛
  • يجب على المحكمة تقييم ما إذا كان السياق الذي تم فيه نشر الرسائل يمكن أن يقلل من إساءتها، بالنظر إلى حماية حرية التعبير بموجب المادة 10(1) من الاتفاقية الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان (ECHR)؛
  • إذا كانت الرسائل محمية بموجب المادة 10 من الاتفاقية الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان، فيجب على المحكمة تحديد ما إذا كانت الرسالة لا تزال تُعتبر “مبالغًا فيها و/أو مسيئة بلا داعٍ”.

في استدلالها، أشارت المحكمة إلى تأثير الرسائل على ك. جارجارد، وأنها شعرت بالتهديد. من خلال تعليقاتهم، كان بإمكان العديد من المتهمين “دفع أشخاص آخرين إلى فكرة” إلحاق الأذى بالضحية ك. جارجارد [ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5281، الفقرة 5-3]. نظرًا للكم الهائل من الرسائل التي تلقتها ك. جارجارد، فقد ازداد هذا الخطر.

رأت المحكمة أن التعليقات كانت تمييزية وتشهيرية، وأن بعض التعليقات حرضت الآخرين على الانخراط أيضًا في التمييز. في قضية ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5295، أشارت المحكمة الى أن التعليقات التي تم الإدلاء بها لم تكن ذات قيمة اجتماعية أو عامة، ولكنها بالأحرى تصور الإحباط الذي أصاب المدعى عليه. وشددت المحكمة على أن التمييز العنصري غير مقبول، وأن الأشخاص من جميع الخلفيات الاجتماعية والثقافية يجب أن يكونوا قادرين على التمتع بحقوقهم المدنية والشعور بالأمان والقبول في هولندا.

بخصوص العقوبات المناسبة، أشارت المحكمة إلى أن النيابة العامة فحصت 200 رسالة فقط من بين 7600 رسالة على فيسبوك. علاوةً على ذلك، عُرضت القضايا الخمس والعشرون بشكل مشترك على المحكمة المحلية. لذلك، حظيت القضايا باهتمام إعلامي أكبر من المعتاد، وبالتالي كان لها تأثير أكبر على المتهمين.

الاستنتاج والتعويضات

في الختام، قضت المحكمة بأن 24 من المشتبه بهم الـ 25 متهمًا بالتحريض على الاعتداء والقتل والقتل غير العمد و(التحريض على) التمييز و/أو التشهير. حكمت المحكمة على الجناة بالخدمة المجتمعية لمدة تتراوح بين 28 و58 ساعة و/أو أمرتهم بدفع غرامات تتراوح من 300 إلى 450 يورو. علاوةً على ذلك، قضت المحكمة بتعويضات لكاتبة العمود. كان على 15 من الجناة دفع تعويضات لـ ك. جارجارد تتراوح من 50 إلى 150 يورو لإلحاق الضرر بشرفها أو سمعتها أو نزاهتها الأخلاقية.


اتجاه الحكم

معلومات سريعة

يشير اتجاه الحكم إلى ما إذا كان الأخير يُوسع من مدي التعبير أم يُضيقه بناءً على تحليل للقضية.

الحكم يُعزز من حُرية التعبير

الأحكام تُعزز من حرية التعبير. عند تقييم ما إذا كانت الرسائل تمييزية أو محرّضة على ارتكاب جريمة جنائية و/أو تشهيرية، أخذت المحكمة في الاعتبار حقوق المتهمين في حرية التعبير بموجب المادة 10 من الاتفاقية الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان، وبالتالي التقيد بالمعايير العالمية لحقوق الإنسان.

المنظور العالمي

معلومات سريعة

يوضح المنظور العالمي كيف تأثر قرار المحكمة بمعايير سواء من منطقة واحدة أو عدة مناطق.

جدول المراجع المستند اليها

معيار أو قانون أو فقه وطني

اهمية القضية

معلومات سريعة

تُشير أهمية هذه القضية إلى مدى تأثيرها وكيفية تغير مدى أهميتها بمرور الوقت.

يُنشئ القرار سابقة ملزمة أو مقنعة داخل نطاقه القضائي.

وثائق القضية الرسمية

المرفقات:

هل لديك تعليقات؟

أخبرنا إذا لاحظت وجود أخطاء أو إذا كان تحليل القضية يحتاج إلى مراجعة.

ارسل رأيك

Global Freedom of Expression

The case of the online harassment of Dutch NRC columnist C. Gargard

Closed Expands Expression

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Electronic / Internet-based Communication, Press / Newspapers
  • Date of Decision
    November 17, 2018
  • Outcome
    Monetary Damages / Fines
  • Case Number
    ECLI numbers: ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5253 - ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5258; ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5278 - ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5295
  • Region & Country
    Netherlands, Europe and Central Asia
  • Judicial Body
    First Instance Court
  • Type of Law
    Criminal Law, Constitutional Law
  • Themes
    Violence Against Speakers / Impunity
  • Tags
    Violence, Gender, Sexual Harassment

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

The Criminal Law Section of the District Court Amsterdam (Court of First Instance) convicted 24 defendants for the online harassment of columnist C. Gargard of the Dutch newspaper, NRC. On 17 November 2018, C. Gargard received 7,600 messages after posting a livestream of “Zwarte Piet” (Black Pete) demonstrations in Amstelveen. After investigating around 200 of these messages, the public prosecutor filed charges against 25 suspects. The Court held that 24 defendants were guilty of incitement of assault, murder and manslaughter, discrimination and/or of defamation. The court noted that racial discrimination is unacceptable and that people from all social and cultural backgrounds should be able to enjoy their civil rights and feel safe and accepted in the Netherlands. 


Facts

On 17 November 2018, a demonstration against “Zwarte Piet” (Black Pete) took place during the arrival of “Sinterklaas” (a Dutch amalgamation of Saint Nicholas and Santa), in Amstelveen (a municipality in the metropolitan area of Amsterdam). “Sinterklaas” arrives on a steam boat filled with gifts, together with his “helpers”. His “helpers” are traditionally portrayed as a blackface character with large gold earrings, curly wigs and exaggerated red lips. The character is experienced as a vestige of slavery and has been subject to much controversy. C. Gargard, a columnist at the Dutch newspaper, NRC, attended the demonstrations and posted a livestream of the demonstration on her Facebook profile. Thousands of predominantly negative messages were posted below the livestream.  

On 20 November 2018, C. Gargard filed a complaint for receiving “racist, sexist, insulting and threatening messages”. Gargard and her friends collected around 200 of the received reactions on the livestream, which she enclosed with her complaint. The Netherlands Public Prosecution Service subsequently started investigation “13Bitburg”. Under investigation 13Bitburg, the public prosecution service examined the collected messages and tried to establish the identities of the perpetrators. 

As a result of the investigation, the public prosecutor filed charges for community service sentences and/or fines against 25 suspects. The prosecutor argued that the posting of discriminatory, inflammatory and/or insulting messages under the livestream of C. Gargard’s Facebook page breached Articles 131, 137c, 137d and 266 of the Dutch Criminal Code. 


Decision Overview

Judge President P.L.C.M. Ficq delivered the judgments of the District Court Amsterdam (Criminal Law Section).

Issues before the court

The main issues for the Court’s determination were whether the comments of the 25 suspects amounted to the incitement of a criminal offence, (incitement of) discrimination and/or of defamation, and to determine an appropriate sentence.

Parties’ submissions

In the 25 cases, the prosecutor mainly argued that the statements of the defendants amounted to the incitement of assault, murder and/or manslaughter, (the incitement of) discrimination and/or of defamation. As this “exceeds the permissible scope” of freedom of expression, the prosecutor claimed there was a pressing social need to limit the freedom of expression rights of the defendants. The prosecutor argued that this limitation would be lawful, pursued a legitimate aim and was necessary in a democratic society.

The main submissions of the defendants were that they denied being guilty of inciting assault, murder and/or manslaughter and discrimination. Amongst other things, they argued that: their actions should be understood “in a certain context” [ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5254, para. 5.2];  “there was no intention to incite a criminal offence” [ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5258, para. 5.2]; “the words should not be taken literally”; “the purpose and context of the expression is unclear” [ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5278, para. 5.2], and the message was not so severe as to justify a limitation of the defendant’s freedom of expression rights [ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5258, para. 5.2].

Court’s findings and reasoning

The Court convicted 24 defendants. The Court held that 18 defendants were guilty of inciting assault, murder or manslaughter, breaching Article 131 of the Dutch Criminal Code, which prohibits a person from inciting others to “commit any criminal offence…”. Three defendants were found to have discriminated against C. Gargard and two defendants were found to have incited discrimination, breaching Articles 137c and 137d of the Dutch Criminal Code. The court held that one defendant was guilty of defamation, breaching Article 266 of the Dutch Criminal Code.

To prove incitement to a criminal offence, the Court applied the following standard:

  1. The defendant must incite an offence that is criminal under Dutch law;
  2. There has to be (conditional) intent;
  3. The statement must be public;
  4. The statement must be made verbally, in text or via images.

To determine whether the messages amounted to the incitement of discrimination or defamation, the Court applied the following scheme:

  1. The comments must be capable of having the effect of incitement of discrimination or defamation;
  2. The Court must assess whether the context in which the messages were posted possibly minimize its offensiveness, given the protection of free speech under Article 10(1) of the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR);
  3. If the messages are protected under Article 10 ECHR, the court must determine whether the message is still to be considered “unnecessarily excessive and/or offensive”.

In its reasoning, the Court pointed towards the impact the messages had on C. Gargard and that she felt threatened. Through their comments, multiple defendants “could have brought other people to the idea” of inflicting harm on victim C. Gargard [[ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5281, para. 5.3]. Given the vast amount of messages C. Gargard received, this risk increased.

The Court held that the comments were discriminatory and defamatory, and that some comments incited others to also engage in discrimination. In case ECLI:NL:RBAMS:2020:5295, the Court noted that the comments made were not of any social or public value, but rather merely depicted the frustration of the defendant. The Court stressed that racial discrimination is unacceptable and that people from all social and cultural backgrounds should be able to enjoy their civil rights and feel safe and accepted in the Netherlands.

With regard to the appropriate sentences, the Court pointed out that the public prosecution office service only examined 200 of the 7,600 Facebook messages. Moreover, the 25 cases were jointly brought before the District Court. The cases therefore received more media attention than usual and thus had a bigger impact on the defendants.

Conclusion and damages

To conclude, the Court held that 24 of the 25 suspects were guilty of inciting assault, murder and manslaughter, (the incitement of) discrimination and/or of defamation. The court sentenced the perpetrators to community service of between 28 and 58 hours and/or ordered them to pay fines ranging from 300 to 450 Euros. Moreover, the Court awarded damages to the columnist. 15 perpetrators had to pay C. Gargard damages ranging from 50 to 150 Euros for injuring her honour, reputation or moral integrity.


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Expands Expression

The decisions expand freedom of expression. When evaluating whether the messages were discriminatory, incited to a criminal offence and/or were defamatory, the Court took into account the defendants’ freedom of expression rights under Article 10 of the European Convention on Human Rights, thereby adhering to global human rights standards. 

Global Perspective

Quick Info

Global Perspective demonstrates how the court’s decision was influenced by standards from one or many regions.

Table of Authorities

National standards, law or jurisprudence

General Law Notes

Columbia Global Freedom of Expression notes that some of the information contained in this report was derived from secondary sources.

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

Official Case Documents

Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback