Hydara c. Gambie

Affaire Résolue élargit l'expression

Key Details

  • Mode D'expression
    Presse / Journaux
  • Date de la Décision
    juin 10, 2014
  • Résultat
    Dommages pécuniaires / Amendes
  • Numéro de Cas
    ECW/CCJ/APP/30/11
  • Région et Pays
    Gambie, Afrique
  • Organe Judiciaire
    Cours sous-régionales africaines
  • Type de Loi
    Droit international/régional des droits de l'homme
  • thèmes
    Liberté de la presse, Violence contre les orateurs / Impunité
  • Mots-Cles
    Agences d'intelligence

Ce cas est disponible dans d'autres langues:    Vue en: English    Vue en: العربية

Analyse de Cas

Résumé du Cas et Résultat

Deyda Hydara, activiste pour la liberté des médias tout en critiquant le gouvernement, faisait partie des journalistes les plus éminents de la Gambie. Il a été assassiné le 16 décembre 2004. Sa famille et la Fédération Internationale des journalistes ont déposé une requête auprès de la Cour de justice de la Communauté de la CEDEAO (CJCC) contre la Gambie au motif que le gouvernement gambien n’avait pas réussi à élucider le crime et en agissant de la sorte il a consacré l’impunité, a violé le droit à la liberté d’expression et n’a pas accordé de réparation. Le gouvernement gambien a rejeté l’ensemble des allégations. La CJCC a jugé que la Gambie n’a pas correctement enquêté sur le crime, a consacré l’impunité et violé le droit à la liberté d’expression. La Cour a également statué que le gouvernement gambien était dans l’obligation d’accorder réparation à la famille Hydra parce qu’il n’a pas enquêté correctement sur le crime.


Les Faits

Deyda Hydara Jr. et Ismaila Hydra (“les requérants ”) sont les descendants de Deyda Hydara. Deyda Hydara était un journaliste gambien et cofondateur du journal The Point. Hydara a dédié une grande partie de sa vie à la défense de la liberté des médias en Gambie. Tout au long de sa vie, il a été menacé plusieurs fois de mort à cause de son travail journalistique. Il fut assassiné le 16 décembre 2004 par des coups de feu tirés par un automobiliste. La famille Hydra a affirmé qu’il était sous surveillance constante par le gouvernement même le jour de son assassinat. Les requérants ont avancé que l’état n’a pas autorisé l’examen public de l’enquête[1]. Le gouvernement a aussi poursuivi 7 journalistes pour sédition parce qu’ils avaient condamné l’incapacité du gouvernement à élucider l’assassinat de Hydra.

Les requérants ont déposé une requête contre le gouvernement gambien en date du 23 novembre 2011 faisant valoir que ce dernier : 1) n’a pas bien conduit l’enquête sur le meurtre de Deyda Hydara; 2) a causé et toléré l’impunité dans l’assassinat de Hydara; 3) a violé de droit à la liberté d’expression; et n’a 4) pas accordé réparation à la famille Hydra parce qu’en échouant à élucider le crime la famille a été empêchée d’obtenir réparation. La Fédération internationale des journalistes a joint la requête comme troisième requérant. Le gouvernement gambien a réfuté l’allégation selon laquelle il a mal enquêté sur la mort de Hydra et qu’il avait toléré l’impunité suite au crime.

 

[1] Hydara c. Gambie, ECW/CCJ/APP/30/11, p. 3 (2014).


Aperçu des Décisions

Le juge Hansine N. Donli a prononcé le jugement de la CJCC.

La question principale pour la Cour consistait à définir si la Gambie était responsable de la violation du droit à la liberté d’expression dans le cas de la mort du journaliste Deyda Hydara. La CJCC devait également déterminer si l’état avait correctement enquêté l’assassinat de Hydara, s’il avait causé et toléré l’impunité et s’il avait échoué à apporter une réparation aux requérants[1]. Les requérants ont basé leur requête sur les articles 1 (obligations des états membres), 4 (droit à la vie) et 9 (liberté d’expression) de la Charte africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples, et de l’article 66 du Traité révisé de la CEDEAO. Le gouvernement gambien a rejeté la totalité des demandes présentées par les requérants.[2]

La CJCC a analysé simultanément la revendication portant sur l’impunité et la liberté d’expression. Les requérants ont fait référence à une jurisprudence relative au mauvais traitement des journalistes de la part du gouvernement. La Cour a statué que l’état enfreint le droit international et ses obligations contractées au titre du traité lorsqu’il « ne protège pas les professionnels des médias y compris ceux parmi eux qui critiquent le régime »[3]. Selon la Cour, le droit d’exercer la liberté d’expression comprend le droit et la liberté de critiquer ouvertement le gouvernement [4] . La CJCC a aussi fait référence à l’article 66 du traité révisé de la CEDEAO et a estimé que l’article « impose aux états membres l’obligation d’assurer une atmosphère sécurisée et favorable à la pratique du journalisme »[5]. La Cour a ainsi conclu que la conséquence de l’impunité systématique est de freiner les journalistes dans l’exercice de leurs devoirs journalistiques et l’exercice de leur droit à la liberté d’expression.[6]

Les requérants ont affirmé que le gouvernement gambien n’avait pas apporté une réparation ni une compensation à la famille pour le décès de Hydara et pour la violation de son droit à la liberté d’expression[7]. Les requérants ont aussi avancé que l’échec de l’état à élucider le crime commis à l’encontre de Hydara les a empêchés d’obtenir une indemnisation. La Cour a accordé une indemnisation à cause de l’échec de l’état à enquêter correctement sur l’assassinat de Hydara. Le juge Donli a fait savoir que plusieurs irrégularités avaient été commises lors de l’enquête criminelle dont l’absence d’un rapport balistique et la complicité dans l’assassinat de Hydara de la part l’agence gouvernementale de renseignement. La Cour a statué que l’agence de renseignement n’était pas suffisamment impartiale pour mener une enquête en bonne et due forme.

Par conséquent, la Cour a accordé aux requérant une compensation de 50,000 US$.

 

[1] Hydara c. Gambie, ECW/CCJ/APP/30/11, p 4 (2014).

[2] Id. p. 5.

[3] Id. p. 6.

[4] Id.

[5] Id. p. 9.

[6] Id. p. 10.

[7] Id.


Direction De La Décision

Info Rapide

La direction de la décision indique si la décision élargit ou réduit l'expression sur la base d'une analyse de l'affaire.

élargit l'expression

La décision renforce la liberté d’expression dans le sens où elle souligne l’impunité autorisée et tolérée par un gouvernement peut avoir un effet dissuasif sur le droit à la liberté d’expression. Elle reconnait aussi que l’état est tenu de protéger les professionnels des médias et notamment ceux qui critiquent le gouvernement. D’après la décision, la liberté d’expression inclut le droit de critiquer et de surveiller le gouvernement. Malheureusement, au 29 mars 2016, le gouvernement gambien ne s’est pas encore conformé à la décision de la CJCC. Plusieurs organisations des droits de l’homme ont dénoncé la non-conformité de la part de la Gambie et la considère comme un élément qui freine la liberté d’expression et favorise encore l’impunité au sein de l’état.

Perspective Globale

Info Rapide

La perspective globale montre comment la décision de la Cour a été influencée par les normes d'une ou de plusieurs régions.

Tableau Des Autorités

Lois internationale et/ou régionale connexe

  • ACHPR, art. 1
  • ACHPR, art. 4
  • ACHPR, art. 9
  • Treaty of the Economic Community of West African States, Art. 66(c)
  • ICCPR, art. 2

Importance du Cas

Info Rapide

L'importance du cas fait référence à l'influence du cas et à la manière dont son importance évolue dans le temps.

La décision établit un précédent contraignant ou persuasif dans sa juridiction.

Selon les articles 9 et 76 du traité révisé de la CEDEAO, tous les états membres sont tenus par les décisions de la CJCC.

La décision a été citée dans:

Documents Officiels du Cas

Documents Officiels du Cas:


Rapports, Analyses et Articles D'actualité :


Vous avez des commentaires?

Faites-nous savoir si vous remarquez des erreurs ou si l'analyse de cas doit être révisée.

Envoyer un Retour D'information

Global Freedom of Expression

Español

Hydara v. Gambia

Closed Expands Expression

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Press / Newspapers
  • Date of Decision
    June 10, 2014
  • Outcome
    Monetary Damages / Fines
  • Case Number
    ECW/CCJ/APP/30/11
  • Region & Country
    Gambia, Africa
  • Judicial Body
    Sub-regional African Courts
  • Type of Law
    International/Regional Human Rights Law
  • Themes
    Violence against Speakers / Impunity
  • Tags
    Intelligence Agencies, Journalism, Freedom of press

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

Deyda Hyadra, an advocate of media freedom who was critical of the government, was one of Gambia’s most important journalists. He was assassinated on December 16, 2004. His family members and the International Federation of Journalists filed an application in the Economic Community of West African States Court (“ECOWAS”) against Gambia on the grounds that the Gambian Government failed to effectively investigate the crime, and in doing so, it allowed impunity, violated the right to freedom of expression, and failed to provide redress. The Gambian Government denied all claims. The ECOWAS determined that, indeed, Gambia did not properly investigate the crime, allowed impunity, and violated the right to freedom of expression. The court also determined that the Gambian Government was obligated to provide redress to the Hydra’s family because of its failure to effectively investigate the crime.


Facts

Deyda Hydara Jr. and Ismaila Hydra (“the Applicants”) are the decedents of Deyda Hydara. Deyda Hydara was a Gambian journalist and cofounder of The Point newspaper. Hydara dedicated much of his life to defending the freedom of the media in Gambia. During his life, he received several death threats because of his journalistic work. He was assassinated on December 16, 2004, by a drive-by shooter. Hydara’s family contended that he was under constant surveillance by the government, including the day he was murdered. The Applicants claim that the state did not allow public scrutiny of the investigation.1 The government also prosecuted seven journalists for sedition because they condemned the Gambian Government’s failure to conduct a proper investigation into Hydara’s murder.

The Applicants filed an application against the Gambian Government on November 23, 2011, arguing that the Gambian Government: 1) failed to effectively investigate the murder of journalist Deyda Hydara; 2) caused and tolerated impunity concerning the death of Hydara; 3) violated the right to freedom of expression; and 4) failed to provide redress to Hydara’s family, because failing to properly investigate the crime inhibited the family from obtaining compensation. The International Federation of Journalists joined the application as the third Applicant. The Gambian Government rejected the notion that it did not properly investigate the death of Hydara and that it tolerated impunity following the crime.


  1. Hydara v. Gambia, ECW/CCJ/APP/30/11, p. 3 (2014). 


Decision Overview

Justice Hansine N. Donli delivered the judgment of the ECOWAS.

The main issue before the court was whether Gambia was responsible for the violation of the right to freedom of expression concerning the death of journalist Deyda Hydara. The ECOWAS also needed to determine whether the state properly investigated the death of Hydara, whether it caused and tolerated impunity, and whether it failed to provide the Applicants with redress.1 The Applicants founded their application on Articles 1 (obligations of Member States), 4 (right to life) and 9 (freedom of expression) of the African Charter of Human and Peoples Rights (“ACHPR”), and Article 66 of the Revised Treaty of ECOWAS. The Gambian Government rejected the entire claim brought forth by the Applicants.2

The ECOWAS analyzed the Applicants’ claim of impunity and freedom of expression simultaneously. Firstly, the Applicants made reference to jurisprudence concerning government mistreatment of journalists. The ECOWAS established that a state breaches international law and its treaty obligations when “it fails to protect media practitioners including those critical of the regime.”3 The right to exercise freedom of expression, according to the court, includes the right and freedom to openly criticize the government.4 The ECOWAS also made reference to Article 66 of the Revised Treaty of ECOWAS and deemed that the Article “imposes an obligation on Member States to assure a safe and conducive atmosphere in the practice of journalism.5 Thus, the court added that the consequence of systematic impunity has a chilling effect on journalists attempting to exercise journalistic duties and to exercise the right to freedom of expression.6

The Applicants established that the Gambian Government did not provide redress or compensation to the family for the death of Hydara and for the violation of his right to freedom of expression.7 The Applicants also submitted that the state’s failure to effectively investigate the crime against Hydara precluded them from obtaining compensation.8 The court awarded compensation regarding the state’s failure to properly investigate Hydara’s assassination.9 Justice Donli conveyed that there were various irregularities during the criminal investigation that included the failure of a ballistics report and complicity in Hydara’s killing by the state’s intelligence agency. The court determined that the state’s intelligence agency was not impartial enough to carry out a proper investigation.

Accordingly, ECOWAS awarded the Applicants US$50,000 in compensation.


  1. Hydara v. Gambia, ECW/CCJ/APP/30/11, p. 4 (2014). 

  2. Id. at p. 5. 

  3. Id. at p. 6. 

  4. Id. 

  5. Id. at p. 9. 

  6. Id. at p. 10. 

  7. Id. 

  8. Id. 

  9. Id. 


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Expands Expression

The decision expands expression as it highlights that impunity allowed and tolerated by a government can have a chilling effect on the right to freedom of expression. It also recognizes that state has an obligation to protect media practitioners, especially those who are critical of government. Freedom of expression, according to the decision, includes the right to criticize and scrutinize a government. Unfortunately, as of March 29, 2016, the Gambian Government has not complied with the ECOWAS court’s decision. Several human rights organizations have denounced Gambia’s non-compliance as an element stifling freedom of expression and  furthering impunity in the state.

Global Perspective

Quick Info

Global Perspective demonstrates how the court’s decision was influenced by standards from one or many regions.

Table of Authorities

Related International and/or regional laws

  • ACHPR, art. 1
  • ACHPR, art. 4
  • ACHPR, art. 9
  • Treaty of the Economic Community of West African States, Art. 66(c)
  • ICCPR, art. 2

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

According to articles 9 and 76 of the Revised Treaty of the Economic Community of West African States, ECOWAS Court decisions are binding on all Member States.

Official Case Documents

Official Case Documents:


Reports, Analysis, and News Articles:


Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback