قضية فتيات التيك توك

قضية مُنتهية الحكم ذو نتيجة مُتباينة

Key Details

  • نمط التعبير
    التواصل الإلكتروني / القائم على الإنترنت
  • تاريخ الحكم
    يناير ١٢, ٢٠٢١
  • النتيجة
    أيدت جزء ونقضت جزء من حكم محكمة أدني درجة, عقوبات جنائية
  • رقم القضية
    ٢٠٢٠/٢٤٦ و ٢٠٢٠/٤٧٩
  • المنطقة والدولة
    مصر, الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا
  • الهيئة القضائية
    محكمة الاستئناف
  • نوع القانون
    قانون الجرائم الإلكترونية
  • المحاور
    البذائة/الاباحية
  • الكلمات الدلالية
    وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي, معايير غامضة أو فضفاضة

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

تحليل القضية

ملخص القضية وما انتهت اليه

نظرت محكمة استئناف القاهرة في طعن تقدّمت به سيّدتان تمّت ادانتهما وحكم عليهما بالسجن لانتهاكهما ” المبادئ والقيم الأسريّة التي يؤيدها المجتمع المصري “من خلال نشر مقاطع فيديو وصور” غير لائقة “. برّأت محكمة الاستئناف إحداهما وأكدت إدانة الأخرى لكنها ألغت عقوبة الحبس وعوّضت عنها بغرامة ماليّة. اعتقلت السيّدة الأولى إثر نشرها مقاطع فيديو على منصة التواصل الاجتماعي تيك توك تحثّ فيها النساء الأخريات على الالتحاق بتطبيق يدعي لايكي على الهاتف الجوّال للّقاء والدردشة وبناء علاقات مع الرجال مقابل مبالغ ماليّة وبرّأتها محكمة الاستئناف على أساس أنه لا توجد نية لتحريض النساء الأخريات على الفسق والفجور. ورأت المحكمة أن السيدة الثانية التي ألقي القبض عليها لنشرها صورا ومقاطع فيديو “غير لائقة” تظهر فيها وهي ترقص متعريّة، مذنبة لانتهاكها قيم ومبادئ المجتمع المصري. هذه القضيّة هي الأولى التي يتم فيها اعتماد هذه الجرائم الواردة في قانون مكافحة الجرائم الإلكترونية لسنة 2018 منذ اعتماد نصّ القانون.


الوقائع

في بداية سنة 2020، نشرت حنين حسام، طالبة مصرية تبلغ من العمر 20 عاما، مقطع فيديو على منصّة تيك توك بعنوان “استغلال الجسد مقابل المال”.  انتشر المقطع بسرعة فائقة وبدت فيه حنين حسام وكأنّها تدعو النساء للالتحاق بها عبر تطبيقة الهاتف الجوّال LIKEE للّقاء والدردشة وبناء علاقات مع الرجال على الانترنت. جاء في مقطع الفيديو أنّه يمكن للنّساء كسب مبالغ ماليّة هامّة من خلال التطبيق انطلاقا من 300 دولار أمريكي وصولا إلى آلاف الدولارات.

تلقت وحدة الرّصد لدى النيابة العامّة عددا من الشكاوى عبر صفحتها على فيسبوك من مستخدمي شبكات التّواصل الاجتماعي بشأن الفيديو اعتبروا فيها أنّ حنين حسام استغلّت الصعوبات المالية الناجمة عن جائحة كوفيد-19 “لتحريض” الشابات على “الفسق والفجور” مقابل المال.

اعتقلت السلطات المصرية حنين حسام خلال شهر افريل 2020 ، وفي ماي / مايو 2020 ألقت القبض على مودّة الأدهم، إحدى الفتيات الشهيرات على مواقع التّواصل الاجتماعي. تمّ إيقاف مودّة بسبب نشرها لصور وأشرطة لها “غير لائقة” على شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي. نُشرت صور مودّة الأدهم على الإنترنت من خلال أحد هواتفها الجوّالة الذي سرق منها سنة 2019.  تمّ توجيه التّهمة إلى كلّ من حنين حسام ومودّة الأدهم لكونهما انتهكتا المادّتين 25 و27 من قانون مكافحة الجرائم الإلكترونية عدد 175 لسنة 2018.

تنصّ المادّة 25 على ما يلي: ” يعاقب بالحبس مدة لا تقل عن ستة أشهر وبغرامة لا تقل عن خمسين ألف جنيه ولا تتجاوز مائة ألف جنيه (قرابة 3000-6000 دولار امريكي سنة 2020) أو بإحدى هاتين العقوبتين كل من نشر محتويات تعتدي على أي من المبادئ أو القيم الأسرية في المجتمع المصري “.

وتنصّ المادّة 27 على أنّه: ” يعاقب بالحبس مدة لا تقل عن سنتين وبغرامة لا تقل عن مائة ألف جنيه، ولا تزيد عن ثلاثمائة ألف جنيه ((قرابة 6000-25000 دولار امريكي سنة 2020) ، أو بإحدى هاتين العقوبتين، كل من أنشا أو أدار أو استخدم موقعا أو حسابا خاصا على شبكة معلوماتية يهدف إلى ارتكاب أو تسهيل ارتكاب جريمة معاقب عليها قانوناً.”

حريّة التّعبير مكفولة بمقتضى أحكام المادّة 65 من الدّستور المصري التي تنصّ على انّ “حرية الفكر والرأي مكفولة. ولكل إنسان حق التعبير عن رأيه بالقول، أو بالكتابة، أو بالتصوير، أو غير ذلك من وسائل التعبير والنشر”.

عرضت القضية على محكمة الجنح الاقتصادية في القاهرة التي أدانت حنين حسام ومودّة الأدهم وحكمت عليهما بالسجن لمدة سنتين وبغرامة قدرها 300 ألف جنيه مصري (حوالي 20,000 دولار أمريكي سنة 2020).

احتجّت كلّ من حنين حسام ومودّة الأدهم بانّ المادة 25 غير دستورية لأن الجريمة المتمثلة في “انتهاك مبادئ الأسرة وقيمها التي يؤيدها المجتمع المصري” تفتقر إلى الوضوح والدقّة وهي بالتالي تنتهك المادة 95 من الدستور التي تقضي بأن “الجرائم والعقوبات لا تستند إلا إلى القانون” وأن هذا الغموض يجعل الحكم انتهاكا للحق في حرية التعبير. بالإضافة إلى ذلك اعتبرت حنين حسام أن شريط الفيديو لا يمسّ بالأخلاق العامة ولا ينتهك القانون واحتجّت مودّة الأدهم بأنّها لم تكن لديها نية نشر الصور بل تم تسريبها من هاتفها الذي تعرّض للسرقة. تمسّكت النيابة العامة بانتهاك حنين حسام ومودّة الأدهم للقيم والمبادئ الأسريّة المصرية وطالبت بتنفيذ المادة 7 من قانون الجرائم الإلكترونية التي تخول لجهة التحقيق حجب أي موقع إلكتروني تعتبر أنّه يروّج للأفكار المتطرّفة التي تنتهك أمن البلاد القومي أو تضر بالاقتصاد المصري.

عند تفسيرها للمادتين 25 و27 في المرّة الأولى التي يتم فيها الاحتجاج بالمادّتين، أوضحت المحكمة أن الفعل الإجرامي يحدث عن طريق “نشر محتوى (عبر الإنترنت أو شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي أو البريد الإلكتروني أو أي قناة إلكترونية أخرى) يدعو أو يشجع بشكل مباشر أو غير مباشر على الخداع أو عدم احترام الوالدين أو الحياد عن العفة أو الحطّ من قيمة العلم والدين باستخدام مقال أو مواد سمعيّة بصريّة أو رسم أو رسم كاريكاتوري…”. وأضافت المحكمة أن للقاضي سلطة تقديرية لتحديد ما إذا كان السلوك ينتهك القيم المصرية، وأن نية المتهم يمكن استنتاجها من الوقائع والظروف المحيطة والأدلة وبالتالي ليس هناك حاجة لإثبات المعرفة الفعلية والنية لارتكاب الجرم.

درست المحكمة الأدلة التي تقدّم بها الادعاء ضد حنين حسام ومودّة الادهم واعتبرتها مقنعة وتشكّل مجموعة متماسكة من الأدلة التي تثبت أن حنين حسام ومودّة الادهم انتهكتا القيم الاجتماعية المصرية والمبادئ الأسريّة وارتكبتا بذلك الجرائم المنصوص عليها في المادتين 25 و27. شملت الأدلة تقارير صادرة عن مكتب النائب العام والشرطة جاء فيها أن حنين حسام استغلت الصعوبات المالية الناجمة عن جائحة كوفيد-19 لتحثّ الفتيات على الالتحاق بها على تطبيقة LIKEE وانّ الغرض من الشريط الذي نشرته حنين حسام يتمثّل في إغواء الرجال وتشجيع النساء على ممارسة الدعارة  و جاء في تقرير الشرطة أن حساب مودّة الأدهم  على شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي هو بالفعل حسابها الخاصّ  وذكرت المحكمة أن الأدلة أثبتت بما لا يدع مجالا للشك أن السيدتين على علم بهذه الجرائم وأنهما كانتا تنويان  ارتكابها دون اعتبار للضرر الذي قد يلحق بالمعتقدات المحافظة والتراث الديني للمجتمع المصري. اعتبرت المحكمة أنّ أعمال حنين حسام ومودّة الادهم تهدف إلى نشر أفكار غير تقليدية ومنحرفة تحت غطاء الحرية والحداثة.

رغم الاقرار بأن حرية التعبير والإبداع حق أساسي يجب احترامه، شددت المحكمة على الحدود التي ترافق ذلك الحقّ الذي لا يمكن أن يشمل الكلام الفاحش والفسق والفجور وعلى أنّ الحدود المفروضة على هذا الحق تسعى إلى حماية شرف الأفراد وكرامتهم وسمعتهم. وذكرت المحكمة أن قانون الجرائم الإلكترونية هو مثال للقوانين التي تحمي حرية الإبداع وتمنع ممارسته من قبل من يسيء استخدام الحق لإلحاق الضرر بالمجتمع ومن ينتهك قيمه ومبادئه ويتجاهل العادات والمبادئ الدينية. بيد انّ المحكمة رفضت الموافقة على طلب الادعاء بتنفيذ المادة 7 من قانون الجرائم الإلكترونية على أساس أن اختصاص المحكمة لا يخوّل لها سوى المصادقة أو تعديل نطاق أمر بالحجب تمّ فرضه.

استأنفت كل من حنين حسام ومودّة الأدهم الحكم أمام محكمة الاستئناف.


نظرة على القرار

نظر في القضيّة القضاة عمرو صبري ومحمد غيتا وعمرو علي وكانت المسألة الأساسيّة المطروحة أمام أنظار المحكمة هي تحديد ما إذا كانت إدانة حنين حسام ومودّة الأدهم صحيحة.

احتجّت كلّ من حنين حسام ومودّة الأدهم بأنّ المادة 25 لم تحدد بشكل كاف السلوك الذي تم تجريمه وبالتالي انتهكت المادة 95 من الدستور التي تنص على أنه لا يجوز فرض أي تهم جنائية أو عقوبات دون أساس قانوني.

طالبت مودّة الأدهم بتبرئتها من التهم التي تواجهها على أساس أن حكم المحكمة الابتدائية قد انتهك حقّها في الدفاع وأنه يستند إلى المادة 27 التي لم تدخل بعد حيز النفاذ في الوقت الذي أنشأت فيه حسابها على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. وأكّدت انّ أركان الجرائم لم تثبت وأنه لم يتمّ اثبات النيّة الاجراميّة بشأنها. إضافة إلى ذلك، ذكرت أن التحقيقات لم تكن كافية وطلبت تعيين لجنة تقنيّة لتحديد من أنشأ ومن يدير الحساب الذي يُزعم أنه حسابها. وتمسّكت مودّة الأدهم بكونها صوّرت مقاطع الفيديو المعنية والتقطت الصور المنتشرة على حسابها على شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي لكنّها لم ترتكب جريمة انتهاك المبادئ والقيم الأسريّة من خلال نشرها.

طالبت حنين حسام بدورها بتبرئتها من جميع التهم الموجهة إليه وأكّدت أن قرار المحكمة الابتدائية لم يكن مدعما بالأدلة ويفتقر إلى المنطق وقالت إن التقرير التقني الذي يدرس محتوى حسابها لا يثبت أنها أنشأته وأدارته بهدف الدّعوة إلى عقد لقاءات بين الرجال والنساء وهو الأمر الذي يشكّل انتهاكا للآداب العامّة.

استقرّ قضاء المحكمة على أن المادة 25 دستورية وأن حجج المحكمة الابتدائية صحيحة.

رفضت المحكمة حجة مودّة الأدهم القائلة بأنّ المحكمة الابتدائيّة طبقت المادة 27 بشكل غير صحيح، ولاحظت أنّ تاريخ سنّ قانون الجرائم الإلكترونية هو 14 أوت/ أغسطس 2018 وأنّ النصّ دخل حيز التنفيذ في اليوم التالي أي أنّ القانون كان ساري المفعول في الفترة التي ارتكبت فيها مودّة الأدهم الجريمة المزعومة (وبالتالي فإنّ تاريخ إنشاء الحسابات لا يمتّ بصلة للقضيّة).

من ناحية أخرى رفضت المحكمة  الاستنتاج الذي توصلت له المحكمة الابتدائية بأن التحقيقات أثبتت أن الصور التي ظهرت فيها مودّة الأدهم في ملابس كاشفة (ملابس السباحة) وترتدي قطعة علويّة شفّافة تظهر ثدييها، ولذلك قامت باستبعاد تلك الصور من أدلة الإدانة، حيث نفت مودة نشرها لهذه الصور ولم يكن هناك أدلة تقنية تربط تُدلل على نشر الأخيرة لتلك الصور. لكن المحكمة قضت بأن مقاطع الفيديو التي نشرتها مودة والتي تظهر فيها وهي ترقص مرتدية ملابس كاشفة اعتبرت غير لائقة وغير مناسبة، وبالتالي تتعارض مع المبادئ والقيم الأسرية للمجتمع المصري، ولذا أدانت المحكمة المدعى عليها وفقًا للمادة. ٢/٣٠٤ من قانون الإجراءات الجنائية.

ورفضت المحكمة أيضا حجج مودّة الأدهم فيما يتعلّق بانتهاك حقّها في الدّفاع   وبأنّه لم يتمّ إثبات أركان الجريمة (ولا سيما نية ارتكاب الجريمة) وذكرت أن الأدلة المعروضة عليها تتعارض مع الحجج التي تقدّمت بها مودّة الأدهم بيد انّه ليس من صلاحياتها كمحكمة استئناف أن تعيد النظر في القرارات التي أصدرتها   المحكمة الأدنى درجة على نحو مبرّر.

فيما يتعلق بالاستئناف الذي تقدّمت به حنين حسام، أكدت المحكمة على افتراض البراءة وأن هذا يعني أن عبء الإثبات يقع على عاتق الادعاء. ورأت المحكمة أن التّحقيق الذي قام به جانب الادّعاء لم يثبت أن حنين حسام كانت لها نيّة أخرى غير تقديم عرض عمل عبر تطبيقة Likee ، وبالتالي لم تكن تنوي الترويج لسلوك غير لائق أو تشجيع الفتيات على الفسق و الفجور و  اعتمدت المحكمة على مقاطع الفيديو والكلمات التي استخدمتها  حنين حسام في تلك المقاطع لتؤكّد على أن الموقف القضائي هو أن الأفكار و الآراء يمكن أن تتجلى في شكل كلمات أو كتابة أو علامات مفهومة عموما على نحو معين أو عبر اتخاذ موقف لا يمكن تفسيره بأي شكل آخر غير ما كان يقصده الفاعل. وشددت المحكمة على أن أي مظهر لتلك الأفكار والآراء يتطلب فعلا إيجابيا (يتم إما بشكل صريح أو ضمني): عند وجود تعبير صريح عن الفكرة فإن المعنى المباشر المفهوم للكلمات سيوضح نية المتكلم. ولاحظت المحكمة أنه يوجد بعد ذلك افتراض قابل للدحض بأن الإرادة الواضحة للمتكلم تظهر من خلال التعبير المباشر عنها.

أشارت المحكمة إلى التّعبير الذي استخدمته حنين حسام مقطع الفيديو عندما دعت النساء إلى العمل كمذيعات لفائدة تطبيقة  Likee، وخلصت إلى أن أيا من كلماتها لا يعبّر عن  نيّة لديها  لدعوتهن للفسق و الفجور وأشارت المحكمة  إلى وجود عبارات مباشرة في مقاطع الفيديو الخاصة بحنين حسام تحذر من خلالها متابعيها  من ارتكاب أي أعمال تتجاوز حدود الأخلاق.

بناء عليه، رفضت المحكمة أدلة الادعاء والتهمة الموجهة ضد حنين حسام بأنها حثّت على الفسق والفجور عبر حساباتها وبالتالي خلصت إلى أنه إذا لم تكن قد ارتكبت الفسق والفجور فإنّ تهمة إنشاء وإدارة حساب لأغراض تنتهك قيم المجتمع المصري ومبادئه لا أساس لها من الصحة. برأت المحكمة حنين حسام من هذه التهمة.

نقضت المحكمة قرار المحكمة الابتدائية فيما يتعلق بحنين حسام وبرأتها وألغت جميع العقوبات التي فرضتها عليها المحكمة الابتدائية. بيد أنّ المحكمة أيّدت قرار المحكمة الابتدائية فيما يتعلق بمودّة الأدهم وأكدت إدانتها بتهمة انتهاك قيم ومبادئ المجتمع المصري كما عدّلت الحكم الصادر عن المحكمة الابتدائيّة بإلغاء عقوبة السّجن في حقّ مودّة الأدهم مراعية في ذلك صغر سنها عند ارتكاب الأفعال وسعيها إلى الشهرة واستعدادها لجمع الأموال، لكنها احتفظت بالغرامة التي تساوي قيمتها 300 ألف جنيه مصري (حوالي 20 ألف دولار أمريكي عند صدور الحكم الأول) وغيرها من الأحكام ذات الصلة.


اتجاه الحكم

معلومات سريعة

يشير اتجاه الحكم إلى ما إذا كان الأخير يُوسع من مدي التعبير أم يُضيقه بناءً على تحليل للقضية.

الحكم ذو نتيجة مُتباينة

اعتمد القرار نهجا صارما إزاء حريّة الفرد في التّعبير عن أفكاره. من خلال التمسك بإدانة مودّة الأدهم واعتبار أن الصور ومشاهد الفيديو التي تظهر فيها وهي ترتدي ملابس سباحة، وغيرها من الأمور الأخرى، تشكل انتهاكا لقيم المجتمع المصري ومبادئه دون تحديد نطاق تلك القيم والمبادئ أو إظهار الطريقة التي تضر بها تلك التّدوينات بأخلاق المجتمع، فإن المحكمة تحد بشكل خطير من ممارسة الحق في حرية التعبير – حتى وإن كانت برأت حنين حسام.

المنظور العالمي

معلومات سريعة

يوضح المنظور العالمي كيف تأثر قرار المحكمة بمعايير سواء من منطقة واحدة أو عدة مناطق.

جدول المراجع المستند اليها

معيار أو قانون أو فقه وطني

  • مصر ، قانون الجرائم الإلكترونية رقم 175 لسنة 2018 ، مادة 25
  • مصر ، قانون الجرائم الإلكترونية رقم 175 لسنة 2018 ، مادة 27
  • مصر ، قانون الجرائم الإلكترونية رقم 175 لسنة 2018 ، مادة 7
  • مصر ، دستور مصر (1971) ، المادة 65
  • مصر ، دستور مصر (1971) ، المادة 95

اهمية القضية

معلومات سريعة

تُشير أهمية هذه القضية إلى مدى تأثيرها وكيفية تغير مدى أهميتها بمرور الوقت.

يُنشئ القرار سابقة ملزمة أو مقنعة داخل نطاقه القضائي.

وثائق القضية الرسمية

هل لديك تعليقات؟

أخبرنا إذا لاحظت وجود أخطاء أو إذا كان تحليل القضية يحتاج إلى مراجعة.

ارسل رأيك

Global Freedom of Expression

The Case of the Egyptian TikTok Influencers

Closed Mixed Outcome

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Electronic / Internet-based Communication
  • Date of Decision
    January 12, 2021
  • Outcome
    Affirmed in Part, Reversed in Part, Criminal Sanctions
  • Case Number
    246/2020 and 479/2020
  • Region & Country
    Egypt, Middle East and North Africa
  • Judicial Body
    Appellate Court
  • Type of Law
    Cybercrime Law
  • Themes
    Indecency / Obscenity
  • Tags
    Social Media, Vague Standard

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

The Court of Appeals in Egypt – hearing the appeal of two women convicted and sentenced to imprisonment for violating “family principles and values upheld by Egyptian society” by posting “indecent” videos and images – acquitted one of the women and confirmed the conviction of the other but reduced her sentence to only a fine. The woman who had been arrested after posting videos on the social media platform, TikTok, encouraging other women to join a mobile application to meet, chat to and build relationships with men in exchange for money was acquitted on the grounds that there was no intention to incite other women to commit debauchery. The Court held that the other woman who had been arrested for posting “indecent” photos and videos of her unclothed and dancing had been guilty of violating the values and principles of Egyptian society. This case was the first time these offences in the 2018 Cybercrime Act had been used since the law’s adoption


Facts

In early 2020, Hanin Hossam, a 20-year-old Egyptian student, shared a video on TikTok titled “Exploiting the body for money”. The video – which went viral – appeared to show Hossam inviting women to join her on a mobile application (app) called LIKEE in order to meet, chat and build relationships with men online. The video said the women could earn significant amounts of money through the app, and that the payments started at US$300 and could reach thousands of dollars.

The Public Prosecution’s Monitoring Unit received a number of complaints on its Facebook page about the video from social media users who complained that Hossam was taking advantage of the financial difficulties caused by the Covid-19 pandemic and was “inciting” young women to “debauchery and immorality” in exchange for money.

In April 2020, Egyptian authorities arrested Hossam and in May 2020, Mawada Al-Adham, another social media celebrity, was arrested for publicly posting “indecent” photos and videos of her on social media. The photographs of Al-Adham were published online after being leaked from one of her mobile phones which had been stolen in 2019. Hossam and Al-Adham were charged with violating articles 25 and 27 of the 2018 Cybercrime Law, 175 of 2018.

Article 25 states: “Posting content that violates the family principles and values upheld by Egyptian society may be punished by a minimum of six-months’ imprisonment and/or a fine of 50,000 to 100,000 Egyptian pounds (approximately US$3,000 to US$6,000 in 2020).”

Article 27 states: “A web administrator who creates, manages, or uses a website or a private account with the aim of committing or facilitating a crime can face imprisonment of not less than two years and/or a fine of between 100,000 and 300,000 Egyptian pounds (approximately US6,000 to US$25,000 in 2020).”

Freedom of expression is protected in article 65 of the Egyptian Constitution which states that “[f]reedom of thought and opinion is guaranteed. All individuals have the right to express their opinion through speech, writing, imagery, or any other means of expression and publication”.

The case came before Cairo’s Misdemeanours Economic Court, which convicted Hossam and Al-Adham, and sentenced them to two years in prison and a fine of 300,000 Egyptian Pounds (approximately US$ 20,000 in 2020).

Hossam and Al-Adham argued that article 25 was unconstitutional as its offence of “violating the family principles and values upheld by Egyptian society” lacked clarity and specificity, and so infringed article 95 of the Constitution which requires that “crimes and penalties may only be based on the law,” and that this vagueness makes the provision a violation of the right to freedom of expression. In addition, Hossam argued that the video neither undermined public morals nor violated the law and Al-Adham that she had no intention to publish the images as they had been leaked from her stolen mobile phone. The prosecution maintained that Hossam and Al-Adham had violated Egyptian family values and principles and sought the implementation of article 7 of the Cybercrime Law which empowers the investigative authorities to block any website deemed to promote extremist ideas that violate national security or damages the Egyptian economy.

In interpreting article 25 and 27 – the first time the articles had been invoked – the Court explained that the criminal act takes place by “publishing content (via the internet, social media, email or any other electronic channel) that directly or indirectly calls or encourages dishonesty, parents disrespect, deviation from chastity or the obliteration of the value of science and religion using an article, visual/audio material, drawing, caricature…”. It added that the judge has a discretion to determine whether the conduct did violate Egyptian values and that the accused’s intention can be deduced from the facts, surrounding circumstances and evidence, and so there is no need to demonstrate actual knowledge and intention to commit the offences.

The Court assessed the evidence against Hossam and Al-Adham submitted by the prosecution and held that it was convincing and provided a coherent body of evidence which proved that Hossam and Al-Adham had violated Egyptian social values and family principles, and so were guilty of the offences under articles 25 and 27. The evidence included reports from the Attorney General’s office and the police which had stated that Hossam had taken advantage of the financial difficulties resulting from the Covid-19 pandemic to encourage girls to join her on the LIKEE app and the purpose of Hossam’s video was to seduce men and encourage women to engage in prostitution. The police report stated that Al-Adham’s social media account did belong to her. The Court stated that the evidence established beyond reasonable doubt that the two women had knowledge of these crimes and that they had the intention to commit them without regard to the damage it would cause to the conservative beliefs and religious heritage of Egyptian society. The Court characterized Hossam and Al-Adham’s actions as ones designed to spread unorthodox and deviant ideas under the guise of freedom and modernism.

Although it acknowledged that freedom of expression and creativity is a fundamental right which must be respected, the Court stressed that the right has limits and does not extend to obscene speech, indecency and immorality. The limits to the right serve to protect people’s honour, dignity and reputation. The Court stated that the Cybercrime Law was an example of a law which both protects freedom of creativity and prevents its exercise by those who abuse the right to cause harm to society, violate its values and principles and disregard customs and religious principles. The Court, however, refused to grant the prosecution’s request to implement article 7 of the Cybercrime Law on the grounds that the Court’s jurisdiction permitted it only to approve or amend the scope of an already imposed blocking order.

Both Hossam and Al-Adham appealed the decision to the Court of Appeals.


Decision Overview

The matter was before Judges Amr Sabry, Mohamed Gheita and Amr Ali. The central issue for the Court’s determination was whether the convictions of Hossam and Al-Adham were correct.

Hossam and Al-Adham argued that article 25 did not sufficient identify the conduct which was criminalized and so violated article 95 of the Constitution which stipulates that no criminal charges or penalties may be imposed without a basis in law.

Al-Adham sought an acquittal on the charges she faced on the grounds that the judgment of the first instance court had violated her rights to a defence and was based on article 27 which had not yet entered into force at the time she had created her social media account. She submitted that the elements of the crimes had not been proven and that she had no criminal intention. In addition, she submitted that the investigations had been insufficient and requested that a technical committee be appointed to determine the creator and manager of the social media account purporting to be hers. Al-Adham maintained that although she did shoot the videos in question and took the photos spread on her social media account, she did not commit the crime of violating the principles and family values by posting them.

Hossam also sought an acquittal on all the charges, and submitted that the lower court’s decision was not substantiated and lacked reasoning. She argued that the technical report examining the content of her account did not demonstrate that she had created and managed it to promote meetings between men and women which violated public morals.

The Court held that article 25 was constitutional, noting the reasoning of the first instance court as correct.

The Court dismissed Al-Adham’s argument that the lower court had incorrectly applied article 27, and noted that as the Cybercrime Law was enacted on August 14, 2018 and entered into force the following day it had been in force at the time of Al-Adham’s alleged commission of the crime (and so the date of the creation of the accounts was irrelevant). The Court also referred to the lower court’s conclusion that investigations had demonstrated that the photos which showed Al-Adham in revealing cloths (swim suits) and wearing transparent top showing her breasts and that the videos in which she appears to be dancing in revealing clothes were deemed indecent and inappropriate, and confirmed this conclusion. The Court supported the lower court’s finding that she had violated Egyptian principles and family values, and confirmed that the lower court had properly investigated the matter (as there was no technical report to support Al-Adham’s claim that she had no relationship with the social media account that had published them) and had sufficient grounds to convict her.

The Court also dismissed Al-Adham’s arguments that her right to a defence had been violated and that the elements of the offence (particularly the intention to commit the offence) had not been proven. It stated that the evidence before it contradicted Al-Adham’s arguments and that, nevertheless, it was not within its powers as an appellate court to re-examine decisions of these issues made justifiably by the lower court.

In respect of Hossam’s appeal the Court emphasized the presumption of innocence and that this means that the burden of proof is on the prosecution. The Court held that the prosecution’s investigation did not prove that Hossam had intended anything more than to offer work through Likee and so did not intend to promote indecent behavior or encourage young women to commit debauchery. The Court relied on the videos and the words used by Hossam in those videos. The Court confirmed that the judicial position is that thoughts and ideas can be manifested in the form of words, writing or signs commonly understood in a certain way or in taking a stance which could not be interpreted in any way other than what the actor had intended. The Court stressed that any manifestation of thoughts and opinions requires a positive act (done either explicitly or implicitly): if there is an explicit expression of thought, the direct understandable meaning of the words will illustrate the intention of the speaker. The Court noted that there is then a rebuttable presumption that the apparent will of the speaker is demonstrated through his direct expression.

The Court referred to Hossam’s expression in the video inviting women to work as broadcasters for Likee, and concluded that none of her words implied her intention to invite them for debauchery. It noted that there were direct phrases in her videos warning her audience from committing any acts which exceed the limits of morals.

Accordingly, the Court rejected the prosecution’s evidence and the charge brought against Hossam that she promoted debauchery through her accounts and therefore concluded that if she had not committed debauchery, the charge that she created and managed the account for purposes which violated the values and principles of the Egyptian society is groundless. The Court acquitted Hossam on this charge.

Accordingly, the Court reversed the lower court’s decision in respect of Hossam, acquitting her and cancelling all sanctions imposed on her by the lower court. However, the Court upheld the lower court’s decision in respect of Al-Adham and confirmed her conviction on charges of violating the values and principles of Egyptian society. The Court amended the lower court’s sentence, cancelling Al-Adham’s prison term by taking into consideration her young age at the time of the commission of the acts, her eagerness for fame and willingness to collect money, but retained the fine of 300,000 Egyptian Pounds (approximately US$ 20,000 at the time of the first decision) and the other related sentences.


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Mixed Outcome

The decision takes a strict approach to the free expression of one’s thoughts. By upholding the conviction of Al-Adham and holding that images and videos in swimwear, among others, constitute a violation of the values and principles of Egyptian society, without identifying the scope of those values and principles or demonstrating the manner in which such posts harm the morals of the society, the Court seriously limits the exercise of the right to freedom of expression – even though it acquitted Mossam.

Global Perspective

Quick Info

Global Perspective demonstrates how the court’s decision was influenced by standards from one or many regions.

Table of Authorities

National standards, law or jurisprudence

  • Egypt, Cybercrime Law, No. 175 of 2018, art. 25
  • Egypt, Cybercrime Law, No. 175 of 2018, art. 27
  • Egypt, Cybercrime Law, No. 175 of 2018, art. 7
  • Egypt, Constitution of Egypt (1971), art. 65
  • Egypt, Constitution of Egypt (1971), art. 95

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

Official Case Documents

Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback