Halvi c. État du Kerala

Affaire Résolue élargit l'expression

Key Details

  • Mode D'expression
    Communication électronique / basée sur l'internet, Presse / Journaux
  • Date de la Décision
    août 20, 2020
  • Résultat
    Décision - Résultat de la procédure, Rejeté
  • Numéro de Cas
    WP(C).No.16349 OF 2020
  • Région et Pays
    Inde, Asie et Asie Pacifique
  • Organe Judiciaire
    Tribunal de première instance
  • Type de Loi
    Droit Constitutionnel
  • thèmes
    Licences / Réglementation des médias, Accès à l'information publique, Liberté de la presse
  • Mots-Cles
    COVID-19, Fake News, Fausses nouvelles

Ce cas est disponible dans d'autres langues:    Vue en: English    Vue en: Español

Analyse de Cas

Résumé du Cas et Résultat

La Haute Cour du Kerala a refusé de passer toute directive relative à la réglementation et au contrôle de la presse écrite et des médias électroniques, comme le demandait le requérant. Le requérant avait affirmé que les nouvelles fausses et scandaleuses publiées par les médias pour salir l’image du système judiciaire, des fonctionnaires du gouvernement, des forces de police et des dirigeants politiques violaient la liberté d’expression et de parole prévue à l’article 19(1)(a) de la Constitution indienne. Les juges ont estimé que la jurisprudence indiquait clairement que l’élaboration de directives générales pour la réglementation de la presse n’était pas autorisée et qu’il existait suffisamment de garanties pour le redressement des griefs du requérant en vertu d’autres lois, notamment la loi sur le Conseil de la presse de 1978 et l’article 19(2) de la Constitution.


Les Faits

Le litige d’intérêt public a été déposé par un avocat, qui cherchait à réglementer la presse écrite et les médias électroniques afin de protéger les droits fondamentaux des personnes, notamment leur droit à être informées des questions sociales, politiques, économiques, culturelles et autres questions importantes du moment, pour leur permettre de comprendre et de se faire une opinion sur la manière dont elles sont gérées par le gouvernement et l’administration. Le requérant soutient que de nombreux médias ont publié de faux rapports dans l’intention de créer une polarisation politique et religieuse.

Parmi les cas spécifiques signalés par le requérant, on peut citer une affaire de contrebande d’or, de fausses nouvelles publiées par les médias concernant des patients atteints de COVID-19, des mesures prises par le gouvernement, des décès survenus dans le cadre de ces activités, etc. Le requérant a également signalé plusieurs cas de viols et d’autres infractions pénales. Pour la même raison, le requérant a demandé des directives incorporant les restrictions prévues à l’article 19 de la Constitution. Voici quelques-unes des directives que le requérant a demandées :

1. Les restrictions imposées aux médias en vertu de l’article 19 de la Constitution, de la Loi sur l’outrage au tribunal et d’autres lois en vigueur visant à empêcher les médias de mener des procès sur des questions d’intérêt public.

2. Empêcher les médias de relever les noms des personnes, leur caste, leur religion ou l’affiliation politique des personnes accusées dans une affaire pénale et veiller à ce que seuls des faits réels et non des opinions soient publiés.

3. Empêcher les médias de propager des désaccords politiques ou communautaires dans la société.

4. Élaborer des lois permettant de délivrer des licences aux chaînes privées utilisant les plateformes de médias sociaux et les empêcher de publier des contenus répréhensibles par leurs canaux privés avec des intentions malveillantes.

5. Non délivrance de licences à toute entreprise de presse, sauf si celle-ci veille à ne rapporter que des faits véridiques et exacts au public.

 


Aperçu des Décisions

La présente affaire a été présidée par le président de la Haute Cour du Kerala, S. Manikumar, et le juge S.P.Chaly. La question centrale était de savoir si la Cour pouvait élaborer des directives afin de réglementer et de contrôler les activités de la presse écrite et des médias électroniques.

Le requérant a fait valoir que les procès des médias l’emportent sur le système officiel d’administration de la justice et interfèrent avec le droit à un procès équitable d’un accusé dans les affaires pénales. Selon le requérant, la diffusion délibérée de mensonges, de calomnies et d’informations à répétition pour salir l’image du pouvoir judiciaire, des fonctionnaires du gouvernement, des forces de police, des dirigeants politiques, y compris le ministre principal et d’autres ministres selon leur bon vouloir, leurs caprices et leurs fantaisies sans vérification des faits, violent les dispositions constitutionnelles et créent des obstacles à l’exercice de leurs fonctions par les fonctionnaires, vont à l’encontre de l’État de droit et entraînent des erreurs judiciaires [p. 5]. Le requérant soutient que les médias violent l’article 19(1)(a) de la Constitution indienne en publiant des opinions préconçues dans l’intention de véhiculer des programmes politiques. Le requérant a en outre fait valoir que la propagation de nouvelles fausses et scandaleuses par les médias engendre des préjugés dans l’esprit des gens, violant ainsi la liberté d’expression et le droit des citoyens à connaître la vérité [p. 8].

Le requérant a affirmé que les actes actuels des médias ont violé le principe de l’innocence jusqu’à preuve du contraire, ont provoqué des tensions au sein de la communauté, ont affecté la crédibilité des informations et ont causé un préjudice irréparable à la dignité et à la crédibilité de certains membres du personnel politique [p. 2]. Selon le requérant, ces actes ont été perpétrés en raison de l’incapacité du gouvernement à assurer la protection des droits fondamentaux garantis par les articles 19 et 21 de la Constitution, le code pénal indien et la loi sur l’outrage aux tribunaux, ainsi que par diverses directives et arrêts de la Cour suprême [p. 2]. Le requérant a fait valoir que la législation existante est insuffisante pour lutter contre les actes irresponsables de la presse et des médias.

En statuant sur l’affaire, les juges ont d’abord noté que « selon la Constitution indienne, les médias ne disposent d’aucun droit fondamental spécifique pour leur liberté de parole et d’expression, contrairement au premier amendement de la Constitution américaine où la presse dispose d’une liberté absolue de parole et d’expression ». Les juges ont observé que la presse jouit de la liberté d’expression en vertu de l’article 19(1)(a) de la Constitution, qui est garantie à tous les citoyens indiens, mais que celle-ci peut être restreinte en vertu de la clause (2) de l’article 19 dans l’intérêt de la souveraineté et de l’intégrité de l’Inde, de la sécurité de l’État, des relations amicales avec les États étrangers, de l’ordre public, de la décence ou de la moralité, ou en cas d’outrage au tribunal, de diffamation ou d’incitation à commettre une infraction [p. 9].

Pour parvenir à une conclusion, les juges ont passé en revue de nombreuses affaires marquantes sur la liberté de parole et d’expression, notamment Romesh Thappar c. Union of India [AIR 1950 SC 124], Brij Bhushan c. État de Delhi [AIR 1950 SC 129], Sakal Papers c. Union of India [AIR 1962 SC 305] et diverses autres, pour souligner que « les restrictions qu’elles contiennent montreraient clairement que même la presse n’est pas libre de saborder la liberté de vie et la liberté personnelle de tout citoyen. Cependant, les principes de droit énoncés par la cour suprême montreraient également que la liberté dont jouit la presse en tant que quatrième pouvoir dans la gouvernance du pays est vitale et se distingue également de manière à protéger les intérêts du public, et en matière de diffusion des nouvelles pour le bien public » [p. 20].

Les juges ont estimé que les mesures de protection accordées en vertu du code pénal indien et de la loi sur l’outrage aux tribunaux étaient suffisantes pour réparer les préjudices subis par le requérant. En outre, selon les juges, la loi sur le Conseil de la presse de 1978 préserve la liberté de la presse et maintient et améliore les normes des journaux en constituant une autorité investie de pouvoirs statutaires. En outre, les juges ont fait remarquer que la loi de 1995 sur les réseaux de télévision par câble (le Règlement) et le Règlement de 1994 sur les réseaux de télévision par câble contenaient des dispositions suffisantes pour contrôler le fonctionnement des médias électroniques et que toute personne lésée pouvait s’adresser aux autorités constituées en vertu de ces textes et demander réparation [p. 37].

En outre, les juges ont longuement discuté de la décision de la Cour suprême dans l’affaire Sahara

India Real Estate Corporation Limited c. Securities and Exchange Board of India [(2012) 10 SCC 603] dans laquelle il a été jugé que l’établissement de directives pour réglementer les activités des médias n’était pas une proposition judicieuse. La Cour a également observé que dans l’affaire M.R. Saravnan contre Joint Secretary [W.P. (C) No. 21497 de 2017], présidée par l’un des juges actuels, une requête similaire demandant des directives a été rejetée en raison de dispositions légales déjà existantes et il y a été jugé que « la liberté d’expression est un élément essentiel de notre développement individuel – en tant qu’êtres humains et en tant qu’animaux politiques – et pour améliorer et radicaliser les démocraties. L’invention de la presse a marqué un tournant dans le débat sur la liberté d’expression. La presse écrite a amplifié la portée des opinions, des informations et des idées. En effet, la plume est devenue plus puissante que l’épée » [p. 36].

Les juges ont conclu qu’un litige d’intérêt public visant à définir des directives pour restreindre les médias ne pouvait pas être envisagé. Ils ont en outre estimé que les arrêts de la Cour suprême montrent clairement que les tribunaux peuvent restreindre les médias au cas par cas. En se fondant sur l’arrêt de la Cour suprême dans l’affaire Sahara India Real Estate Corporation Limited c. Securities and Exchange Board of India [(2012) 10 SCC 603], les juges ont estimé qu’il n’était pas possible d’élaborer des directives générales pour réglementer la presse [p.37].

 


Direction De La Décision

Info Rapide

La direction de la décision indique si la décision élargit ou réduit l'expression sur la base d'une analyse de l'affaire.

élargit l'expression

La Haute Cour du Kerala a élargi l’expression en rejetant la pétition et en refusant d’adopter toute directive concernant la réglementation de la presse écrite et des médias électroniques. Les juges ont observé que la présence de garanties existantes était suffisante pour limiter l’utilisation abusive de l’article 19(1)(a) et qu’il n’était pas nécessaire d’adopter davantage de directives pour la réglementation des médias. Les juges ont réitéré la jurisprudence pour souligner que « la liberté d’expression est un élément essentiel de notre développement individuel – en tant qu’êtres humains et en tant qu’animaux politiques – et pour améliorer et radicaliser les démocraties. L’invention de la presse a été un tournant dans le débat sur la liberté d’expression. La presse écrite a amplifié la portée des opinions, des informations et des idées. En effet, la plume est devenue plus puissante que l’épée ».

Perspective Globale

Info Rapide

La perspective globale montre comment la décision de la Cour a été influencée par les normes d'une ou de plusieurs régions.

Tableau Des Autorités

Lois internationale et/ou régionale connexe

Normes, droit ou jurisprudence nationales

  • India, Romesh Thappar v. State of Madras, (1950 SCR 594)
  • India, Sakal Papers (P) Ltd. v. The Union of India, (1962) 3 S.C.R. 842
  • India, BrijBhushan v State of Delhi AIR 1950 SC 124
  • India, Virendra v. State of Punjab, (1958) S.C.R. 308
  • India, Express Newspaper v. Union of India, AIR 1958 SC 578
  • India, Indian Express Newspapers (Bombay) Private Ltd. v. Union of India, (1985) 2 S.C.R. 287
  • India, Printers (Mysore) Limited v. Assistant Commercial Tax Officer, 1994 (2) SCC 434
  • India, In Re: Harijai Singh, 1996 (6) S.C.C. 466
  • India, Sahara India Real Estate Corporation Limited v. Securities and Exchange Board of India (2012), 10 SCC 603.
  • India, E.M. Sankaran Namboodripad v. T. Narayanan Nambiar (1970), 2 SCC 325.
  • India, State of Maharashtra v. Rajendra Jawanmal Gandhi (1997), 8 SCC 386.
  • India, Constitution of India (1949), art. 21.
  • India, Constitution of India (1949), art. 19.

Importance du Cas

Info Rapide

L'importance du cas fait référence à l'influence du cas et à la manière dont son importance évolue dans le temps.

La décision établit un précédent contraignant ou persuasif dans sa juridiction.

Documents Officiels du Cas

Pièces Jointes:

Vous avez des commentaires?

Faites-nous savoir si vous remarquez des erreurs ou si l'analyse de cas doit être révisée.

Envoyer un Retour D'information

Global Freedom of Expression

Español العربية

Halvi v. State of Kerala

Closed Expands Expression

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Electronic / Internet-based Communication, Press / Newspapers
  • Date of Decision
    August 20, 2020
  • Outcome
    Decision - Procedural Outcome, Dismissed
  • Case Number
    WP(C).No.16349 OF 2020
  • Region & Country
    India, Asia and Asia Pacific
  • Judicial Body
    First Instance Court
  • Type of Law
    Constitutional Law
  • Themes
    Press Freedom, Access to Public Information, Licensing / Media Regulation
  • Tags
    COVID-19, Media Regulation, False News, Fake News

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

There is a Spanish language version of this case available.    View Spanish version

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

The High Court of Kerala refused to pass any guidelines in relation to the regulation and control of the print and electronic media as requested by the petitioner. The petitioner had claimed that false and scandalizing news published by the media to malign the image of the judiciary, government functionaries, police force and political leaders violated freedom of speech and expression under Article 19(1)(a) of the Indian Constitution.  The judges held that judicial precedents clearly indicate that the general framing of guidelines for regulation of the press was not permissible and that there were enough safeguards for the redressal of the petitioner’s grievance under other laws including the Press Council Act, 1978 and Article 19(2) of the Constitution.


Facts

The public interest litigation was filed by an Advocate, seeking regulation of print and electronic media to protect the fundamental rights of people including their right to be kept informed about the current social, political, economic, cultural and other important issues, to enable them to understand and form an opinion about the way they are being managed by government and administration. The petitioner contended that many of the media houses published false reports with the intention of creating political and religious polarization.

Certain specific instances pointed out by the petitioner included a gold smuggling case, false news being published by media personnel in respect of COVID-19 patients, steps taken by the Government, death occurring thereunder etc. Various instances in respect of rape cases and other criminal offences were also pointed out by the petitioner. For the same, petitioner sought guidelines incorporating the restrictions as envisaged under Article 19 of the Constitution. Some of directions that the petitioner sought were:

  1. Restrictions on the media as envisaged under Article 19 of the Constitution,  Contempt of Court Act and other prevailing laws to restrain mass media from conducting trial by media in matters of public interest.
  2. Restraining the media from taking the names of persons, their caste, religion or political affiliation of persons accused in any criminal case and ensuring that only true facts and not opinions were published.
  3. Restraining the media houses from spreading political or communal disharmony in society.
  4. Formulating laws to issue licenses to private channels using social media platforms and restraining them from publishing objectionable contents through their private channels with malafide intentions.
  5. Non-issuance of licenses to any media house unless they ensured that they would report true and correct facts to the public.

Decision Overview

The present case was presided over by the Chief Justice of Kerala High Court S. Manikumar and Justice S.P.Chaly. The central issue whether any guidelines could be framed by the Court in order to regulate and control the activities of the print and electronic media.

The petitioner argued that media trials override the official justice delivery system and interfere with the right to a fair trial of an accused in criminal cases. According to the petitioner, the deliberate planting of lies, false aspersions and the repeated broadcast of news to malign the image of the judiciary, government functionaries, the police force, political leaders including the chief minister and other ministers at will and whims and fancies without factual verification violated constitutional provisions and created hindrances in the discharging of duties by functionaries, go against the rule of law and lead to miscarriages of justice [p. 5]. The petitioner contended that the media violate Article 19(1)(a) of the Indian Constitution by publishing prejudiced opinion with the intention of conveying political agendas. The petitioner further submitted that the propagation of false and scandalizing news by the media causes prejudice in the minds of people violating freedom of expression and the right of the citizens to know the truth [p. 8].

The petitioner claimed that the present acts of the media violated the principle of innocence until proved guilty, created unrest in the community, affected the credibility of the news and caused irreparable damage to the dignity and credibility of certain political personnel [p. 2]. As per the petitioner, these acts have been perpetrated due to a failure of the government to ensure the protection of fundamental rights guaranteed under Articles 19 and 21 of the Constitution, the Indian Penal Code and the Contempt of Courts Act, and various guidelines and judgments enunciated by the Supreme Court [p. 2]. The petitioner argued that the existing legislation is insufficient to tackle the irresponsible acts of the press and media.

While deciding the case, the judges first noted that “under the Indian Constitution, media does not have any specific fundamental right for their freedom of speech and expression unlike the first amendment to the American Constitution where the press has absolute freedom of speech and expression.” The judges observed that the press enjoys the freedom of speech under Article 19(1)(a) of the Constitution which is guaranteed to all the Indians citizens, however this can be restricted in accordance with clause (2) of Article 19 in the interests of the sovereignty and integrity of India, the security of the State, friendly relations with foreign States, public order, decency or morality, or in relation to contempt of court, defamation or incitement to an offence [p. 9].

To arrive at a conclusion, the judges reviewed many landmark cases on the freedom of speech and expression which included Romesh Thappar v. Union of India [AIR 1950 SC 124], Brij Bhushan v. State of Delhi [AIR 1950 SC 129], Sakal Papers v. Union of India [AIR 1962 SC 305] and various others to emphasize that “the restrictions contained thereunder would make it clear that even the press is not at liberty to scuttle the freedom of life and personal liberty of any citizen. However, the principles of law propounded by the apex court also would show that the freedom enjoyed by the press as the fourth estate in the governance of the country is vital and also distinguished so as to protect the interests of public, and in the matter of disseminating the news for the public good” [p. 20].

The judges opined that there were sufficient protective measures granted under the Indian Penal Code and the Contempt of Courts Act, for redressal of grievances as sought by the petitioner. Furthermore, according to the judges, the Press Council Act, 1978 preserved the freedom of the press and maintained and improved the standards of newspapers by constituting an authority vested with statutory powers. Apart from the same, the judges observed that the Cable Television Networks (Regulation) Act, 1995 and the Cable Television Network Rules, 1994, had sufficient provisions to control the functioning of the electronic media and any aggrieved person could approach the authorities constituted thereunder and seek redressal [p. 37].

Furthermore, the judges extensively discussed the judgment of Supreme Court in the case of Sahara India Real Estate Corporation Limited v. Securities and Exchange Board of India [(2012) 10 SCC 603] in which it was held that laying down a guideline to regulate the activities of the media was not a wise proposition. The Court also observed that in M.R. Saravnan v. Joint Secretary [W.P. (C) No. 21497 of 2017], which was presided over by one of the present judges, a similar petition seeking guidelines was dismissed due to already existing legal provisions and it was therein held that “the freedom of expression is a pivotal component of our individual development – as human beings and as political animals – and to improve and radicalize democracies. The invention of the press was a turning point in the debate about freedom of expression. The printing press magnified the reach of opinions, information and ideas. Indeed, the pen became mightier than the sword” [p. 36].

The judges concluded that a public interest litigation to frame guidelines to restrict the media could not be entertained. They further held that the judgments of the Supreme Court make it clear that the media can be restricted by the courts on a case to case basis. By placing reliance on the Supreme Court judgment in Sahara India Real Estate Corporation Limited v. Securities and Exchange Board of India [(2012) 10 SCC 603], the judges held that general framing of guidelines for regulating the press was not possible [p.37].


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Expands Expression

The High Court of Kerala expanded expression by dismissing the petition and refusing to pass any guidelines regarding regulation of the print and electronic media. The judges observed that the presence of existing safeguards was sufficient to restrict the misuse of Article 19(1)(a) and more guidelines for media control were not needed.  The judges reiterated the judicial precedents to emphasize that “the freedom of expression is a pivotal component of our individual development – as human beings and as political animals – and to improve and radicalize democracies. The invention of the press was a turning point in the debate about freedom of expression. The printing press magnified the reach of opinions, information and ideas. Indeed, the pen became mightier than the sword.”

Global Perspective

Quick Info

Global Perspective demonstrates how the court’s decision was influenced by standards from one or many regions.

Table of Authorities

Related International and/or regional laws

National standards, law or jurisprudence

  • India, Romesh Thappar v. State of Madras, (1950 SCR 594)
  • India, Sakal Papers (P) Ltd. v. The Union of India, (1962) 3 S.C.R. 842
  • India, BrijBhushan v State of Delhi AIR 1950 SC 124
  • India, Virendra v. State of Punjab, (1958) S.C.R. 308
  • India, Express Newspaper v. Union of India, AIR 1958 SC 578
  • India, Indian Express Newspapers (Bombay) Private Ltd. v. Union of India, (1985) 2 S.C.R. 287
  • India, Printers (Mysore) Limited v. Assistant Commercial Tax Officer, 1994 (2) SCC 434
  • India, In Re: Harijai Singh, 1996 (6) S.C.C. 466
  • India, Sahara India Real Estate Corporation Limited v. Securities and Exchange Board of India (2012), 10 SCC 603.
  • India, E.M. Sankaran Namboodripad v. T. Narayanan Nambiar (1970), 2 SCC 325.
  • India, State of Maharashtra v. Rajendra Jawanmal Gandhi (1997), 8 SCC 386.
  • India, Constitution of India (1949), art. 21.
  • India, Constitution of India (1949), art. 19.

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

Official Case Documents

Attachments:

Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback