Kathumba c. le Président du Malawi

Affaire Résolue élargit l'expression

Key Details

  • Mode D'expression
    Assemblée publique
  • Date de la Décision
    septembre 3, 2020
  • Résultat
    Loi ou action annulée ou jugée inconstitutionnelle
  • Numéro de Cas
    Constitutional Reference 1 of 2020
  • Région et Pays
    Malawi, Afrique
  • Organe Judiciaire
    Tribunal de première instance
  • Type de Loi
    Droit Constitutionnel
  • Mots-Cles
    COVID-19, Sécurité publique

Ce cas est disponible dans d'autres langues:    Vue en: English    Vue en: Español

Analyse de Cas

Résumé du Cas et Résultat

La Haute Cour du Malawi a estimé que les règles de confinement mises en œuvre en réponse à la pandémie du Coronavirus avaient un impact si important sur les droits fondamentaux qu’elles constituaient une dérogation à ces droits et étaient donc inconstitutionnelles. Un groupe d’individus et d’organisations de la société civile a saisi la Cour, faisant valoir que les règles adoptées par le ministre de la santé en vertu de la loi sur la santé publique n’avaient pas été correctement mises en œuvre et qu’elles portaient gravement atteinte à un ensemble de droits protégés par la Constitution – notamment les droits à la liberté de conscience, de religion et d’association. Bien que le ministre de la santé ait révoqué le règlement avant l’audience, la Cour a poursuivi, estimant qu’il était probable que des règles similaires puissent être adoptées à l’avenir. La Cour a estimé que les restrictions annulent le « contenu essentiel » des droits et constituent donc des dérogations et non de simples limitations des droits. La Cour a estimé que, comme les dérogations ne sont autorisées que lorsque l’état d’urgence a été déclaré et qu’il ne peut jamais être dérogé aux droits à la liberté de conscience, de religion et d’association, les Règles étaient anticonstitutionnelles.


Les Faits

Le 20 mars 2020, le président du Malawi, Peter Mutharika, a déclaré un état de catastrophe nationale en réponse à la pandémie du coronavirus. Cette déclaration aurait été faite en vertu de l’article 32 de la loi 24 de 1991 sur la préparation aux catastrophes et les secours en cas de catastrophe. Le ministre de la santé et le président d’un comité ministériel spécialement convoqué sur la Covid-19 ont ensuite déclaré que le coronavirus était une « maladie redoutable » et ont publié les Règles de santé publique (prévention, confinement et gestion du coronavirus), 2020 (les Règles) en vertu de la loi 12 de 1948 sur la santé publique. Les Règles – qui constituent une législation déléguée – n’ont pas été soumises au Parlement et le législateur n’a donc pas eu à se prononcer sur leur contenu.

Le 13 avril 2020, le ministre de la santé a déclaré un confinement de 21 jours en vertu des Règles. Trois jours plus tard, l’inspecteur général et le commandant des forces de défense du Malawi ont annoncé qu’ils étaient « prêts à déployer des officiers de police et des soldats pour faire respecter le confinement » [paragraphe 1.5].

Le 17 avril 2020, deux personnes, Esther Kathumba et Monica Chnag’anamuno, ont rejoint la coalition des défenseurs des droits de l’homme et le programme Église et Société du synode Livingstonia de l’Église presbytérienne d’Afrique centrale, et ont contesté la constitutionnalité des Règles à Blantyre. Le pasteur David Mbewe a déposé une requête séparée à Lilongwe, sur la même question. Les deux affaires ont été jointes et entendues ensemble à la Haute Cour de Lilongwe.

Lors de la première audience, la Haute Cour a accordé une injonction interlocutoire, et avant la deuxième audience, le ministre de la santé a révoqué les Règles. Toutefois, la Cour a estimé que l’affaire n’était pas sans objet car ce type de questions était « susceptible de se reproduire » et a donc accepté de se prononcer sur le fond de la demande [paragraphe 3.6].


Aperçu des Décisions

Le juge Manda a rendu le jugement unanime des trois tribunaux. La question centrale pour la Cour était de savoir si le confinement déclaré par le ministre de la santé était constitutionnel, étant donné l’impact qu’il avait sur les droits et libertés protégés par la Constitution.

Kathumba a fait valoir que les droits à l’activité économique, à la liberté de mouvement, à la dignité, à la liberté d’association, à la liberté de conscience, à la liberté de réunion avaient tous été sérieusement affectés par la déclaration de l’état de catastrophe. Elle a soutenu que « les droits de la population ont été restreints d’une manière telle qu’ils constituent une dérogation, et que le seul moyen de permettre une telle dérogation est de décréter l’état d’urgence » [paragraphe 7.1].

L’État a reconnu que le confinement avait un impact sérieux sur la jouissance des droits, mais a maintenu qu’il s’agissait de limitations justifiables des droits – comme le permet l’article 44 – et que cela ne constituait pas une dérogation aux droits prévus par l’article 45.

L’article 44 est une clause de limitation générale et stipule qu’ « aucune restriction ou limitation ne peut être apportée à l’exercice des droits et libertés prévus dans la présente constitution, autre que celles prescrites par la loi, qui sont raisonnables, reconnues par les normes internationales des droits de l’homme et nécessaires dans une société ouverte et démocratique ».

L’article 45 (parag.1) stipule qu’« aucune dérogation aux droits contenus dans le présent chapitre n’est autorisée, sauf dans la mesure prévue par le présent article, et aucune dérogation de ce type ne peut être faite à moins qu’il n’y ait eu une déclaration d’état d’urgence au sens du présent article ». Toutefois, le paragraphe 2 stipule que « Il ne peut être dérogé au droit à la liberté de conscience, de croyance, de pensée et de religion et à la liberté académique ».

La Cour a examiné la différence entre les limitations et les dérogations et a décrit les limitations comme « des restrictions qui sont nécessaires pour équilibrer des droits concurrents ou conflictuels, ou pour harmoniser les droits avec d’autres objectifs publics », tandis que les dérogations sont « des limites supplémentaires temporaires, ou des suspensions de droits, imposées pendant un état d’urgence » [paragraphe 7.4]. Elle a ajouté qu’il y aura une dérogation aux droits si la restriction des droits est telle qu’elle « annule le contenu essentiel des droits », et que dans ces cas, ces restrictions devront satisfaire aux critères énoncés à l’article 45 de la Constitution [paragraphe 7.5]. Si les droits sont simplement limités – c’est-à-dire que leur contenu essentiel reste intact – tout ce qui doit se produire est que les limitations remplissent le critère énoncé à l’article 44.

En appliquant ces principes à la présente affaire, la Cour a estimé que les restrictions à la circulation, à la vente et à l’achat d’alcool, au commerce et aux rassemblements religieux et sociaux « ont toutes réduit ou réduiraient l’activité commerciale essentielle et les moyens de subsistance des citoyens dont les droits constitutionnels à la vie et à la dignité étaient donc menacés compte tenu de l’impact des restrictions à » divers droits, y compris les droits à la liberté de conscience, de religion, d’association, de circulation et d’accès à la justice [paragraphe 7.7].

La Cour a reconnu que l’exécutif était habilité à adopter des mesures pour faire face à la pandémie de Covid-19, mais a estimé que l’impact du règlement était de remettre en cause le contenu des droits fondamentaux et qu’il constituait donc une dérogation et non une limitation des droits protégés par la Constitution. Elle a ajouté que le confinement « restreint fondamentalement divers droits – y compris le droit à la conscience, à la croyance, à la pensée et à la religion » – auxquels il ne peut être dérogé, en vertu de l’article 45(1).

Par conséquent, la Cour a estimé que, comme il n’y avait pas eu de proclamation de l’état d’urgence et que certains droits non susceptibles de dérogation avaient été affectés par les Règles, celles-ci avaient été adoptées à l’encontre des dispositions de l’article 45 et étaient donc anticonstitutionnelles.

La Cour a également jugé que « le droit à la sécurité sociale est implicitement garanti par les articles 19 (dignité humaine) et 16 (droit à la vie) » [paragraphe 10.1.6], et a noté, en se référant à l’affaire indienne Olga Tellis c. Bombay Municipal Corporation 1986 AIR 180, 1985 SCR Supl. (2) 51, que « le droit à la vie ne peut être exercé en l’absence de facteurs favorables » [paragraphe 8.5]. Elle a ajouté qu’il serait « anticonstitutionnel si le confinement dans le contexte de l’affaire dont nous sommes saisis était mis en œuvre sans accorder une attention particulière au droit à la vie et au droit à un moyen de subsistance » [paragraphe 8.5].

La Cour a fait remarquer que la restriction des droits fondamentaux était particulièrement flagrante car le règlement limitait l’accès aux tribunaux, et qu’il n’y avait donc aucune disposition permettant de contester la manière dont les Règles étaient mises en œuvre. La Cour a ajouté que nombre des garanties prévues dans la déclaration de l’état d’urgence – telles que l’exigence d’un vote à la majorité des deux tiers du Parlement pour prolonger l’état d’urgence – n’existaient pas dans le cas d’un état de catastrophe. Elle a souligné que « le droit de la population de contester l’imposition de mesures dérogatoires aux droits est prévu dans les mécanismes de contrôle de l’article 45 » et a réitéré que ces droits n’étaient tout simplement pas présents dans les Règles édictées à la suite de la déclaration d’un état de catastrophe. [par. 7.10].

En outre, la Cour a estimé que les Règles violaient le principe de la séparation des pouvoirs car elles – créations de l’exécutif – fixaient la manière dont le Parlement et les tribunaux devaient fonctionner dans le cadre du confinement. La Cour, se référant à l’affaire The State (sur demande de Lin Xiaoxiao c. le Procureur général [2020] MWHC 5 (3 avril 2020), a souligné que la législation subsidiaire, comme les Règles, « ne peut pas avoir pour effet d’affecter substantiellement les droits fondamentaux de l’homme en vertu de la Constitution parce que le Parlement n’a pas le pouvoir de déléguer l’élaboration de cette loi » [paragraphe 6.5]. La Cour a également jugé que les Règles étaient illégales car elles n’avaient pas été soumises au Parlement avant leur promulgation et qu’elles allaient au-delà de ce qui était permis en vertu de la loi sur la santé publique et étaient donc nulles.

La Cour a décidé que le ministre de la santé n’était pas habilité à édicter des Règles en vertu de la loi sur la santé publique qui « affectent ou affecteraient de manière substantielle et significative les libertés fondamentales reconnues par la Constitution », et a déclaré que les restrictions aux droits imposées par les Règles dépassaient les limites autorisées par l’article 44 de la Constitution et constituaient donc l’imposition illégale de l’état d’urgence « par la petite porte » [par. 10].

 


Direction De La Décision

Info Rapide

La direction de la décision indique si la décision élargit ou réduit l'expression sur la base d'une analyse de l'affaire.

élargit l'expression

La Haute Cour du Malawi a confirmé que les droits à la liberté de conscience, de croyance, de pensée et de religion ne peuvent jamais faire l’objet d’une dérogation, même si l’état d’urgence est déclaré, et que lorsque l’impact des restrictions sur les droits est tel que la nature essentielle du droit est niée, cette restriction ne peut jamais être justifiée comme une limitation.

Perspective Globale

Info Rapide

La perspective globale montre comment la décision de la Cour a été influencée par les normes d'une ou de plusieurs régions.

Tableau Des Autorités

Normes, droit ou jurisprudence nationales

  • Malawi, Constitution of Malawi (1994), sec. 33.

Importance du Cas

Info Rapide

L'importance du cas fait référence à l'influence du cas et à la manière dont son importance évolue dans le temps.

La décision établit un précédent contraignant ou persuasif dans sa juridiction.

Documents Officiels du Cas

Pièces Jointes:

Vous avez des commentaires?

Faites-nous savoir si vous remarquez des erreurs ou si l'analyse de cas doit être révisée.

Envoyer un Retour D'information

Global Freedom of Expression

Kathumba v. President of Malawi

Closed Expands Expression

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Public Assembly
  • Date of Decision
    September 3, 2020
  • Outcome
    Law or Action Overturned or Deemed Unconstitutional
  • Case Number
    Constitutional Reference 1 of 2020
  • Region & Country
    Malawi, Africa
  • Judicial Body
    First Instance Court
  • Type of Law
    Constitutional Law
  • Themes
    Public Order
  • Tags
    Public safety, COVID-19

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

There is a Spanish language version of this case available.    View Spanish version

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

The High Court of Malawi held that the lockdown rules implemented in response to the coronavirus pandemic so significantly impacted fundamental rights that they constituted a derogation of those rights and were therefore unconstitutional. A group of individuals and civil society organizations approached the Court, arguing that the Rules the Minister of Health enacted under the Public Health Act had not been properly implemented and severely infringed a range of constitutionally-protected rights – including the rights to freedom of conscience, religion and association. Although the Minister of Health had revoked the Rules before the hearing, the Court proceeded, holding that it was likely that similar rules could be adopted in the future. The Court found that the restrictions negated the “essential content” of the rights and therefore constituted derogations and not merely limitations of the rights. The Court held that as derogations are only permitted when a state of emergency has been declared and that the rights to freedom of conscience, religion and association could never be derogated, the Rules were unconstitutional.


Facts

On March 20, 2020, the President of Malawi, Peter Mutharika, declared a State of National Disaster in response to the coronavirus pandemic. The declaration was purportedly made under section 32 of the Disaster Preparedness and Relief Act, 24 of 1991. The Minister of Health and the Chairperson of a specially-convened cabinet committee on Covid-19 later declared the coronavirus a “formidable disease” and published the Public Health (Corona Virus Prevention, Containment and Management) Rules, 2020 (the Rules) under the Public Health Act, 12 of 1948. The Rules – which constitute delegated legislation – were not brought before Parliament and so the legislature did not have any input on their content.

On April 13, 2020, the Minister of Health declared a 21-day lockdown in terms of the Rules. Three days later, the Inspector General and the Commander of the Malawi Defence Forces announced that they were “ready to deploy police officers and soldiers to enforce the lockdown” [para. 1.5].

On April 17, 2020, two individuals, Esther Kathumba and Monica Chnag’anamuno, joined the Human Rights Defenders Coalition and the Church and Society Program of the Livingstonia Synod of the Church Central Africa Presbyterrean, and filed a challenge to the constitutionality of the Rules in Blantyre. Paster David Mbewe filed a separate application in Lilongwe, on the same issue. The two cases were joined and heard together in the Lilongwe High Court.

At the first hearing the High Court granted an interlocutory injunction, and before the second hearing the Minister of Health revoked the Rules. However, the Court held that the matter was not moot as the “issues … are capable of repetition” and so agreed to make a ruling on the merits of the application [para. 3.6].


Decision Overview

Judge Manda delivered the unanimous judgment of the three-court bench. The central issue for the Court was whether the lockdown declared by the Minister of Health was constitutional, given the impact it had on constitutionally-protected rights and freedoms.

Kathumba argued that the rights to economic activity, freedom of movement, dignity, freedom of association, freedom of conscience, freedom of assembly had all been seriously impacted by the declaration of the state of disaster. She submitted that “the rights of the populace have been restricted in such a substantive manner that constitute a derogation, and the only way in which such a derogation is permissible is if a state of emergency were declared” [para. 7.1].

The State accepted that the lockdown had a serious impact on the enjoyment of rights, but maintained that these were justifiable limitations of the rights – as permitted by section 44 – and did not constitute a derogation of rights under section 45.

Section 44 is a general limitations clause and states that “no restrictions or limitations may be placed on the exercise of any rights and freedoms provided for in this constitution other than those prescribed by law, which are reasonable, recognized by international human rights standards, and necessary in an open and democratic society”.

Section 45(1) states that “[n]o derogation from rights contained in this Chapter shall be permissible save to the extent provided for by this section and no such derogation shall be made unless there has been a declaration of a state of emergency within the meaning of this section”. However, subsection (2) states that “There shall be no derogation with regard to … (h) the right to freedom of conscience, belief, thought and religion and to academic freedom”.

The Court discussed the difference between limitations and derogations and described limitations as “restrictions that are necessary to balance competing or conflicting rights, or to harmonise rights with other public objectives”, whereas derogations are “temporary additional limits, or suspensions of rights, imposed during a state of emergency” [para. 7.4]. It added that there will be a derogation of rights if the restriction on the rights is such that they “negate the essential content of the rights”, and that in these cases those restrictions will have to meet the criteria as set out in section 45 of the Constitution [para. 7.5].  If the rights are merely limited – that is, their essential content remains intact – all that needs to occur is that the limitations pass the test set out in section 44.

In applying these principles to the present case, the Court held that the restrictions on movement, sale and purchase of alcohol, trading, and religious and social gatherings “all curtailed or would curtail essential commercial activity and the lifeline of the citizens whose constitutional rights to life and dignity were therefore threatened in view of the impact of the restrictions to” various rights, including the rights to freedom of conscience, religion, association, movement and access to justice [para. 7.7].

The Court accepted that the executive was empowered to adopt measures to respond to the Covid-19 pandemic, but held that the impact of the Rules was to negate the content of fundamental rights and so they constituted a derogation and not limitation of constitutionally-protected rights. It added that the lockdown “fundamentally restricts” various rights – including the right to conscience, belief, thought and religion” – which cannot be derogated, in terms of section 45(1).

Accordingly, the Court held that as there had been no declaration of a state of emergency and as certain non-derogable rights had been impacted by the Rules, the Rules had been enacted against the stipulations of section 45 and so were unconstitutional.

The Court also held that the “right to social security is implicitly guaranteed under sections 19 (human dignity) and 16 (right to life)” [para. 10.1.6], and noted, with reference to the Indian case of Olga Tellis v. Bombay Municipal Corporation 1986 AIR 180, 1985 SCR Supl. (2) 51, that “the right to life cannot be exercised in the absence of enabling factors” [para 8.5]. It added that it would be “unconstitutional if the lockdown in the context of the matter before us was implemented without paying particular regard to the right to life, and the right to a livelihood” [para. 8.5].

The Court commented that the restriction of fundamental rights was particularly egregious as the Rules restricted access to the courts, and so there was no provision to challenge the way in which the rules were implemented. The Court added that many of the safeguards in the declaration of a state of emergency – such as the requirement of a two-thirds majority vote in Parliament to extend the state of emergency – did not exist in respect of a state of disaster. It stressed that “[i]mbued in the checks and balances under section 45 is the right of the populace to challenge the imposition of measures that derogate rights” and reiterated that these were simply not present in the Rules enacted pursuant to a declaration of a state of disaster. [para. 7.10].

In addition, the Court held that the Rules violated the principle of separation of powers as they – creations of the executive – set out how Parliament and the courts were to operate under the lockdown. The Court, with reference to The State (on application of Lin Xiaoxiao v. Attorney General [2020] MWHC 5 (3 April 2020), emphasized that subsidiary legislation, like the Rules, “may not have the effect of substantially affecting fundamental human rights under the Constitution because Parliament has no power to delegate the making of such law” [para. 6.5]. The Court also held that the Rules were unlawful as they had not been brought before Parliament before their enactment and that, as they went beyond what was permitted in terms of the Public Health Act and were therefore void.

The Court ruled that the Minister of Health was not empowered to make Rules under the Public Health Act which “substantially and significantly affected or would affect the fundamental freedoms recognized by the Constitution”, and declared that the restrictions on rights imposed by the Rules exceeded the limits permitted in section 44 of the Constitution and therefore constituted the unlawful imposition of a state of emergency “through the back door” [para. 10].


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Expands Expression

The High Court of Malawi confirmed that the rights to freedom of conscience, belief, thought and religion can never be derogated, even if a state of emergency is declared, and that when the impact of restrictions on rights is such that the essential nature of the right is negated that restriction can never be justified as a limitation.

Global Perspective

Quick Info

Global Perspective demonstrates how the court’s decision was influenced by standards from one or many regions.

Table of Authorities

National standards, law or jurisprudence

  • Malawi, Constitution of Malawi (1994), sec. 33.

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

Official Case Documents

Attachments:

Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback