Kyagulanyi c. Le Procureur Général

Affaire Résolue élargit l'expression

Key Details

  • Mode D'expression
    Discours public
  • Date de la Décision
    janvier 23, 2021
  • Résultat
    Motion accordée
  • Numéro de Cas
    Misc. Cause No. 16 of 2021
  • Région et Pays
    Ouganda, Afrique
  • Organe Judiciaire
    Tribunal de première instance
  • Type de Loi
    Droit Pénal
  • thèmes
    Expression politique
  • Mots-Cles
    Discours politique, élections, COVID-19

Ce cas est disponible dans d'autres langues:    Vue en: English    Vue en: Español

Analyse de Cas

Résumé du Cas et Résultat

La Haute Cour ougandaise a jugé que l’assignation d’un candidat à la présidence à son domicile de la part des forces de sécurité constituait une détention illégale et a ordonné la levée de l’assignation. Le jour des élections présidentielles en Ouganda, des membres de la police et de l’armée ougandaise ont encerclé le domicile d’un candidat à la présidence et ont affirmé qu’il était nécessaire de le maintenir, lui et les membres de sa famille, à domicile pour neutraliser des menaces pour la sécurité. Ayant été empêchés de le rencontrer, les avocats du candidat ont présenté devant la Haute Cour une demande en habeas corpus alléguant que son droit à la liberté de la personne avait était violé. Neuf jours après les élections, la Cour a estimé que le maintien à domicile du candidat constituait une détention et que n’ayant pas été conduit à un poste de police ou n‘ayant pas comparu devant un juge, sa détention devient illégale et a ainsi ordonné la levée des restrictions à ses déplacements et le rétablissement de sa liberté individuelle.

Columbia Global Freedom of Expression pense que cette affaire peut avoir des motivations politiques et bien qu’elle ne soit pas légalement en rapport avec la liberté d’expression, elle constitue une violation de ces droits.

 


Les Faits

En novembre 2020, Robert Kyagulanyi – plus connu sous le nom de Bobi Wine, et candidat à la présidence contre le sortant Yoweri Museveni – a été arrêté et accusé d’avoir enfreint les règles Covid-19 relatives aux rassemblements pendant sa campagne pour l’élection présidentielle. Il a été libéré le 20 novembre 2020 avec des conditions strictes de mise en liberté sous caution, vraisemblablement conformes aux protocoles Covid-19, notamment en limitant les rassemblements organisés dans le cadre de sa campagne à 200 personnes et en exigeant que de telles réunions prennent fin à 18h00.

Le 14 janvier 2021, l’Ouganda a tenu ses élections présidentielles. Après avoir voté, Kyagulanyi et sa femme, Barbra Kyagulanyi Itungo, sont rentrés chez eux pour découvrir leur domicile encerclé par des soldats et des policiers et le couple n’a pas été autorisé à quitter les lieux ni à entrer en contact avec les membres de leur famille, leurs avocats et médecins. Le 18 janvier 2021, cinq des avocats des Kyagulanyi ont été empêchés d’entrer chez le couple alors ce dernier avait appelé ses avocats par téléphone.

Geoffrey Turyamusiima, l’un des avocats et ami personnel des Kyagulanyis, s’est adressé au Tribunal en leur nom, notant qu’ils ne pouvaient se présenter en personne. Il a demandé une ordonnance d’habeas corpus exigeant que le procureur général, le chef de la Force de défense et l’inspecteur général de Police “présentent corporellement Kyagulanyi Sentamu Robert et Barbra Kyagulanyi Itungo ” devant la Cour [p. 1].


Aperçu des Décisions

Le juge Michael Elubu a rendu le jugement de la Haute Cour. La Cour devait déterminer si le droit à la liberté individuelle des Kyagulanyi était violé par l’action de l’État et si elle devait ou non accorder l’habeas corpus.

Le chef du service juridique au Ministère de la défense et des anciens combattants a estimé que les Kyagulanyi n’étaient “pas sous la garde de la Force de défense populaire ougandaise ” [p. 5]. L’inspecteur général adjoint de la Police a fait valoir que Robert Kyagulanyi n’était  » pas placé en détention … [il] se trouvait à domicile avec des membres de la police pour lui assurer la protection nécessaire” et que les déplacements des Kyagulanyi n’avaient aucunement été restreints [p. 5]. L’inspecteur général adjoint a fait valoir que Kyagulanyi avait violé ses conditions de libération sous caution en organisant des rassemblements le 23 novembre 2020, le 1er et le 8 décembre 2020 avec un nombre de participants qui a dépassé la limite prescrite de 200 personnes. Il a ajouté qu’il y avait de sérieuses préoccupations en matière de sécurité compte tenu des déclarations faites par Kyagulanyi après les élections pour “faire de l’Ouganda un pays ingouvernable” et qu’il avait “dans le passé incité aux émeutes”. L’inspecteur général adjoint a décrit le comportement des forces de sécurité comme “une action préventive de la part de la Police ougandaise dans le but de neutraliser les menaces à la sécurité détectées par les organes de sécurité” et que les restrictions imposées aux mouvements de Kyagulanyi “sont dans l’intérêt de la protection de la vie et des biens” [p. 8]. Il a également nié que Kyagulanyi avait été empêché de voir ses avocats.

Les défendeurs ont également fait valoir que les Kyagulanyi n’étant pas détenus dans un “établissement gouvernemental désigné”, une ordonnance d’habeas corpus était inappropriée et que les déplacements de Barbra Kyagulanyi Itungo “n’ont été aucunement restreints ” [p. 12].

La Cour a jugé qu’il n’était pas possible de déterminer la nature de la détention des Kyagulanyi sans examiner les éléments de preuve et a donc rejeté l’argument de l’État selon lequel la procédure d’habeas corpus n’était pas appropriée et devait donc être rejetée de façon sommaire. En ce qui concerne le droit à la liberté de Barbra Kyagulanyi Itungo, la Cour a noté que l’État niait que ses mouvements avaient été restreints et a donc ordonné “le rétablissement immédiat de [sa] pleine liberté individuelle” [p. 12]. En évaluant les éléments de preuve, la Cour a estimé qu’il était clair que Kyagulanyi avait été « confiné “à son domicile et que – bien que les défendeurs aient soutenu que c’était pour sa sécurité – l’État “a admis que les mouvements du requérant avaient été restreints en le confinant à son domicile » [p. 14]. La Cour a cité la définition de la liberté dans Black Law Dictionary comme étant « l’absence de restrictions extérieures arbitraires ou injustifiées, en particulier de la part du gouvernement ” et a conclu que la liberté de Kyagulanyi avait été restreinte [p. 14]. En conséquence, elle a estimé que la Cour pouvait procéder à l’audience de recours en habeas corpus.

La Cour a ensuite examiné la justification de l’État selon laquelle la privation de liberté de Kyagulanyi était une “action préventive visant à protéger la vie et les biens” [p. 15]. L’article 24, chapitre 303 de la loi sur la police permet à un agent de police d’arrêter et de détenir une personne s’il a des “motifs raisonnables de croire” qu’une telle détention est nécessaire pour prévenir des blessures, des dommages à la propriété, une atteinte “à la morale dans un lieu public”, une “obstruction illégale à la circulation sur la voie publique” ou un “préjudice ou souffrance indue à un enfant ou à une autre personne vulnérable” [p. 15]. Toutefois, la loi sur la police exige de conduire toute personne arrêtée en vertu l’article 24 à un poste de police ou à un magistrat. La Cour a jugé que cette disposition ne s’appliquait donc pas parce que Kyagulanyi n’avait pas été arrêté ni conduit à un poste de police ni à un juge. En conséquence, la Cour a estimé que la privation de liberté ne pouvait constituer une “arrestation préventive” légale [p. 16].

La Cour a reconnu que “les questions plus pertinentes” sont les allégations selon lesquelles Kyagulanyi et son parti politique incitent à des émeutes et à l’insurrection et a noté “que ce sont des allégations sérieuses d’infractions graves  » [p. 16]. Néanmoins, la Cour a souligné que l’État devait suivre la “procédure prévue par la loi” et soit traduire Kyagulanyi en justice ou lever les restrictions. La Cour s’est référée à l’article 23 de la Constitution, qui traite des droits des personnes arrêtées et des détenus. L’article protège le droit à la liberté individuelle et stipule que toute arrestation ou détention ne peut se faire que dans un “lieu autorisé par la loi », et exige que toute personne arrêtée et détenue soit traduite devant un tribunal dans les 48 heures suivant son arrestation et qu’elle ait accès à des services médicaux et juridiques. Le paragraphe 9 de l’article 23 prévoit expressément le droit à une ordonnance d’habeas corpus.

La Cour s’est référée à l’affaire devant la Cour suprême Obbo c. le Procureur général no 2 de 2002, en soulignant que le principal objectif des droits consacrés par la Constitution est leur protection et que les limitations ne pouvaient constituer que des objectifs de second niveau, et ne sont admises que dans des “circonstances exceptionnelles” [p. 18]. La Cour a également mentionné l’affaire Kuteesa c. le procureur général (recours constitutionnel n° 46 de 2011) qui avait souligné que “la préservation de la liberté individuelle est si importante dans la Constitution que toute dérogation à celle-ci ne peut être que temporaire et non à durée indéfinie” [. 18-19].

En conséquence, la Cour a jugé que “la restriction indéfinie et continue et le maintien du requérant à domicile, sont illégaux” et que son droit à la liberté individuelle a donc été violé [p. 19]. La Cour a ordonné que les restrictions imposées à Kyagulanyi soient levées et que sa liberté individuelle soit rétablie et a également ordonné que Kyagulanyi se conforme à la réglementation Covid.

 


Direction De La Décision

Info Rapide

La direction de la décision indique si la décision élargit ou réduit l'expression sur la base d'une analyse de l'affaire.

élargit l'expression

Bien que ce jugement ait porté principalement sur le droit à la liberté individuelle, il a confirmé qu’un opposant politique ne peut être détenu sans procédure régulière et a ainsi élargi le droit à la liberté d’expression politique en Ouganda.

Perspective Globale

Info Rapide

La perspective globale montre comment la décision de la Cour a été influencée par les normes d'une ou de plusieurs régions.

Tableau Des Autorités

Normes, droit ou jurisprudence nationales

Importance du Cas

Info Rapide

L'importance du cas fait référence à l'influence du cas et à la manière dont son importance évolue dans le temps.

La décision établit un précédent contraignant ou persuasif dans sa juridiction.

Documents Officiels du Cas

Pièces Jointes:

Vous avez des commentaires?

Faites-nous savoir si vous remarquez des erreurs ou si l'analyse de cas doit être révisée.

Envoyer un Retour D'information

Global Freedom of Expression

Kyagulanyi v. Attorney General

Closed Expands Expression

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Public Speech
  • Date of Decision
    January 23, 2021
  • Outcome
    Motion Granted
  • Case Number
    Misc. Cause No. 16 of 2021
  • Region & Country
    Uganda, Africa
  • Judicial Body
    First Instance Court
  • Type of Law
    Criminal Law
  • Themes
    Political Expression
  • Tags
    Political speech, Elections, COVID-19

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

There is a Spanish language version of this case available.    View Spanish version

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

The Ugandan High Court ruled that the confinement of a presidential candidate to his home by security forces constituted unlawful detention and ordered that the confinement be lifted. On the day of the presidential elections in Uganda, members of the Ugandan police force and army surrounded one presidential candidate’s house, maintaining that containing him and his family to their home was necessary to neutralise security threats. Although being denied access to him, the candidate’s lawyers brought a habeas corpus application in the High Court, arguing that his right to personal liberty was being infringed. Nine days after the election, the Court held that the confinement constituted detention and that as the candidate had not been brought to a police station or a magistrate it was unlawful, and ordered that the restrictions on his movements be lifted and his personal liberty restored.

Columbia Global Freedom of Expression believes that this case may be politically motivated and although this case is not legally tied to freedom of expression, it constitutes an infringement of those rights.


Facts

In November 2020, Robert Kyagulanyi – better known as Bobi Wine, and standing as a presidential candidate against incumbent Yoweri Museveni – was arrested and charged with infringing the existing Covid-19 Rules on gatherings during his campaign for the presidential election. He was released on bail on November 20, 2020 with strict bail conditions, ostensibly in accordance with Covid-19 protocols, including limiting his campaign rallies to 200 people and requiring all campaign meetings to end by 18h00.

On January 14, 2021, Uganda held its presidential election. When Kyagulanyi and his wife, Barbra Kyagulanyi Itungo, returned home after casting their votes their house was surrounded by soldiers and police officers and the Kyagulanyis were not allowed to leave. They were also denied access to their family, lawyers and doctors. On January 18, 2021, five of the Kyagulanyi’s lawyers were denied access to the house after the Kyagulanyis had made a phone call to the lawyers.

Geoffrey Turyamusiima, one of the Kyagulanyis lawyers and personal friends, approached the Court on their behalf, noting that they were unable to swear to any affidavit on their own behalf.  He sought a writ of habeas corpus requiring that the Attorney General, the Chief of Defence Force and the Inspector General of Police “produce the bodies of Kyagulanyi Sentamu Robert and Barba Kyagulanyi Itungo” before the Court [p. 1].


Decision Overview

Judge Michael Elubu delivered the judgment of the High Court. The Court had to determine whether the Kyagulanyis’ right to personal liberty was infringed by the State’s action, and whether or not to grant the habeas corpus application.

The Chief of Legal Services in the Ministry of Defence and Veteran Affairs submitted that the Kyagulanyis were “not in the custody of the Uganda Peoples’ Defence Forces” [p. 5]. The Assistant Inspector General of Police submitted that Robert Kyagulanyi was “not under Police custody … [h]e is at his residence with police giving him the necessary protection” and that the Kyagulanyis’ movement had not been restricted in any way [p. 5]. The Assistant Inspector General argued that Kyagulanyi had breached his bail conditions by holding campaign rallies on November 23, 2020, and December 1 and 8, 2020 which had more than the stipulated 200 attendees. He added that there were serious security concerns given statements made by Kyagulanyi after the election to “make Uganda ungovernable” and that he had “in the past incited riots”. The Assistant Inspector General described the security forces’ conduct as being “preventative action by the Uganda Police Force with the aim of neutralising security threats that have been detected by the security organs” and that the restrictions on Kyagulanyi’s movement “are in the interest of protection of life and property” [p. 8]. He also denied that Kyagulanyi had been denied access to his lawyers.

The State respondents also submitted that as the Kyagulanyis were not being held in a “designated Government facility”, a habeas corpus application was inappropriate, and that Barbra Kyagulanyi Itungo’s movement “have not been restricted in any way” [p. 12].

The Court ruled that it was not possible to determine the nature of the Kyagulanyis’ detention without examining the evidence, and so rejected the State’s argument that this was not a proper habeas corpus matter and so should be summarily dismissed. In respect of Barbra Kyagulanyi Itungo’s right to liberty, the Court noted that the State denied that her movements had been restricted and therefore ordered “the immediate restoration of [her] full personal liberty” [p. 12].

In assessing the evidence, the Court held that it was clear that Kyagulanyi had been “confined” to his house and that – although they maintained that it was for his security – the State did “concede that the applicant’s movements have been restrained by confining him to his home” [p. 14]. The Court quoted the Black Law Dictionary’s definition of liberty as “[f]reedom from arbitrary or undue external restraint, esp. by a government” and concluded that Kyagulanyi’s liberty had been curtailed [p. 14]. Accordingly, it held that the Court could conduct the habeas corpus hearing.

The Court then examined the State’s justification that the deprivation of Kyagulanyi’s liberty was “preventative action to protect life and property” [p. 15]. Section 24 of the Police Act Cap 303 permits a police officer to arrest and detain a person if they have “reasonable cause to believe” that it is necessary to prevent physical injury, damage to property, an offence against “public decency in a public place”, “unlawful obstruction on a highway” or “harm or undue suffering to a child or other vulnerable person” [p. 15]. However, the Police Act requires that any person who is arrested under section 24 be taken to a police station or a magistrate. The Court held that this provision would therefore not apply as the State had not arrested Kyagulanyi and had not taken him to a police station or a magistrate. Accordingly, the Court held that the deprivation of liberty could not be a lawful “preventative arrest” [p. 16].

The Court acknowledged that “[t]he more pertinent questions” are the allegations that Kyagulanyi and his political party are inciting riots and insurrection and noted that “it is true these are all serious allegations of grave offences” [p. 16]. However, it stressed that the State should follow the “due process of the law” and either bring Kyagulanyi to trial or remove the restrictions. The Court referred to article 23 of the Constitution which addresses the rights of arrested and detained persons. The article protects the right to personal liberty and stipulates that any arrest and detention can only be in a “place authorised by law”, as well as requiring that any person who is arrested and detained must be brought before a court within 48 hours of arrest and that they be permitted access to medical and legal services. Article 23(9) expressly provides for the right to an order of habeas corpus.

The Court referred to the Supreme Court’s case of Obbo v. Attorney General No. 2 of 2002, in emphasizing that the primary purpose of constitutionally-protected rights is their protection and that limitations will only ever be the secondary purpose, permitted only in “exceptional circumstances” [p. 18]. It also mentioned the Kuteesa v. Attorney General Const. Petition. No. 46 of 2011 case which had highlighted that “the preservation of personal liberty is so crucial in the Constitution that any derogation from it … is just temporary and not indefinite” [. 18-19].

Accordingly, the Court held that “the continued indefinite restriction and confined restriction of the Applicant, to his home, is unlawful” and that his right to personal liberty had therefore been infringed [p. 19]. The Court ordered that the restrictions on Kyagulanyi be lifted and that his personal liberty be restored. The Court also ordered that Kyagulanyi comply with Covid regulations.


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Expands Expression

Although this judgment focused predominantly on the right to personal liberty, it confirmed that a political opponent cannot be detained without due process and so expands the right to freedom of political expression in Uganda.

Global Perspective

Quick Info

Global Perspective demonstrates how the court’s decision was influenced by standards from one or many regions.

Table of Authorities

National standards, law or jurisprudence

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

Official Case Documents

Attachments:

Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback