Hélio Schwartsman c. le Ministre de la Justice et de la Sécurité Publique

Affaire Résolue élargit l'expression

Key Details

  • Mode D'expression
    Presse / Journaux
  • Date de la Décision
    août 25, 2020
  • Résultat
    Injonction ou Ordonnance Accordée
  • Numéro de Cas
    HC 607921
  • Région et Pays
    Brésil, Latin-America and Caribbean
  • Organe Judiciaire
    Tribunal de première instance
  • Type de Loi
    Droit Civil
  • thèmes
    Sécurité Nationale, Liberté de la presse
  • Mots-Cles
    COVID-19, Diffamation Criminelle

Ce cas est disponible dans d'autres langues:    Vue en: English    Vue en: Español

Analyse de Cas

Résumé du Cas et Résultat

Une Cour supérieure brésilienne a suspendu l’enquête sur un journaliste qui avait rédigé un article dans lequel il a cité les résultats positifs que pourrait engendrer le décès du président Jair Bolsonaro. L’article a été écrit peu de temps après que le président ait été testé positif à la Covid-19 et il y est mentionné que la mort du président sauverait des vies du moment où elle mettrait fin au discours qui minimisait l’importance de la pandémie. Le ministre de la justice a ordonné à la Police fédérale d’ouvrir une enquête sur le journaliste pour d’éventuelles violations de la loi sur la sécurité nationale. La Cour a suspendu l’enquête, estimant que le comportement présumé du journaliste ne répondait pas aux critères définis par la loi sur la sécurité nationale pour déterminer une atteinte réelle ou potentielle à l’intégrité territoriale, à la souveraineté ou à la démocratie.


Les Faits

Le 7 juillet 2020, le journaliste brésilien Hélio Schwartsman a publié un article en réponse à la nouvelle selon laquelle le président brésilien, Jair Bolsonaro, avait été testé positif à la Covid-19. Dans l’article, publié dans Folha de S. Paulo et intitulé “Pourquoi j’espère que le président meurt”, Schwartsman a noté que la mort de Bolsonaro serait “regrettable” comme celle de toute autre personne, mais qu’elle sauverait des vies en mettant fin à son discours qui minimise  la gravité de la pandémie, à la tension qui sévit au sein  des institutions démocratiques et à l’affaiblissement d’importantes politiques  environnementales culturelles et scientifiques. Schwartsman a écrit qu’il n’avait “rien de personnel” contre Bolsonaro et qu’il était plutôt motivé par une morale conséquentialiste.

Le ministre de la justice et de la sécurité publique, André Mendonça, a chargé la Police fédérale d’ouvrir une enquête sur Schwartsman pour infraction pénale au titre de la loi sur la sécurité nationale (la Loi). L’ordonnance émise par le ministre a cité l’article 27 de la Loi criminalisant “l’atteinte à l’intégrité physique ou à la santé” des chefs du gouvernement fédéral dans ses trois branches, y compris le Président.  Bien que non mentionné dans l’ordonnance, Mendonça avait déclaré sur Twitter qu’il ordonnerait une enquête sur une éventuelle violation de l’article 26 de la Loi qui criminalise “la calomnie ou la diffamation” de ces autorités. En droit brésilien, la calomnie, ou calúnia, est définie comme étant le fait d’attribuer à tort un crime à quelqu’un, tandis que la diffamation, ou difamação, est définie comme étant le fait de dénigrer la réputation de quelqu’un.

L’administration Bolsonaro a utilisé la Loi – qui impose des peines beaucoup plus longues que celles établies par d’autres lois pénales – contre ses détracteurs. L’administration a ordonné une enquête sur le caricaturiste Renato Aroeira pour avoir publié un dessin où le président est représenté en train de dire “envahissons un autre hôpital” aux côtés d’une croix gammée sanglante, après que Bolsonaro eut exhorté ses partisans à envahir les hôpitaux publics pendant la pandémie Covid-19 pour enregistrer des vidéos qui prouvent le taux d’occupation des lits.  Un recours constitutionnel visant à suspendre cette enquête a été engagé auprès de la Cour suprême (ADPF n° 697).

Schwartsman a déposé une requête d’habeas corpus devant la Cour supérieure de justice pour suspendre l’enquête. Selon la Constitution brésilienne de 1988, une ordonnance d’habeas corpus est accordée à titre de recours contre les restrictions affectant la liberté de circulation d’un individu lorsque celles-ci résultent d’une action illégale ou d’un abus de pouvoir de la part d’agents publics ou de toute personne agissant à titre officiel. Les requêtes en habeas corpus ont été utilisées pour bloquer les poursuites ou enquêtes pénales dans des circonstances exceptionnelles où l’illégalité du comportement de l’État ne fait aucun doute, par exemple lorsque des accusations pénales sont manifestement infondées ou sont introduites plus tard que les délais de prescription.


Aperçu des Décisions

La demande de suspension d’enquête a été examinée par le juge rapporteur, Jorge Mussi. La principale question que la Cour devait examiner était de savoir si une enquête dans le cas de l’article rédigé par Schwartsman était légalement justifiée, compte tenu des critères énoncés dans la Loi et du droit constitutionnel à la liberté d’expression.

Schwartsman a soutenu que les critères prévus par la Loi ne sont pas satisfaits, car sa conduite ne relevait d’aucune loi pénale. Il s’est référé à la jurisprudence de la Cour suprême en faisant valoir que la portée de la Loi est limitée par deux critères indissociables : (1) la motivation politique ; et (2) le préjudice réel ou potentiel à l’intégrité territoriale, à la souveraineté nationale, au régime représentatif, à l’union fédérale ou à l’état de droit. Schwartsman a soutenu que ces critères ne sont pas remplis dans le cas de son article.

Il a également fait valoir que l’enquête violait les droits constitutionnels de la liberté d’expression et de la liberté de la presse, car l’article constituait ses opinions personnelles, fondées sur une approche philosophique conséquentialiste (dont il avait déjà parlé dans sa chronique) et qu’il n’avait fait qu’exercer les droits, dont lui et le journal bénéficiaient, en vertu de la Constitution.

Schwartsman a également fait valoir que même s’il reconnaissait que tout crime dont le Président était victime pouvait être qualifié d’atteinte à la sécurité nationale et que l’enquête avait été ouverte en vertu de l’article 26 de la Loi – il n’avait pas enfreint à l’article 26 car il n’avait pas attribué au Président un comportement qui porte atteinte à sa réputation.

Le juge Mussi a accordé la suspension. Une suspension est accordée lorsque le requérant arrive à satisfaire deux conditions : fumus boni iuris (la probabilité que le requérant réussisse sur le fond de l’affaire) et periculum in mora (risque de préjudice si une suspension n’est pas accordée). Il a reconnu que les précédents de la Cour supérieure de justice et de la Cour suprême montrent clairement que la loi est limitée par deux critères, l’un est “subjectif” (en rapport avec l’accusé) et l’autre “objectif” (en rapport avec l’acte allégué), qui doivent être considérés conjointement. Cela a pour effet que les dispositions de la Loi qui donnent lieu à des infractions pénales ne s’appliquent que lorsque l’accusé a agi avec une motivation politique et que l’agissement porte atteinte, réelle ou potentielle, à l’intégrité territoriale, à la souveraineté nationale, au régime représentatif, à l’union fédérale ou à l’état de droit.

Le juge Mussi a estimé que « nonobstant les critiques qui pourraient être formulées » contre l’article rédigé par Schwartsman [p. 37-8)], en se basant sur un examen superficiel de l’article, il n’y avait “aucune motivation politique, ni préjudice réel ou potentiel à l’intégrité territoriale, à la souveraineté nationale, au régime représentatif, à l’union fédérale ou à l’état de droit ” [p. 38]. Le juge Mussi en a conclu que la première condition pour une suspension était remplie, et que l’exigence du periculum in mora pour accorder une suspension était présente, étant donné l’imminence de la date fixée par la police pour interroger Schwartsman.

En conséquence, le juge Mussi a ordonné la suspension de l’enquête.


Direction De La Décision

Info Rapide

La direction de la décision indique si la décision élargit ou réduit l'expression sur la base d'une analyse de l'affaire.

élargit l'expression

Le jugement élargit la liberté d’expression dans la mesure où il protège les individus contre l’application de la Loi sur la sécurité nationale (qui prévoit notamment de longues peines d’emprisonnement), mais il n’aborde pas la question de savoir si un journaliste peut faire l’objet d’une enquête en vertu d’autres lois pénales.

 

Perspective Globale

Info Rapide

La perspective globale montre comment la décision de la Cour a été influencée par les normes d'une ou de plusieurs régions.

Tableau Des Autorités

Normes, droit ou jurisprudence nationales

  • Braz., National Security Act no. 7170/1983, Article 26
  • Braz., National Security Act no. 7170/1983, Article 27
  • Braz., RC no. 1472/MG, Dias Toffoli J, rapporteur, j. 25.5.2016
  • Braz., RC no. 1473/SP, Luiz Fux J, rapporteur, j. 14.11.2017

Importance du Cas

Info Rapide

L'importance du cas fait référence à l'influence du cas et à la manière dont son importance évolue dans le temps.

La décision établit un précédent contraignant ou persuasif dans sa juridiction.

Bien que le cas n’a pas force obligatoire, une décision de la Cour supérieure de justice peut avoir une influence sur les tribunaux inferieurs (d’état et fédéraux) dans tout le Brésil.

Documents Officiels du Cas

Pièces Jointes:

Vous avez des commentaires?

Faites-nous savoir si vous remarquez des erreurs ou si l'analyse de cas doit être révisée.

Envoyer un Retour D'information

Global Freedom of Expression

Hélio Schwartsman v. Minister of Justice and Public Security

Closed Expands Expression

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Press / Newspapers
  • Date of Decision
    August 25, 2020
  • Outcome
    Injunction or Order Granted
  • Case Number
    HC 607921
  • Region & Country
    Brazil, Latin-America and Caribbean
  • Judicial Body
    First Instance Court
  • Type of Law
    Civil Law
  • Themes
    National Security
  • Tags
    Freedom of press, National Security, Criminal Defamation, COVID-19

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

There is a Spanish language version of this case available.    View Spanish version

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

The Brazilian Superior Court of Justice stayed the investigation into a journalist who had written an article describing the positive outcomes if President Jair Bolsonaro died. The article was written soon after the President tested positive for Covid-19 and argued that his death would save lives, since it would put an end to rhetoric of downplaying the pandemic. The Minister of Justice ordered the Federal Police to initiate an investigation into the journalist for possible violations of the National Security Act. The Court stayed the investigation, holding that the journalist’s alleged conduct did not meet the National Security Act’s requirement of actual or potential harm to territorial integrity, to sovereignty, or democracy.


Facts

On July 7, 2020, Hélio Schwartsman, a Brazilian journalist, published an article in response to the news that Brazilian President, Jair Bolsonaro, had tested positive for Covid-19. In the article, published in Folha de S.Paulo and titled “Why I hope the president dies”, Schwartsman noted that Bolsonaro’s death  would be “regrettable” just as that of any other person, but that it would save lives by ending his downplaying of the severity of the pandemic; tension within democratic institutions; and the weakening of important environmental, cultural, and scientific policy. Schwartsman wrote he had “nothing personal” against Bolsonaro and instead was motivated by consequentialist morality.

The Minister of Justice and Public Security, André Mendonça, instructed the Federal Police to start an investigation into Schwartsman for criminal offences under the National Security Act (the Act). The order sent by the minister cited article 27 of the Act, which makes it a criminal offence, punishable by up to 3 years imprisonment, “to violate the bodily integrity or health” of the heads of the federal government in the three branches, including the President. Although not mentioned in the order, Mendonça had stated on Twitter that he would order an investigation into a possible violation of article 26 of the Act, which creates the criminal offence of “calumniating or defaming” those authorities. Under Brazilian law, calumny, or calúnia, is defined as falsely ascribing a crime to someone, while defamation, or difamação, is defined as ascribing a fact disparaging to someone’s reputation.

The Bolsonaro administration has used the Act – which imposes considerably longer sentences than those established by other criminal statutes – against its critics. The administration ordered an investigation into cartoonist Renato Aroeira for publishing a cartoon where the President is depicted saying “let’s invade another one” alongside a bloody swastika, after Bolsonaro had urged his followers to enter public hospitals during the Covid-19 pandemic to record videos checking the reported occupation of hospital beds. A constitutional complaint to stay that investigation was filed before the Supreme Court (ADPF no. 697).

Schwartsman filed a habeas corpus application before the Superior Court of Justice, seeking a stay of investigation. Under the Brazilian Constitution of 1988, a writ of habeas corpus is granted as a remedy against restrictions affecting an individual’s freedom of movement when these are a result of illegal action or abuse of power by public officials or any person acting in official capacity. Habeas corpus petitions have been used to block criminal persecution or criminal investigation in exceptional circumstances where the illegality of the state conduct is patently clear – such as when criminal charges are patently unfounded or are brought later than allowed by the statute of limitations.


Decision Overview

The application for a stay of the investigation was reviewed by rapporteur Judge Jorge Mussi. The main issue before the Court was whether an investigation into Schwartsman’s article was legally warranted, with reference to the criteria under the Act and the constitutional right to freedom of expression.

Schwartsman argued that the criteria under the Act had not been met as his conduct fell outside the scope of any criminal statute. He referred to Supreme Court jurisprudence in arguing that the scope of the Act is limited by two conjunctive criteria: (1) political motivation; and (2) actual or potential harm to territorial integrity, national sovereignty, representative regime, the federal union or rule of law. Schwartsman maintained that these criteria were not present in respect of his article.

He also argued that the investigation violated constitutional rights of freedom of expression and freedom of the press, as the article constituted his personal views, grounded in a consequentialist philosophical approach (which he had previously discussed in his column) and that all he had done was to exercise rights he and the newspaper enjoys under the Constitution.

Schwartsman also submitted that – even if he conceded that any crimes with the President as a victim could rise to the level of an offence against national security and the investigation was initiated under article 26 of the Act – he had not infringed section 26 as he had not attributed to the President any conduct that was disparaging to his reputation.

Justice Mussi granted the stay. A stay is granted when the petitioner makes a showing of two requirements: fumus boni iuris (the probability of the petitioner succeeding on the merits) and periculum in mora (risk of harm if a stay is not granted). He acknowledged that the precedents both in the Superior Court of Justice and the Supreme Court definitively show that the Act is limited by the two criteria, one “subjective” (related to the accused) and the other one “objective” (related to the alleged conduct), which must be read conjunctively. The effect of this is that the Act’s provisions which create criminal offences only apply when the accused acted with political motivation and the conduct shows actual or potential harm to territorial integrity, national sovereignty, representative regime, the federal union, or the rule of law.

Judge Mussi held that “notwithstanding criticism that might be raised” against the piece authored by Schwartsman [p. 37-8)], based on a cursory review of the article, there was “no political motivation, nor actual or potential harm to territorial integrity, national sovereignty, representative regime, the federal union or rule of law” [p. 38]. Judge Mussi held that the first requirement for a stay was met, and that the periculum in mora requirement for granting a stay was present, given the imminence of the date the police had set for questioning Schwartsman.

Accordingly, Judge Mussi granted the stay of investigation.


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Expands Expression

The ruling expands freedom of expression to the extent that it protects individuals against the application of the National Security Act (which is notable for providing for long prison sentences). In this way, the decision removes from the field of criminal sanction under the aforementioned law a typical manifestation of freedom of the press in democratic societies, such as criticism of highly relevant public officials in the State.

Global Perspective

Quick Info

Global Perspective demonstrates how the court’s decision was influenced by standards from one or many regions.

Table of Authorities

National standards, law or jurisprudence

  • Braz., National Security Act no. 7170/1983, Article 26
  • Braz., National Security Act no. 7170/1983, Article 27
  • Braz., RC no. 1472/MG, Dias Toffoli J, rapporteur, j. 25.5.2016
  • Braz., RC no. 1473/SP, Luiz Fux J, rapporteur, j. 14.11.2017

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

While the case is not binding, a ruling by the Superior Court of Justice can be influential for lower courts (state and federal) throughout Brazil.

Official Case Documents

Attachments:

Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback