Kiliç c. Turquie

Affaire Résolue élargit l'expression

Key Details

  • Mode D'expression
    Presse / Journaux
  • Date de la Décision
    mars 28, 2000
  • Résultat
    CEDH, Violation de l’article 2
  • Numéro de Cas
    22492/93
  • Région et Pays
    Turquie, Europe et asie centrale
  • Organe Judiciaire
    Cour Européenne des droits de l’homme (CEDH)
  • Type de Loi
    Droit international/régional des droits de l'homme
  • thèmes
    Violence contre les orateurs / Impunité

Ce cas est disponible dans d'autres langues:    Vue en: English    Vue en: Español    Vue en: العربية

Analyse de Cas

Résumé du Cas et Résultat

La première section de la Cour européenne des droits de lʼhomme (« la Cour ») a conclu que les autorités turques « nʼont pas pris les mesures raisonnables à leur disposition pour prévenir un risque réel et immédiat » pour la vie dʼun journaliste (le frère du requérant) travaillant pour le quotidien Özgür Gündem à Şanlıurfa. La Cour a également estimé que les autorités nʼont pas mené dʼenquête effective sur les circonstances de sa mort. Le journaliste a été tué en 1993, malgré ses demandes urgentes de mesures de protection en raison dʼattaques et de meurtres visant des personnes travaillant pour Özgür Gündem. Le requérant a fait valoir que les autorités turques ont violé (entre autres) lʼarticle 2 de la Convention européenne des droits de lʼhomme (CEDH), qui consacre le droit à la vie, et quʼelles nʼont pas mené dʼenquête effective sur la mort de son frère. La Cour a considéré que les autorités avaient connaissance du risque spécifique, réel et immédiat auquel le journaliste était confronté. Le gouvernement nʼa pas pris les mesures que lʼon pouvait raisonnablement attendre de celui-ci afin d’éviter ce risque et nʼa donc pas rempli son obligation positive au titre des articles 2 et 13 de la CEDH. En outre, le dossier dʼenquête était inactif et aucune enquête nʼa été menée sur la possibilité que le journaliste ait été ciblé en raison de son travail pour Özgür Gündem. Cela a notamment rendu lʼenquête infructueuse.


Les Faits

Le requérant était le frère de Kemal Kiliç. Kemal Kiliç était journaliste et travaillait pour le quotidien Özgür Gündem, à l’agence de Şanlıurfa. Özgür Gündem est un média qui cherche à refléter lʼopinion des Kurdes turcs contre lequel de nombreuses poursuites ont été engagées pour diffusion de la propagande séparatiste et de déclarations du PKK (Parti des travailleurs du Kurdistan). Des personnes travaillant pour Özgür Gündem, notamment des personnes impliquées dans la vente et la distribution du journal, ont reçu des menaces de mort et ont été victimes dʼattaques et dʼassassinats. C’est la raison pour laquelle Kemal Kiliç a envoyé un communiqué de presse au gouverneur de Şanlıurfa, demandant que des mesures soient prises pour protéger les personnes travaillant à l’agence de Şanlıurfa d’Özgür Gündem. Cette demande a été déclinée, car le bureau du gouverneur a affirmé quʼaucune attaque ou menace de ce type nʼavait eu lieu. Kemal Kiliç a publié un communiqué de presse indiquant que les attaques se poursuivaient malgré les demandes de mesures urgentes.

Il a été accusé dʼavoir insulté le gouverneur et a été placé en détention. Il a été libéré le même jour. Le 18 février 1993, Kemal Kiliç a été abattu et retrouvé mort avec des blessures par balle à la tête. Sa bouche était recouverte de ruban adhésif dʼemballage et il avait une corde autour du cou. Un morceau de papier avec les lettres U et Y, taché de sang, a également été trouvé. L’arme utilisée s’avère identique à celle utilisée plus tôt dans la journée lors dʼune attaque armée contre un magasin. Hüseyin Güney, lʼauteur (présumé) de lʼattaque armée, a été accusé du meurtre de Kemal Kiliç. Cependant, Güney a nié toute implication dans les infractions, y compris le meurtre. Güney a finalement été condamné pour lʼattaque armée et pour avoir été membre dʼune organisation séparatiste. Selon le tribunal national, il ne peut être tenu responsable dʼaucune autre infraction. Le procureur général du tribunal turc a ouvert une enquête sur le meurtre de Kemal Kiliç, et a demandé au commandement de la gendarmerie de Şanlıurfa de lui faire un rapport tous les trois mois sur les preuves obtenues concernant son meurtre.

Lʼhomicide est interdit en Turquie en vertu des articles 448 et 455 du code de procédure pénale turc. Les obligations des autorités concernant la conduite dʼune enquête préliminaire sont définies dans les articles 151 à 153 du Code de procédure pénale.


Aperçu des Décisions

La Cour devait principalement déterminer si les autorités turques avaient violé le droit à la vie prévu aux articles 2 et 13 de la CEDH en ne prévoyant pas de mesures de protection pour éviter le risque réel et immédiat pour la vie de Kemal Kiliç et en ne menant pas dʼenquête effective sur les circonstances de son décès.

Le requérant a fait valoir que lʼÉtat doit être tenu responsable de la mort de son frère, car il nʼa pas pris de mesures de protection et nʼa pas mené dʼenquête effective sur sa mort. Il a invoqué lʼarticle 2 de la CEDH [§ 54]. Le requérant se réfère au rapport Susurluk « qui étaye fortement les allégations selon lesquelles des attaques illégales ont été menées avec le soutien et au su des autorités » [§ 56]. Le rapport Susurluk a été produit à la demande du Premier ministre turc, dans lequel sont décrits « lʼacquiescement et la connivence » des autorités de lʼÉtat dans des activités illégales. Le requérant a également affirmé que « les procureurs nʼétaient pas susceptibles de mener des enquêtes efficaces sur les allégations contre les forces de sécurité » [§ 56]. Le requérant a ainsi souligné un manque dʼindépendance dans la procédure. Concernant lʼenquête, le requérant a fait notamment valoir que les autorités ont pris peu de mesures pour trouver les auteurs du crime et nʼont pas élargi lʼenquête pour examiner si le meurtre était lié à la fonction journalistique de son frère chez Özgür Gündem. Le requérant a déclaré que le procès de Güney, alors même quʼil nʼexistait aucune preuve le liant au meurtre, a eu pour « effet pratique de clore lʼenquête » sur la mort de son frère [§§ 56-58].

Le Gouvernement a déclaré que le rapport Susurluk nʼavait « aucune valeur probante et ne pouvait être pris en compte pour évaluer la situation dans le sud-est de la Turquie » [§ 59]. Les autorités ont en outre fait valoir que Kemal Kiliç ne courait aucun risque particulier de violence illégale. En raison du climat dʼintimidation et de violence généralisée qui régnait alors, « personne dans la société ne pouvait se sentir en sécurité à l’époque ». « On aurait pu, par exemple, dire que tous les journalistes étaient menacés, au delà du cas particulier que représente Kemal Kiliç » [§ 60]. Le Gouvernement a également affirmé que lʼenquête sur le meurtre avait été menée avec précision et professionnalisme et quʼil avait poursuivi lʼenquête après la condamnation de Güney.

La Cour a évalué lʼaffaire comme suit.

Article 2

La Cour a déclaré que lʼarticle 2 exige non seulement à lʼÉtat de « sʼabstenir dʼôter intentionnellement et illégalement la vie » [§. 62], mais implique également que les États prennent les mesures appropriées pour protéger la vie des personnes relevant de leurs juridictions respectives. Dans des circonstances appropriées, cette obligation positive sʼétend à la prise de « mesures opérationnelles préventives pour protéger un individu dont la vie est menacée par les actes criminels dʼun autre individu » [§ 62]. Cette éventuelle obligation ne doit pas imposer une « charge impossible ou disproportionnée aux autorités » [§ 63]. En lʼespèce, il nʼa pas pu être établi que Kemal Kiliç ait été tué par des agents de lʼÉtat ou des personnes agissant pour leur compte. La question qui reste à déterminer est de savoir si les autorités ont manqué à leur obligation positive de protéger Kiliç dʼun risque encouru pour sa vie.

La Cour a rappelé que Kemal Kiliç a demandé au gouverneur de prendre des mesures de protection, deux mois avant dʼêtre abattu. Sa pétition montrait quʼil considérait que lui-même et dʼautres personnes étaient en danger en raison de leur travail pour Özgür Gündem. Les vendeurs et distributeurs de ce journal avaient été menacés et attaqués, selon Kemal Kiliç. Le Gouvernement a affirmé que Kiliç ne courait aucun risque particulier. Or, la Cour a précédemment constaté début 1993, les autorités avaient connaissance du fait que les personnes travaillant pour Özgür Gündem craignaient dʼêtre « victimes dʼune campagne concertée » tolérée, voire approuvée, par des agents de lʼÉtat [§ 66]. Un nombre important dʼinfractions ont été commises au cours desquelles des journalistes ont été tués et des kiosques à journaux et des distributeurs de journaux ont été attaqués. La Cour a alors estimé que Kemal Kiliç courait un risque particulier durant cette période. En outre, ce risque aurait dû être considéré comme réel et immédiat. Les autorités étaient conscientes de ce risque, et Kemal Kiliç avait demandé des mesures de protection. Le rapport Susurluk confirme que des agents de lʼÉtat ont pu être impliqués dans plusieurs incidents concernant des individus qui étaient « perçus comme agissant contre les intérêts de lʼÉtat » [§ 68].

Différentes circonstances identifiées ont amené la Cour à conclure que la protection offerte par le droit pénal dans la région du sud-est était compromise. Des infractions ont été commises par des agents de lʼÉtat et la compétence dʼenquêter sur ces infractions a été retirée au procureur général et transférée aux conseils administratifs. Ces enquêtes nʼétaient pas indépendantes, car les conseils administratifs étaient sous les ordres du gouverneur, qui était responsable des forces de sécurité dont la conduite faisait lʼobjet de lʼenquête. En outre, les cas examinés par les organes de la CEDH ont donné lieu à une série de conclusions selon lesquelles les autorités nʼont pas enquêté sur les allégations dʼactes répréhensibles commis par les forces de sécurité. En outre, les incidents ont souvent été attribués au PKK avec des preuves minimales ou inexistantes [§ 73]. Les cours de sécurité nationale, qui sont compétentes pour les crimes terroristes, ont été jugées par la Cour dans plusieurs arrêts comme manquant dʼindépendance.

Le Gouvernement conteste quʼil n’« aurait pu prendre des mesures effectives » pour protéger Kiliç [§ 76]. La Cour a constaté à cet égard quʼun large éventail de mesures était à la disposition des autorités, rejetant ainsi cet argument. La Cour a conclu qu’il avait été porté atteinte à lʼarticle 2 de la CEDH.

Concernant le caractère insuffisant allégué de lʼenquête, la Cour a rappelé que les autorités de lʼÉtat sont tenues de mener une enquête officielle effective dans les cas où des personnes ont été tuées par lʼusage de la force. La Cour a observé quʼil nʼétait pas apparent que la Cour de sécurité nationale ait pris des mesures visant à poursuivre lʼenquête après la condamnation de Güney et que le dossier était donc inactif, malgré l’absence de preuve directe le liant au meurtre. La Cour remarque en outre que lʼenquête nʼa pas comporté dʼinvestigations concernant une éventuelle prise pour cible de Kiliç en raison de son travail de journaliste pour Özgür Gündem. Le fait que lʼaffaire ait été transférée au procureur de la Cour de sécurité nationale « indique quʼelle était considérée comme un crime séparatiste » [§ 82]. En raison de la portée limitée et de la courte durée de lʼenquête, la Cour a conclu quʼil nʼy avait pas eu dʼenquête effective sur la mort de Kemal Kiliç. Il y a donc bien eu atteinte à lʼarticle 2 de la CEDH.

Article 13

Le requérant a fait valoir quʼil nʼavait pas disposé dʼun recours effectif devant une autorité nationale, ainsi que le prévoit lʼarticle 13 de la CEDH.

Selon la Cour, lʼarticle 13 de la CEDH exige quʼun recours interne soit prévu pour traiter les « plaintes défendables » au titre de la Convention [§ 91]. La Cour observe que le frère du requérant a été victime dʼun homicide illégal et quʼil peut donc être considéré comme ayant un tel « grief défendable » [§ 92]. Pour les raisons évoquées précédemment, il nʼy a pas eu dʼenquête criminelle effective. La Cour a estimé que le requérant sʼétait vu refuser un recours effectif concernant le décès de son frère. Par conséquent, lʼarticle 13 de la CEDH a été violé.

Articles 10 et 14

Concernant la violation alléguée des articles 10 et 14 de la CEDH, la Cour a conclu que ces griefs découlaient des mêmes faits que ceux examinés sous lʼangle des articles 2 et 13 de la CEDH, et quʼil nʼétait donc pasnécessaire dʼexaminer ces griefs séparément.

Pratique alléguée des autorités

Le requérant a affirmé que la violation des articles 2 et 10 était une « pratique officiellement tolérée » en Turquie. « Eu égard à ses conclusions sous lʼangle des articles 2 et 13 ci-dessus, la Cour [nʼa] pas jugé nécessaire de déterminer si les manquements relevés en lʼespèce [faisaient] partie dʼune pratique adoptée par les autorités » [§ 95].

Dommages et intérêts

La Cour nʼa accordé aucun dommage pécuniaire, car les montants réclamés ne représentaient pas les pertes effectivement subies par Kemal Kiliç avant son décès, ou par le requérant après le décès de son frère [§ 102].

La Cour a accordé 15 000 GBP (environ 22 622 USD à lʼépoque) de dommages-intérêts non pécuniaires au nom du frère du requérant, qui doivent être détenus par le requérant pour les héritiers de son frère. La Cour a accordé au requérant un montant de 2 500 GBP (environ 3 770 USD à lʼépoque) à titre de dommages non pécuniaires.


Direction De La Décision

Info Rapide

La direction de la décision indique si la décision élargit ou réduit l'expression sur la base d'une analyse de l'affaire.

élargit l'expression

Élargit la liberté dʼexpression en réaffirmant que les États ont lʼobligation positive de protéger les individus contre les menaces à leur vie, en particulier les journalistes qui sont dans une position vulnérable lorsquʼils expriment des points de vue critiques.

Perspective Globale

Info Rapide

La perspective globale montre comment la décision de la Cour a été influencée par les normes d'une ou de plusieurs régions.

Tableau Des Autorités

Lois internationale et/ou régionale connexe

Importance du Cas

Info Rapide

L'importance du cas fait référence à l'influence du cas et à la manière dont son importance évolue dans le temps.

La décision établit un précédent contraignant ou persuasif dans sa juridiction.

La décision a été citée dans:

Documents Officiels du Cas

Vous avez des commentaires?

Faites-nous savoir si vous remarquez des erreurs ou si l'analyse de cas doit être révisée.

Envoyer un Retour D'information

Global Freedom of Expression

Kiliç v. Turkey

Closed Expands Expression

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Press / Newspapers
  • Date of Decision
    March 28, 2000
  • Outcome
    ECtHR, Article 2 Violation
  • Case Number
    22492/93
  • Region & Country
    Turkey, Europe and Central Asia
  • Judicial Body
    European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR)
  • Type of Law
    International/Regional Human Rights Law
  • Themes
    Violence Against Speakers / Impunity
  • Tags
    Violence

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

The First Section of the European Court of Human Rights (“the Court”) concluded that the Turkish authorities “failed to take reasonable measures available to them to prevent a real and immediate risk” to the life of a journalist (the applicant’s brother) working for the daily newspaper Özgür Gündem in Şanlıurfa. The Court also found that the authorities failed to carry out an effective investigation into the circumstances surrounding his death. The journalist was killed in 1993, despite his urgent requests for protective measures because of attacks and killings aimed at persons working for Özgür Gündem. The applicant argued that the Turkish authorities violated (inter alia) Article 2 of the European Convention of Human Rights (ECHR), which lays down the right to life, and that they did not carry out an effective investigation into the death of his brother. The Court considered that the authorities were aware of the particular and real and immediate risk to his life that the journalist was facing. The government did not take the measures that could be reasonably expected of them to avoid this risk and thus did not fulfill its positive obligation under Article 2 ECHR. Moreover, the investigation file had an inactive status and no inquiries were made as to the possible targeting of the journalist because of his work for Özgür Gündem. This rendered the investigation ineffective, together with other circumstances.


Facts

The applicant was Kemal Kiliç’s brother. Kemal Kiliç was a journalist working for the daily newspaper Özgür Gündem in the Şanlıurfa office. Özgür Gündem sought to reflect Turkish Kurdish opinion and numerous prosecutions had been brought against it because it was accused of disseminating separatist propaganda and declarations of the PKK (Workers’ Party of Kurdistan). Persons working for Özgür Gündem, especially persons involved in the sale and distribution of the newspaper, had received death threats and were victims of attacks and killings. For that reason, Kemal Kiliç sent a press release to the governor of Şanlıurfa, requesting that measures be taken to safeguard the persons working for Özgür Gündem in the Şanlıurfa office. This request was refused, because the governor’s office asserted that no such attacks or threats had taken place. Kemal Kiliç published a press release stating that attacks were continuing despite urgent requests for measures. He was charged with insulting the governor and was taken into detention. He was released the same day. On 18 February 1993, Kemal Kiliç was shot and found dead with bullet wounds in the head. His mouth was covered with packaging tape and there was a rope around his neck. A piece of paper with the letters U and Y, stained with blood, was also found. A pistol that had been used in a later armed attack on a shop was found to be the weapon used to kill Kemal Kiliç. Hüseyin Güney, the (alleged) perpetrator of the armed attack, was also charged with the murder of Kemal Kiliç. However, Güney denied involvement in the offences, including the killing. Güney was eventually convicted for the armed attack and for being a member of a separatist organisation. According to the national court, he could not be held responsible for any other offences. The chief public prosecutor of the national court opened an investigation into the killing of Kemal Kiliç, and instructed the Şanlıurfa gendarmerie command to report to him every three months about evidence obtained regarding the Kiliç murder. 

Homicide is prohibited in Turkey under Articles 448 and 455 of the national Code of Criminal Procedure. The obligations of the authorities regarding conducting a preliminary investigation are laid down in Articles 151 to 153 of the Code of Criminal Procedure.


Decision Overview

The main issue before the Court was whether the Turkish authorities had violated the right to life laid down in Articles 2 and 13 ECHR by not providing for protective measures to avoid the real and immediate risk to Kemal Kiliç’s life and by not carrying out an effective investigation into the circumstances surrounding his death. 

The applicant argued that the State is to be held responsible for the death of his brother, because of their failure to provide protective measures and for not conducting an effective investigation into his death. He invoked Article 2 of the Convention [para. 54]. The applicant referred to the Susurluk report “as strongly supporting the allegations that unlawful attacks were being carried out with the support and knowledge of the authorities” [para. 56]. The Susurluk report was produced at the request of the Turkish Prime Minister, in which “acquiescence and connivance” by State authorities in illegal activities is described. The applicant further asserted that “public prosecutors were unlikely to carry out effective investigation into allegations against the security forces” [para. 56]. The applicant thus pointed to a lack of independence in the procedure. Regarding the investigation, the applicant argued (amongst other things) that the authorities took few steps to find the perpetrators and failed to broaden the investigation to examine whether the killing was related to his brother’s work as a journalist for Özgür Gündem. The applicant stated that the trial of Güney, even though there was no evidence linking him to the murder, had the “practical effect of closing the investigation” into the death of his brother [paras. 56 – 58]. 

The Government stated that the Susurluk report had “no evidential or probative value and could not be considered in assessing the situation in south-east Turkey” [para. 59]. The authorities further argued that Kemal Kiliç was not at a particular risk for unlawful violence. Because of the climate of widespread intimidation and violence at the time, “no one in society could have felt safe at that time. All journalists could be said to have been at risk, for example, not only Kemal Kiliç” [para. 60]. The Government further asserted that the investigation into the killing was conducted with precision and professionalism and that it had continued the investigation after Güney’s conviction.

The Court assessed the case as follows. 

Article 2

The Court stated that Article 2 does not only command the State to “refrain from the intentional and unlawful taking of life” [para. 62], but also entails that states should take appropriate steps to safeguard the lives of persons within their respective jurisdictions. In appropriate circumstances, this positive obligation extends to taking “preventive operational measures to protect an individual whose life is at risk from criminal acts of another individual” [para. 62]. This possible obligation must not impose an “impossible or disproportionate burden on authorities” [para. 63]. In this case, it could not be established that Kemal Kiliç was killed by State agents or persons acting on their behalf. The question that remained to be determined is whether the authorities failed to fulfill their positive obligation to protect Kiliç from a known risk to his life.

The Court recalled that Kemal Kiliç requested the governor to take protective measures, two months before he was shot dead. His petition showed that he considered himself and others at risk because of their work for Özgür Gündem. Sellers and distributors of that newspaper had been threatened and attacked, according to Kemal Kiliç. The Government claimed that Kiliç was not at a particular risk. However, the Court has previously found that in early 1993 the authorities were aware that persons working for Özgür Gündem feared that they were “falling victim to a concerted campaign” that was tolerated or even approved by State officials [para. 66]. A significant number of offences occurred in which journalists were killed and newspaper kiosks and distributors of the newspaper were attacked. The Court was of the opinion that Kemal Kiliç was at a particular risk at this time. Furthermore, this risk should have been regarded as real and immediate. The authorities were aware of that risk, and Kemal Kiliç had requested protective measures. The Susurluk report substantiates that State officials might have been involved in several incidents regarding individuals that were “perceived to be acting against State interests” [para. 68].

Different circumstances can be identified that have led to the Court’s conclusion that the protection provided by the criminal law in the south-east region was undermined. Offences were committed by State officials and the competence to investigate these offences was taken away from the public prosecutor and transferred to administrative councils. These investigations were not independent, because the administrative councils were under the orders of the governor, who was responsible for the security forces whose conduct was the object of investigation. In addition, cases examined by the Convention organs have resulted in a series of findings entailing that the authorities failed to investigate allegations of wrongdoing by security forces. Moreover, incidents were often attributed to the PKK with minimal or no supporting evidence [para. 73]. The National Security Courts, which have jurisdiction for terrorist crimes, were found by the Court in several judgments to lack independence.

The Government disputed that they “could have effectively provided measures” to protect Kiliç [para. 76]. The Court found in that respect that a wide array of measures were available to the authorities, thus rejecting this argument. The Court concluded that Article 2 ECHR has been violated.

Regarding the alleged inadequacy of the investigation, the Court reiterated that State authorities are required to carry out an effective official investigation in instances where individuals have been killed by the use of force. The Court observed that it was not apparent that the National Security Court took any steps to continue the investigation after the conviction of Güney and that the file thus had an inactive status, despite the fact that there was no direct evidence that linked him to the killing. The Court further observes that the investigation did not include any inquiries regarding the possible targeting of Kiliç because of his work as a journalist for Özgür Gündem. The fact that the case was transferred to the National Security Court prosecutor “indicates that it was regarded as a separatist crime” [para. 82]. Due to the limited scope and short duration of the investigation, the Court concluded that there had not been an effective investigation into the death of Kemal Kiliç. Article 2 ECHR has been violated.

Article 13

The applicant argued that he had not had an effective remedy before a national authority, as provided for by Article 13 ECHR.

According to the Court, Article 13 ECHR requires a domestic remedy to be provided to deal with “arguable complaints” under the Convention [para. 91]. The Court observed that the applicant’s brother was the victim of an unlawful killing and may therefore be considered to have such an “arguable complaint” [para. 92]. For the reasons provided earlier, there was no effective criminal investigation. The Court found that the applicant had been denied an effective remedy in respect of his brother’s death. Consequently, Article 13 ECHR was violated.

Articles 10 and 14

As regards the alleged violation of Article 10 and Article 14 ECHR, the Court concluded that those complaints arose out of the same facts as those considered under Article 2 and Article 13 of the ECHR, and it was therefore not necessary to examine these complaints separately. 

Alleged practice by the authorities

The applicant asserted that the violation of Articles 2 and 10 was an “officially tolerated practice” in Turkey. “Having regard to its findings under Articles 2 and 13 above, the Court [did] not find it necessary to determine whether the failings identified in this case [were] part of a practice adopted by the authorities” [para 95]. 

Damages

The Court did not award any pecuniary damage, because the amounts claimed did not represent losses actually incurred by Kemal Kiliç before his death, or by the applicant after his brother’s death [para. 102]. 

The Court awarded GBP 15,000 (approx. USD $22,622 at the time) in non-pecuniary damages on behalf of the applicant’s brother, which has to be held by the applicant for his brother’s heirs. The Court awarded the applicant an amount of GBP 2,500 (approx. USD $3,770 at the time) in non-pecuniary damages.


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Expands Expression

Expands freedom of expression by reiterating that States have a positive obligation to protect individuals from threats to their lives, especially journalists who are in a vulnerable position when expressing critical views.

Global Perspective

Quick Info

Global Perspective demonstrates how the court’s decision was influenced by standards from one or many regions.

Table of Authorities

Related International and/or regional laws

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

The decision was cited in:

Official Case Documents

Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback