Patel c. Facebook

Affaire Résolue élargit l'expression

Key Details

  • Mode D'expression
    Expression non verbale
  • Date de la Décision
    août 8, 2019
  • Résultat
    Affirmation de la Cour inférieure
  • Numéro de Cas
    18-15982
  • Région et Pays
    États-Unis, Amérique du Nord
  • Organe Judiciaire
    Cour d'appel
  • Type de Loi
    Droit Civil
  • thèmes
    Respect de la vie privée, protection des données et rétention
  • Mots-Cles
    Reconnaissance faciale, Médias sociaux, Facebook, Données Biométriques

Ce cas est disponible dans d'autres langues:    Vue en: English    Vue en: Español    Vue en: العربية

Analyse de Cas

Résumé du Cas et Résultat

La Cour d’appel des États-Unis pour le neuvième circuit a estimé que la technologie de reconnaissance faciale utilisée pour créer des modèles de visage sans consentement préalable porte atteinte aux intérêts et à la vie privée des personnes. En 2010, Facebook a commencé à utiliser la technologie de reconnaissance faciale pour développer sa fonctionnalité de suggestions de tags sans le consentement écrit préalable des utilisateurs et sans calendrier de conservation des informations biométriques. Trois utilisateurs de Facebook en Illinois ont déposé une plainte en 2015, affirmant que la technologie de reconnaissance faciale de Facebook violait la loi sur la confidentialité des informations biométriques de l’Illinois. La Cour a confirmé la décision de la Cour de district des États-Unis pour le district nord de la Californie, maintient que la technologie de reconnaissance faciale de Facebook affectait la vie privée et les activités personnelles des utilisateurs, et a noté l’impact que les avancées technologiques peuvent avoir sur la vie privée.


Les Faits

En 2010, Facebook a mis en place une nouvelle fonctionnalité, les suggestions d’identification ou tag, qui utilise la technologie de reconnaissance faciale pour identifier les personnes sur les photographies téléchargées par un utilisateur qui a activé la fonction de suggestions d’identification. Cette fonction permettait l’identification automatique d’autres utilisateurs sur les photographies téléchargées sur Facebook : elle est allée au-delà de l’identification manuelle initiale en permettant à un utilisateur d’identifier d’autres utilisateurs sur ses photos, avec un lien vers les profils de ces utilisateurs. La technologie appliquée par Facebook scanne les photographies une fois qu’elles ont été téléchargées et extrait « les différents points de données géométriques qui rendent un visage unique, tels que la distance entre les yeux, le nez et les oreilles, pour créer une signature ou une carte du visage », compare cette « carte » à des modèles de visages d’utilisateurs enregistrés dans ses bases de données et suggère ensuite de marquer cet utilisateur particulier sur la photographie.

En août 2015, trois utilisateurs de Facebook domiciliés dans l’Illinois, aux États-Unis, Nimesh Patel, Adam Pezen et Carlo Licata, agissant en tant que représentants du groupe, ont déposé une plainte collective contre Facebook, au motif que la technologie de reconnaissance faciale de Facebook violait la loi de l’Illinois sur la confidentialité des informations biométriques (Biometric Information Privacy Act, BIPA). Patel, Pezen et Licata étaient des utilisateurs de Facebook depuis 2008, 2005 et 2009 respectivement. La BIPA a été adoptée en 2008 et définit un « identifiant biométrique » comme incluant « un scan de la géométrie de la main ou du visage » [p. 8].

Les utilisateurs ont fait valoir que Facebook a violé les articles 15(a) et 15(b) de la BIPA parce qu’il a recueilli et utilisé les informations biométriques des utilisateurs, en particulier les modèles de visage, sans leur consentement écrit préalable pour développer la fonctionnalité Tag Suggestions. Ils ont également fait valoir que Facebook a violé la BIPA parce qu’il ne prévoyait pas de calendrier de conservation pour la destruction des identifiants biométriques.

La section 15(a) stipule : « Une entité privée en possession d’identifiants biométriques ou d’informations biométriques doit élaborer une politique écrite, mise à la disposition du public, établissant un calendrier de conservation et des lignes directrices pour la destruction définitive des identifiants biométriques et des informations biométriques lorsque l’objectif initial de la collecte ou de l’obtention de ces identifiants ou informations a été satisfait ou dans les 3 ans suivant la dernière interaction de la personne avec l’entité privée, selon la première éventualité. En l’absence d’un mandat ou d’une assignation valide délivrée par un tribunal compétent, une entité privée en possession d’identifiants ou d’informations biométriques doit se conformer à son calendrier de conservation et à ses directives de destruction ».

L’article 15(b) stipule : « Aucune entité privée ne peut collecter, capturer, acheter, recevoir par voie commerciale ou obtenir de toute autre manière l’identifiant biométrique ou l’information biométrique d’une personne ou d’un client, à moins qu’elle n’ait d’abord : (1) informé par écrit le sujet ou son représentant légal que l’identifiant biométrique ou l’information biométrique est collecté ou stocké ; (2) informé par écrit le sujet ou son représentant légal de l’objectif spécifique et de la durée pour laquelle l’identifiant biométrique ou l’information biométrique est collecté, stocké et utilisé ; et (3) reçu une décharge écrite signée par le sujet de l’identifiant biométrique ou de l’information biométrique ou son représentant légal ».

La BIPA reconnaît que « [l]es données biométriques sont différentes des autres identifiants uniques utilisés pour accéder aux données financières ou à d’autres informations sensibles » car elles sont « biologiquement uniques » à un individu et ne peuvent jamais être modifiées si leur intégrité est compromise. L’Assemblée législative de l’Illinois a décrit l’objectif de la législation comme étant de « servir le bien-être, la sécurité et la sûreté du public en réglementant la collecte, l’utilisation, la sauvegarde, la manipulation, le stockage, la conservation et la destruction des identifiants et des informations biométriques ».

Facebook a déposé une demande de rejet de la plainte, arguant que les utilisateurs n’ont pas prouvé l’existence d’un préjudice de fait.

Le tribunal de district a certifié la classe et a rejeté la requête de Facebook. Facebook a fait appel de la décision de la Cour de district auprès de la Cour d’appel des États-Unis pour le neuvième circuit.


Aperçu des Décisions

Le juge Ikuta a rendu l’arrêt pour les trois juges. La question principale devant la Cour était de savoir si la technologie de reconnaissance faciale de Facebook violait les sections 15(a) et 15(b) de la BIPA et le droit à la vie privée des utilisateurs. Il s’agissait de déterminer si la « violation des exigences légales équivalait à une violation de leurs droits substantiels à la vie privée » [p. 13].

Les utilisateurs ont fait valoir que Facebook avait violé les articles 15(a) et 15(b) de la BIPA et le droit à la vie privée des plaignants.

Facebook a fait valoir que les utilisateurs ont décrit des violations de procédure dans la plainte et n’ont pas fait état d’un préjudice de fait.

La Cour a expliqué qu’elle doit appliquer une approche en deux étapes dans des cas comme celui-ci, à savoir déterminer s’il y a « une atteinte à un intérêt juridiquement protégé qui est (a) concrète et caractérisée ; et (b) réelle ou imminente, et non conjecturale ou hypothétique » [p. 10].

La Cour a examiné l’histoire du droit à la vie privée, notant que les tribunaux ont reconnu pour la première fois ce droit en common law après que Samuel D. Warren et Louis D. Brandeis aient publié un article intitulé « The Right to Privacy » dans la Harvard Law Review en 1890. Elle ajoute que les arrêts de la Cour suprême dans les affaires U.S. Dep’t of Justice c. Reporters Comm. for Freedom of the Press, 489 U.S. 749, 763 & n. 15 (1989) et Cox Broadcasting Corp. c. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469, 488 (1975) ont reconnu ces « racines de common law du droit à la vie privée » [p. 15]. Cependant, la Cour a souligné que « [c]es droits à la vie privée en common law sont imbriqués dans des domaines de la vie privée protégés par la Constitution » et a fait référence aux affaires Gibson c. Fla. Legislative Investigation Comm., 372 U.S. 539, 569 n.7 (1963) et Kyllo c. United States, 9th Cir. 533 U.S. 27 (2001), dans lesquelles il a été jugé que le droit à la vie privée faisait partie des protections constitutionnelles prévues par le premier amendement (droit à la liberté d’expression) et le quatrième amendement (interdiction des perquisitions et des saisies abusives). En ce qui concerne le quatrième amendement, la Cour a noté que la jurisprudence de la Cour suprême « reconnaît que les progrès de la technologie peuvent accroître le potentiel d’intrusions abusives dans la vie privée » [p. 16].

La Cour a décrit les menaces que représente la technologie de reconnaissance faciale de Facebook pour la vie privée et a noté que cette technologie permettait actuellement à Facebook d’identifier des utilisateurs individuels de Facebook, leur localisation et leurs amis, et qu’à l’avenir, elle pourrait permettre l’identification de personnes à partir de photographies de surveillance. La Cour a conclu que « le développement d’un modèle de visage à l’aide de la technologie de reconnaissance faciale sans consentement (comme il est allégué en l’espèce) porte atteinte aux activités privées et aux intérêts concrets des individus » [p. 17]. La Cour a noté qu’en adoptant la BIPA, l’Assemblée générale de l’Illinois avait reconnu les menaces que les données biométriques faisaient peser sur la vie privée et que, dans l’affaire Rosenbach c. Six Flags Entertainment Corp, IL 123186 (2019), la Cour suprême de l’Illinois avait conclu que l’objectif de la BIPA était de protéger la vie privée biométrique [p. 17-18]. L’affaire Rosenbach a également établi qu’un individu pouvait subir un préjudice en raison de la violation de la BIPA lorsqu’une entité privée ne respecte pas ses obligations en vertu de l’article 15, car cette violation entraîne une atteinte aux droits des individus.

En conséquence, la Cour a estimé que les dispositions de la BIPA protègent les intérêts concrets et la vie privée des individus et « pas seulement les droits procéduraux » [p. 18].

En évaluant la deuxième question à savoir « si les violations procédurales spécifiques alléguées en l’espèce portent effectivement atteinte, ou présentent un risque matériel d’atteinte, à ces intérêts », la Cour a fait référence à l’affaire Rosenbach en notant que les dispositions de la BIPA sont essentielles pour protéger le droit à la vie privée dans un monde numérique. La Cour a souligné que la BIPA protège la vie privée biométrique et que la collecte de ces données par Facebook viole « nécessairement » le « droit substantiel à la vie privée » des utilisateurs [p. 19].

Par conséquent, la Cour a jugé que les utilisateurs avaient invoqué un « préjudice concret et caractérisé » [p. 20].

La Cour a également conclu que le tribunal de district avait eu raison d’autoriser le recours collectif.


Direction De La Décision

Info Rapide

La direction de la décision indique si la décision élargit ou réduit l'expression sur la base d'une analyse de l'affaire.

élargit l'expression

La Cour a reconnu la protection de la vie privée biométrique en vertu de la loi, et a affirmé que l’atteinte à cette protection statutaire est suffisante pour conclure à une violation du droit à la vie privée.

Perspective Globale

Info Rapide

La perspective globale montre comment la décision de la Cour a été influencée par les normes d'une ou de plusieurs régions.

Tableau Des Autorités

Normes, droit ou jurisprudence nationales

Importance du Cas

Info Rapide

L'importance du cas fait référence à l'influence du cas et à la manière dont son importance évolue dans le temps.

La décision établit un précédent contraignant ou persuasif dans sa juridiction.

Documents Officiels du Cas

Pièces Jointes:

Vous avez des commentaires?

Faites-nous savoir si vous remarquez des erreurs ou si l'analyse de cas doit être révisée.

Envoyer un Retour D'information

2022 GLOBAL FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION PRIZES: NOMINATIONS NOW OPEN!

Recognize a Significant Legal Ruling or Excellence in Legal Services which advance a global understanding of freedom of expression and nominate here or learn more about the prizes.

Global Freedom of Expression

Patel v. Facebook

Closed Expands Expression

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Non-verbal Expression
  • Date of Decision
    August 8, 2019
  • Outcome
    Affirmed Lower Court
  • Case Number
    18-15982
  • Region & Country
    United States, North America
  • Judicial Body
    Appellate Court
  • Type of Law
    Civil Law
  • Themes
    Privacy, Data Protection and Retention
  • Tags
    Privacy, Biometric Data, Social Media, Facebook, Facial Recognition

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

The United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit held that facial-recognition technology used to create face templates without prior consent invades individuals’ interests and privacy. In 2010, Facebook started using facial-recognition technology to develop its Tag Suggestions feature without the users’ prior written consent and without a retention schedule of the biometric information. Three Facebook users in Illinois filed a complaint in 2015, alleging that Facebook´s facial-recognition technology violated the Illinois Biometric Information Privacy Act. The Court affirmed the decision of the United States District Court for the Northern District of California, confirming that Facebook´s facial-recognition technology affected users´ privacy and personal affairs, and noted the impact technological advances may have on privacy.


Facts

In 2010, Facebook implemented a new feature, Tag Suggestions, that used facial recognition technology to identify individuals in photographs uploaded by a user who had enabled the Tag Suggestions function. This feature allowed for automatic tagging of other users in photographs uploaded onto Facebook: it went beyond the original tagging which was manual and allowed a user to identify other users in their photographs, with a link to those users’ profiles. The technology Facebook applied scanned photographs when they had been uploaded and extracted “the various geometric data points that make a face unique, such as the distance between the eyes, nose, and ears, to create a face signature or map”, compared that “map” to templates of users’ faces saved in its databases and then suggested tagging that particular user in the photograph.

In August 2015, three Facebook users living in Illinois, U.S., Nimesh Patel, Adam Pezen and Carlo Licata, acting as class representatives, filed an operative complaint against Facebook, alleging that Facebook´s facial-recognition technology violated the Illinois Biometric Information Privacy Act (BIPA). Patel, Pezen and Licata had been Facebook users since 2008, 2005 and 2009 respectively. The BIPA had been adopted in 2008 and defines a “biometric identifier” as including “a “scan of hand or face geometry” [p. 8]

The users argued that Facebook violated sections 15(a) and 15(b) of the BIPA because it collected and used users´ biometric information, specifically their face templates, without their prior written consent to develop the Tag Suggestions feature. They also argued that Facebook violated the BIPA because it did not have a retention schedule for the destruction of biometric identifiers.

Section 15(a) states: “A private entity in possession of biometric identifiers or biometric information must develop a written policy, made available to the public, establishing a retention schedule and guidelines for permanently destroying biometric identifiers and biometric information when the initial purpose for collecting or obtaining such identifiers or information has been satisfied or within 3 years of the individual’s last interaction with the private entity, whichever occurs first. Absent a valid warrant or subpoena issued by a court of competent jurisdiction, a private entity in possession of biometric identifiers or biometric information must comply with its established retention schedule and destruction guidelines.”

Section 15(b) states: No private entity may collect, capture, purchase, receive through trade, or otherwise obtain a person’s or a customer’s biometric identifier or biometric information, unless it first: (1) informs the subject or the subject’s legally authorized representative in writing that a biometric identifier or biometric information is being collected or stored; (2) informs the subject or the subject’s legally authorized representative in writing of the specific purpose and length of term for which a biometric identifier or biometric information is being collected, stored, and used; and (3) receives a written release executed by the subject of the biometric identifier or biometric information or the subject’s legally authorized representative.

The BIPA acknowledged that “[b]iometrics are unlike other unique identifiers that are used to access finances or other sensitive information” because they were “biologically unique” to an individual and could never be changed if their integrity was compromised. The Illinois Legislature described the purpose of the legislation as being that “[t]he public welfare, security, and safety will be served by regulating the collection, use, safeguarding, handling, storage, retention, and destruction of biometric identifiers and information”.

Facebook filed a motion to dismiss the complaint arguing that the users did not prove the existence of an injury-in-fact.

The District Court certified the class and denied Facebook´s motion. Facebook appealed the District Court´s decision to the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.


Decision Overview

Judge Ikuta delivered the judgment for the three-judge bench. The main issue before the Court was whether Facebook’s facial-recognition technology violated sections 15(a) and 15(b) of the BIPA and the users’ right to privacy. The issue was whether the “violation of statutory requirements amounted to a violation of their substantive privacy rights” [p. 13].

The users argued that Facebook violated sections 15(a) and 15(b) of the BIPA and the plaintiffs´ privacy rights.

Facebook argued that the users described procedural violations in the complaint and did not allege an injury-in-fact.

The Court explained that it must apply a two-step approach in cases like these, namely, to determine whether there is “an invasion of a legally protected interest which is (a) concrete and particularized; and (b) actual or imminent, not conjectural or hypothetical” [p. 10].

The Court examined the history of the right to privacy, noting that courts first recognized the common law right after Samuel D. Warren and Louis D. Brandeis published an article, “The Right to Privacy” in the Harvard Law Review in 1890. It added that the Supreme Court cases of U.S. Dep’t of Justice v. Reporters Comm. for Freedom of the Press, 489 U.S. 749, 763 & n. 15 (1989) and Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469, 488 (1975) accepted those “common law roots of the right to privacy” [p. 15]. However, the Court stressed that “[t]hese common law privacy rights are intertwined with constitutionally protected zones of privacy” and referred to the cases of Gibson v. Fla. Legislative Investigation Comm., 372 U.S. 539, 569 n.7 (1963) and Kyllo v. United States, 9th Cir. 533 U.S. 27 (2001) which had held that the right to privacy formed part of the constitutional protections under the First Amendment (the right to freedom of expression) and the Fourth Amendment (the prohibition of unreasonable searches and seizures). In respect of the Fourth Amendment, the Court noted that the Supreme Court’s jurisprudence “recognized that advances in technology can increase the potential for unreasonable intrusions into personal privacy” [p. 16].

The Court described the threats to privacy posed by Facebook’s facial recognition technology and noted that the technology currently allowed Facebook to identify individual Facebook users, their locations and their friends, and that in future this could enable the identification of individuals from surveillance photographs. The Court concluded that the “development of a face template using facial-recognition technology without consent (as alleged here) invades an individual’s private affairs and concrete interests” [p. 17]. The Court noted that, when adopting the BIPA, the Illinois General Assembly had recognized the threats to privacy biometric data posed and that, in the case of Rosenbach v. Six Flags Entertainment Corp., IL 123186 (2019 the Illinois Supreme Court had found that the BIPA’s purpose was to protect biometric privacy [p. 17-18]. The Rosenbach case also established that an individual could suffer harm due to the violation of BIPA when a private entity does not comply with its obligations under section 15 because that violation causes an invasion of the individuals’ rights.

Accordingly, the Court held that the BIPA provisions protect individuals´ concrete interests and privacy and “not merely procedural rights” [p. 18].

In assessing the second question – “whether the specific procedural violations alleged in this case actually harm, or present a material risk of harm to, such interests” – the Court referred to the Rosenbach case in noting that the BIPA provisions are essential to protect privacy rights in a digital world. The Court emphasized that the BIPA protects biometric privacy, Facebook’s collection of that data “necessarily” violates the users’ “substantive privacy rights” [p. 19].

Accordingly, the Court held that the users had alleged a “concrete and particularized harm” [p. 20].

The Court also held that the District Court was correct in certifying the class action.


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Expands Expression

The Court recognized the protection of biometric privacy under the statute, and affirmed that infringement of that statutory protection is sufficient to find a violation of the right to privacy.

Global Perspective

Quick Info

Global Perspective demonstrates how the court’s decision was influenced by standards from one or many regions.

Table of Authorities

National standards, law or jurisprudence

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

Official Case Documents

Attachments:

Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback