SRL Bedoya Lima c. Colombie

Affaire Résolue élargit l'expression

Key Details

  • Mode D'expression
    Presse / Journaux
  • Date de la Décision
    août 26, 2021
  • Résultat
    Décision - Résultat de la procédure, Motion accordée, Violation d'une règle de droit international, Violation de la CADH ou de la Déclaration américaine des droits et des devoirs
  • Numéro de Cas
    Serie C No. 431
  • Région et Pays
    Colombie, Latin-America and Caribbean
  • Organe Judiciaire
    Cour interaméricaine des droits de l'homme
  • Type de Loi
    Droit international/régional des droits de l'homme
  • thèmes
    Violence contre les orateurs / Impunité
  • Mots-Cles
    Violence fondée sur le sexe, Journalisme

Ce cas est disponible dans d'autres langues:    Vue en: English    Vue en: Español    Vue en: العربية

Analyse de Cas

Résumé du Cas et Résultat

La Cour interaméricaine des droits de l’homme a déclaré l’État colombien responsable de la violation du droit à l’intégrité personnelle, à la liberté personnelle, à l’honneur et à la dignité, et à la liberté de pensée et d’expression de la journaliste colombienne, Jineth Bedoya. Le 25 mai 2000, la journaliste s’est rendue à la prison « La Modelo » à Bogota, en Colombie, pour réaliser une interview, mais avant d’entrer dans la prison, elle a été enlevée, séquestrée et emmenée dans un entrepôt où elle a été victime d’abus sexuel et d’agressions commis par plusieurs hommes. La CIADH a considéré que l’État a violé son obligation de garantir la sécurité de Madame Bedoya parce qu’il n’a pas mis en œuvre des mesures de protection efficaces pour la victime, alors qu’il était conscient du risque qu’elle courait en raison de ses sujets et de son statut en tant que femme journaliste.


Les Faits

Le 27 avril 2000, une confrontation a eu lieu entre des paramilitaires de droite et des membres d’autres groupes armés à l’intérieur de la prison « La Modelo » à Bogota, en Colombie. La journaliste Jineth Bedoya Lima a rapporté ces événements et a par conséquent reçu des menaces de mort. Cependant, le 24 mai 2000, Madame Bedoya a appris qu’elle serait reçue par l’un des détenus pour une interview. Le lendemain, Madame Bedoya s’est rendue à la prison pour réaliser l’interview.

Le 25 mai 2000, à son arrivée à la prison, un gardien a informé la journaliste qu’elle devait attendre pour être autorisée à entrer et qu’elle ne pouvait entrer qu’avec le photographe. Pendant qu’elle attendait, Madame Bedoya est restée seule pendant quelques minutes et a été abordée par un homme qui l’a empoignée violemment et l’a menacée avec une arme à feu. L’homme l’a emmenée dans un entrepôt où se trouvaient également deux autres hommes. Là, elle a eu les yeux bandés, a été insultée, agressée et attachée. Plus tard, ils l’ont mise dans un véhicule et ont continué à la battre. Au cours de l’enlèvement, auquel se sont joints par la suite d’autres hommes (dont des agents en uniforme), Madame Bedoya a été agressée sexuellement à plusieurs reprises.

Au milieu de cette violence, les ravisseurs ont répété qu’ils devaient « nettoyer les médias », que « les journalistes allaient mener le pays à sa perte», qu’ils étaient « financés par la guérilla » et qu’ils allaient les punir. Après dix heures de détention, la journaliste a été abandonnée sur le bord d’une route à Villavicencio, en Colombie. La journaliste a été incapable de bouger pendant un certain temps jusqu’à ce qu’un chauffeur de taxi la trouve et l’emmène à un poste de police avant d’être hospitalisée.

Le lendemain, le parquet a ordonné l’ouverture d’une enquête pénale préliminaire pour le délit « d’enlèvement simple » et « d’acte sexuel violent ». Au cours des années suivantes, plusieurs procédures d’enquête ont été menées, au cours desquelles Madame Bedoya a été entendue 12 fois. En outre, la victime a dû mener sa propre enquête et fournir des preuves qu’elle a elle-même recueillies.

À la suite des procédures pénales ouvertes contre les personnes accusées des actes commis, en 2016 et 2019, trois hommes liés à des groupes paramilitaires (Alejandro Cárdenas Orozco, Jesús Emiro Pereira Rivera et Mario Jaimes Mejía) ont été reconnus coupables d’être les auteurs des actes présumés et condamnés à des peines allant de 11 à 40 ans de prison.

Pendant les années de l’enquête, Madame Bedoya a reçu des menaces en permanence et, par conséquent, la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l’homme (CIADH) a dû lui accorder des mesures de précaution pour protéger sa vie et son intégrité physique.

Le 3 juin 2011, la Commission interaméricaine a reçu une requête déposée par la Fondation pour la liberté de la presse (FLIP), invoquant la responsabilité internationale de la République de Colombie du préjudice subi par la journaliste Jineth Bedoya Lima et sa mère, Luz Nelly Lima. Le 21 juillet 2014, la CIADM a publié son rapport de recevabilité pour l’affaire et le rapport sur le fond le 7 décembre 2018.

Plus tard, le 6 septembre 2019, la CIADH a présenté l’affaire contre la Colombie devant la Cour.


Aperçu des Décisions

La Cour interaméricaine des droits de l’homme a examiné la responsabilité internationale de l’État colombien pour la violation des droits à l’intégrité personnelle, à la liberté personnelle, à l’honneur et à la dignité et à la liberté de pensée et d’expression de la journaliste Jineth Bedoya Lima, ainsi que pour la violation des droits aux garanties judiciaires, à la protection judiciaire et à l’égalité devant la loi en raison du manque de diligence, de la discrimination sexuelle dans les enquêtes et de la violation du délai raisonnable. Le 26 août 2021, la CIADH a déclaré l’État colombien responsable de la violation du droit à l’intégrité personnelle, à la liberté personnelle, à l’honneur et à la dignité, et à la liberté de pensée et d’expression de Madame Bedoya.

La CIDH a fait valoir que Madame Bedoya a été victime d’enlèvement, de torture et de viol, pour des raisons qui seraient liées à sa profession. La requérante a affirmé que l’État colombien aurait dû être conscient de la situation dangereuse dans laquelle se trouvait Madame Bedoya. De l’avis de la Commission, le contexte national et les circonstances de l’affaire indiquaient le risque encouru par la journaliste. Elle a également averti qu’aucune des entités de sécurité de l’État colombien « n’a adopté en temps utile des mesures adéquates pour éviter les actes de violence et d’intimidation à l’encontre de Jineth Bedoya, en particulier pour prévenir les événements du 25 mai 2000 » [paragraphe 83]. Pour la Commission, ces mesures auraient pu raisonnablement prévenir l’atteinte à la vie, l’intégrité et la liberté de Madame Bedoya, en violation des articles 4, 5 et 7 de la Convention américaine. Le manque de protection a affecté d’autres droits fondamentaux tels que le droit à la liberté d’expression, contenu dans l’article 13 de la Convention américaine. Enfin, en ne respectant pas son obligation de protéger la journaliste des violences sexuelles qu’elle a subies, la Commission a considéré que l’État a violé les articles 5(1), 5(2), 11 et 24 de la Convention américaine, relevant des obligations contenues dans l’article 1(1), l’article 7(b) de la Convention de Belém do Pará et les articles 1 et 6 de la Convention interaméricaine pour la prévention et la répression de la torture (IACPPT). Elle a également considéré qu’il existait des « indices sérieux» qui laissaient entendre la participation d’agents de l’État.

Pour leur part, les représentants ont soutenu que «l’État n’a pas satisfait à son obligation de respect, puisqu’il y a eu une «étroite collaboration » entre les paramilitaires et les agents de l’État dans les événements perpétrés le 25 mai 2000» [par. 84]. En outre, ils ont ajouté que l’État avait un devoir accru de protéger Madame Bedoya parce qu’elle était une femme journaliste, une défenseuse des droits de l’homme et étant donné que de surcroît les autorités étaient conscientes du grand risque auquel elle était exposée.

Dans sa défense, l’État colombien a indiqué que des mesures raisonnables ont été adoptées pour prévenir le risque auquel la journaliste était exposée. L’État a fait valoir que Madame Bedoya « était accompagnée par les autorités de l’État, en particulier la police nationale, qui lui a offert des mesures de protection en raison des menaces reçues » [paragraphe 85]. En ce qui concerne les événements du 25 mai 2000, l’État a affirmé que les autorités ont mené une enquête sérieuse et diligente sur la participation éventuelle d’agents de l’État, mais que cette allégation n’a pas pu être corroborée.

La Cour a analysé la responsabilité internationale de l’État pour l’enlèvement et les actes de torture dont a été victime Madame Bedoya le 25 mai 2000. La Cour a souligné le risque particulier auquel sont exposées les femmes journalistes en raison de la violence sexiste. Par conséquent, des mesures de protection doivent être mises en œuvre afin de faire respecter et de prendre en compte les normes juridiques en matière de violence sexiste et de non-discrimination. En outre, les États ont l’obligation positive de « a) identifier et enquêter avec la diligence requise sur les risques particuliers encourus par les femmes journalistes, ainsi que sur les facteurs qui augmentent la possibilité qu’elles soient victimes de violence, et b) mettre en œuvre une approche fondée sur le genre lors de l’adoption de mesures visant à garantir la sécurité des femmes journalistes, y compris celles de nature préventive, lorsqu’elles sont demandées, ainsi que celles visant à les protéger contre les représailles » [paragraphe 91].

Dans cette affaire, la Cour a conclu que le devoir de prévention de l’État exigeait une diligence renforcée, car Madame Bedoya se trouvait dans une position doublement vulnérable : en raison de son travail de journaliste et parce qu’elle est une femme. Selon le jugement, les autorités étaient conscientes du risque que courait la journaliste et n’ont pas pris les mesures adéquates pour l’empêcher de se produire. Par conséquent, la Cour a prononcé la responsabilité internationale de l’État pour la violation du devoir de dligence.

En outre, la Cour a relevé l’existence d’indices sérieux de l’implication de l’État aux événements du 25 mai 2000, compte tenu du comportement étrange du gardien de prison, de l’entrée irrégulière dans l’établissement et de la présence d’agents en uniforme lors de l’enlèvement. Par conséquent, la Cour a conclu que l’État était responsable de l’interception et de l’enlèvement de Madame Bedoya, en violation de son obligation de se conformer à l’article 7 de la Convention américaine, en relation avec l’article 1(1) de celle-ci et les articles 7(a) et 7(b) de la Convention de Belém do Pará. À cet égard, le jugement note que pendant l’enlèvement, Madame Bedoya a été soumise à « des actes de torture physique, sexuelle et psychologique, qui n’auraient pas pu être réalisés sans l’acquiescement et la collaboration de l’État, ou du moins avec sa tolérance » [paragraphe 104]. Pour cette raison, elle a également déclaré la violation des articles 5(2) et 11 de la Convention américaine, conjointement avec les obligations contenues dans l’article 1(1) du même instrument, les articles 7(a) et 7(b) de la Convention de Belém do Pará et les articles 1 et 6 de l’IACPPT.

En ce qui concerne la violation du droit à la liberté de pensée et d’expression, la Cour a rappelé que ce droit a une dimension individuelle et sociale. Ainsi, le jugement constate que l’enlèvement, la torture, le viol et les autres agressions subies par Madame Bedoya se sont produits alors qu’elle effectuait son métier de journaliste. Pour ce qui est de la dimension individuelle, la Cour a conclu que l’attaque « visait à punir et à intimider la journaliste et, par conséquent, à affecter l’exercice individuel de son droit à la liberté de pensée et d’expression » [paragraphe 109]. En ce qui concerne la dimension sociale, la Cour a conclu que l’absence d’une garantie effective de la liberté de pensée et d’expression a généré un «effet dissuasif qui a privé le public de voix et de points de vue pertinents et, en particulier, les voix et les points de vue des femmes, ce qui, à son tour, a conduit à une augmentation de l’écart entre les sexes dans la profession de journaliste et a porté atteinte au pluralisme qui est un élément essentiel de la liberté de pensée et d’expression et de la démocratie» [paragraphe 113]. Sur la base de ce qui précède, le jugement a déterminé que la Colombie a violé son obligation de respecter et de garantir le droit à la liberté de pensée et d’expression de Madame Bedoya, tel qu’établi dans l’article 13 de la Convention américaine, ainsi que l’article 1(1) dudit traité.

En ce qui concerne la diligence raisonnable, la Cour a considéré que, dans le cadre de l’enquête sur ces cas de violence contre des femmes journalistes, le devoir de diligence raisonnable devait être soumis à un examen strict. Ceci, d’une part, pour respecter l’obligation positive de garantir la liberté d’expression et de protéger l’exercice de la profession de journaliste, et d’autre part, pour la prévention et la protection de la violence faite aux femmes. Ainsi, « lorsqu’ils enquêtent sur des actes de violence dirigés contre des femmes journalistes, les États ont l’obligation d’adopter toutes les mesures nécessaires pour aborder cette enquête dans une perspective intersectionnelle qui tienne compte de ces différents axes de vulnérabilité qui affectent la personne impliquée et qui, à leur tour, motivent ou accentuent la diligence renforcée » [paragraphe 126].

La Cour a constaté de multiples fautes dans l’enquête pénale qui ont obligé Madame Bedoya elle-même à mener l’enquête seule et à raconter son témoignage à de nombreuses reprises, ce qui témoigne de la discrimination fondée sur le genre du processus judiciaire. En plus de ce qui précède, les erreurs dans la collecte des preuves et la violation du délai raisonnable pour l’enquête et la poursuite de l’accusé ont perpétué un sentiment individuel et social d’impunité et de violence contre les journalistes. Ainsi, la Cour a conclu que l’État a violé les droits aux garanties et à la protection judiciaires établis par les articles 8(1) et 25(1) de la Convention américaine, en relation avec les articles 1(1) et 24 dudit traité, ainsi que l’article 7(b) de la Convention de Belém do Pará, au préjudice e Madame Bedoya.

Enfin, la Cour a reconnu la responsabilité de l’État en ce qui concerne les menaces reçues avant et après le 25 mai 2000, qui ont affecté tant l’exercice de la liberté d’expression que l’intégrité personnelle de la journaliste et de sa mère Luz Nelly Lima.

La Cour a établi que le jugement en lui-même constitue une forme de réparation, et a en outre ordonné à l’État colombien de promouvoir les enquêtes et les sanctions en cours, de diffuser le jugement, de mettre en œuvre des mesures efficaces pour la protection des femmes journalistes, de créer un centre commémoratif pour sensibiliser à la violence contre les femmes et au journalisme d’investigation, d’émettre un programme mensuel basé sur la campagne de Madame Bedoya contre la violence sexuelle, et de verser l’indemnisation convenue en faveur de Jineth Bedoya et de sa mère, Nelly Lima.


Direction De La Décision

Info Rapide

La direction de la décision indique si la décision élargit ou réduit l'expression sur la base d'une analyse de l'affaire.

élargit l'expression

La décision élargit le champ d’expression en mettant en œuvre les normes internationales en matière de droits de l’homme pour la protection des femmes journalistes qui ont été victimes de violences sexuelles dans le cadre de leur travail journalistique. Il s’agit d’un arrêt historique, car c’est la première décision d’une cour internationale des droits de l’homme faisant référence à ce phénomène. En outre, l’arrêt joue un rôle clé dans l’avancement de la création de normes de diligence accrue par les gouvernements à l’égard des femmes journalistes.

Perspective Globale

Info Rapide

La perspective globale montre comment la décision de la Cour a été influencée par les normes d'une ou de plusieurs régions.

Tableau Des Autorités

Lois internationale et/ou régionale connexe

Importance du Cas

Info Rapide

L'importance du cas fait référence à l'influence du cas et à la manière dont son importance évolue dans le temps.

La décision établit un précédent contraignant ou persuasif dans sa juridiction.

La décision (y compris les opinions concordantes ou dissidentes) établit un précédent influent ou persuasif en dehors de sa juridiction.

La décision a été citée dans:

Documents Officiels du Cas

Documents Officiels du Cas:


Pièces Jointes:

Vous avez des commentaires?

Faites-nous savoir si vous remarquez des erreurs ou si l'analyse de cas doit être révisée.

Envoyer un Retour D'information

Global Freedom of Expression

Bedoya Lima v. Colombia

Closed Expands Expression

Key Details

  • Mode of Expression
    Press / Newspapers
  • Date of Decision
    August 26, 2021
  • Outcome
    Decision - Procedural Outcome, Motion Granted, Violation of a Rule of International Law, ACHR or American Declaration of the Rights and Duties Violation
  • Case Number
    Serie C No. 431
  • Region & Country
    Colombia, Latin-America and Caribbean
  • Judicial Body
    Inter-American Court of Human Rights (IACtHR)
  • Type of Law
    International/Regional Human Rights Law
  • Themes
    Violence Against Speakers / Impunity
  • Tags
    Violence, Journalism

Content Attribution Policy

Global Freedom of Expression is an academic initiative and therefore, we encourage you to share and republish excerpts of our content so long as they are not used for commercial purposes and you respect the following policy:

  • Attribute Columbia Global Freedom of Expression as the source.
  • Link to the original URL of the specific case analysis, publication, update, blog or landing page of the down loadable content you are referencing.

Attribution, copyright, and license information for media used by Global Freedom of Expression is available on our Credits page.

This case is available in additional languages:    View in: Español    View in: العربية

Case Analysis

Case Summary and Outcome

The Inter-American Court of Human Rights declared the Colombian State responsible for the violation of the right to personal integrity, personal liberty, honor and dignity, and freedom of thought and expression of Colombian journalist, Jineth Bedoya. On May 25, 2000, the reporter visited “La Modelo” prison in Bogota, Colombia to conduct an interview, but before entering the prison she was abducted, kidnapped and taken to a warehouse where she was sexually abused and assaulted by several men. The IACtHR considered that the State violated its obligation to guarantee Bedoya’s safety because it did not implement effective protection measures for the victim, even when it was aware of the risk she faced because of the issues she covered and because she was a female journalist.


Facts

On April 27, 2000, a confrontation took place between right wing paramilitaries and members of other armed groups inside “La Modelo” Prison in Bogotá, Colombia. Journalist Jineth Bedoya Lima reported the events and received death threats as a result. However, on May 24, 2000, Bedoya received the news that she would be received by one of the inmates for an interview. The next day Bedoya visited the prison to conduct the interview.

On May 25, 2000, upon arriving at the prison, a guard told the journalist that she had to wait to be allowed in and that she could only enter with the photographer. While waiting, Bedoya was alone for a few minutes and was approached by a man who grabbed her violently and threatened her with a firearm. The man took her to a warehouse where two other men were also present. There, she was blindfolded, insulted, assaulted and tied up. Later they put her in a vehicle and continued beating her. During the kidnapping, which was later joined by more men (including uniformed officers), Bedoya was sexually assaulted several times.

Amidst the violence, the kidnappers repeated that they had to “clean up the media”, that “the journalists were going to ruin the country”, that they were “financed by the guerrillas” and that they were going to punish them. After 10 hours of being held hostage, Bedoya was left on the side of a road in Villavicencio, Colombia. The journalist was unable to move for some time until a taxi driver found her and took her to a police station before she was transferred to the hospital.

The following day the prosecutor’s office ordered the opening of a preliminary criminal investigation for the crime of “simple kidnapping” and “violent sexual act”. During the following years, several investigation procedures were carried out, including 12 statements that Bedoya had to give. In addition, the victim had to conduct her own investigation and provide evidence to the process collected by herself.

As a result of the criminal proceedings opened against those accused of the acts committed, in 2016 and 2019 three men related to paramilitarism (Alejandro Cárdenas Orozco, Jesús Emiro Pereira Rivera and Mario Jaimes Mejía) were convicted as material perpetrators of the alleged acts and sentenced to between 11 and 40 years in prison.

During the years of the investigation Bedoya received continuous threats and as a result the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACmHR) had to grant precautionary measures to protect her life and physical integrity.

On June 3, 2011, the Inter-American Commission received a petition filed by the Foundation for Press Freedom (FLIP), alleging the international responsibility of the Republic of Colombia to the detriment of journalist Jineth Bedoya Lima and her mother, Luz Nelly Lima. On July 21, 2014, the IACmHR issued its admissibility report on the case and the merits report on December 7, 2018. Later, on September 6, 2019 the IACmHR filed the case against Colombia before the court.


Decision Overview

The Inter-American Court of Human Rights reviewed the international responsibility of the State of Colombia for the violation of the rights to personal integrity, personal liberty, honor and dignity and freedom of thought and expression to the detriment of journalist Jineth Bedoya Lima, as well as for the violation of the rights to judicial guarantees, judicial protection and equality before the law due to the lack of due diligence, the gender discrimination in the investigations and the violation of reasonable time. On August 26, 2021, the IACtHR declared the Colombian State responsible for the violation of the right to personal integrity, personal liberty, honor and dignity, and freedom of thought and expression of Bedoya.

The IACHR alleged that Bedoya was a victim of kidnapping, torture and rape, for reasons that were allegedly linked to her profession. The petitioner claimed that the Colombian State should have been aware of Bedoya’s dangerous situation. In the Commission’s view, the national context and the circumstances of the case indicated the risk faced by the journalist. It also warned that none of the Colombian State security entities “adopted timely and adequate measures to avoid acts of violence and intimidation against Jineth Bedoya, in particular, to prevent the events of May 25, 2000” [par. 83]. For the Commission, these measures could reasonably have prevented the occurrence of a certain and imminent risk to Bedoya’s life, integrity and liberty, in violation of Articles 4, 5 and 7 of the American Convention. The lack of protection affected other fundamental rights such as the right to freedom of expression, contained in Article 13 of the American Convention. Finally, by failing to comply with its obligation to protect the journalist from the sexual violence she suffered, the Commission considered that the State violated Articles 5(1), 5(2), 11 and 24 of the American Convention, in relation to the obligations contained in Article 1(1), Article 7(b) of the Convention of Belém do Pará and Articles 1 and 6 of the The Inter-American Convention to Prevent and Punish Torture (IACPPT). It also considered that there were “serious indications” suggesting the participation of State agents.

For their part, the representatives alleged that “the State did not comply with its obligation to respect, since there was “close collaboration” between paramilitaries and State agents in the commission of the events of May 25, 2000″ [par. 84]. Additionally, they added that the State had a reinforced duty to protect Bedoya because she was a female journalist, a human rights defender and because the authorities were aware of the great risk to which she was exposed.

In its defense, the Colombian State indicated that reasonable measures were adopted to prevent the risk to which the journalist was exposed. The State argued that Bedoya “was accompanied by State authorities, especially the National Police, who offered her protection measures due to the threats received” [par. 85]. Regarding the events of May 25, 2000, the State claimed that the authorities carried out a serious and diligent investigation into the possible participation of State agents, however the allegation could not be corroborated.

The Court analyzed the international responsibility of the State for the kidnapping and acts of torture to which Bedoya was subjected on May 25, 2000. The court emphasized the particular risk faced by women journalists as a result of gender-based violence. Therefore, protection measures must be implemented to observe and address the standards of gender-based violence and non-discrimination. In addition, States have a positive obligation to “a) identify and investigate with due diligence the special risks they face as women journalists, as well as the factors that increase the possibility of them being victims of violence, and b) implement a gender-based approach when adopting measures to guarantee the safety of women journalists, including those of a preventive nature, when requested, as well as those aimed at protecting them against reprisals” [par. 91].

In the specific case, the Court concluded that the State’s duty of prevention required reinforced due diligence, since Bedoya was in a doubly vulnerable position: for her work as a journalist and because she is a woman. According to the ruling, the authorities were aware of the risk that the journalist was running and did not provide adequate measures to prevent it from occurring. Therefore, the Court declared the international responsibility of the State for the violation of the duty of care.

In addition, the Court noted the existence of serious indications of State participation in the events of May 25, 2000, given the strange conduct of the prison guard, the irregular entry to the facility and the presence of uniformed officers during the abduction. Consequently, the Court concluded that the State was responsible, in breach of its obligation to respect, for the interception and kidnapping of Bedoya, in violation of Article 7 of the American Convention, in relation to Article 1(1) of the same and Articles 7(a) and 7(b) of the Convention of Belém do Pará. In this regard, the judgment notes that during the kidnapping, Bedoya was subjected to “acts of physical, sexual and psychological torture, which could not have been carried out without the acquiescence and collaboration of the State, or at least with its tolerance” [para. 104]. For this reason, it also declared the violation of Articles 5(2) and 11 of the American Convention, in relation to the obligations contained in Article 1(1) of the same instrument, Articles 7(a) and 7(b) of the Convention of Belém do Pará and Articles 1 and 6 of the IACPPT.

In reference to the violation of the right to freedom of thought and expression, the Court recalled that this right has an individual and a social dimension. Thus, the judgment notes that the kidnapping, torture, rape and other aggressions suffered by Bedoya occurred while she was working as a journalist. From the individual dimension, it was concluded that the attack “was intended to punish and intimidate the journalist and thereby affect the individual exercise of her right to freedom of thought and expression” [par. 109]. From the social dimension, the Court concluded that the absence of an effective guarantee of freedom of thought and expression generated a “chilling effect that caused the public to lose relevant voices and points of view, and, in particular, women’s voices and points of view, which, in turn, led to an increase in the gender gap in the journalistic profession and attacked pluralism as an essential element of freedom of thought and expression and democracy” [par. 113]. Based on the aforementioned, the ruling defined that Colombia violated its obligation to respect and guarantee Bedoya’s right to freedom of thought and expression, established in Article 13 of the American Convention, in relation to Article 1(1) of said treaty.

With regard to due diligence, the Court considered that in the investigation of these cases of violence against women journalists, the duty of due diligence must be subjected to strict scrutiny. This, firstly, to comply with the positive obligation to guarantee freedom of expression and protect the exercise of the journalistic profession, and secondly, for the prevention and protection of violence against women. Thus, “when investigating acts of violence directed against women journalists, States have the obligation to adopt all the necessary measures to approach such investigation from an intersectional perspective that takes into account these different axes of vulnerability that affect the person involved, which, in turn, motivate or potentiate the reinforced due diligence” [par. 126].

The Court found multiple faults in the criminal investigation that forced Bedoya herself to carry out the investigation on her own and recount her testimony on numerous occasions, evidencing the discrimination based on gender of the judicial process. In addition to the above, the mistakes in the gathering of evidence and the violation of the reasonable period of time for the investigation and prosecution of the accused perpetuated an individual and social feeling of impunity and violence against journalists. Thus, the Court concluded that the State violated the rights to judicial guarantees and judicial protection established in Articles 8(1) and 25(1) of the American Convention, in relation to Articles 1(1) and 24 of said treaty, as well as Article 7(b) of the Convention of Belém do Pará, to the detriment of Bedoya.

Lastly, the Court recognized the State’s responsibility in relation to the threats received before and after May 25, 2000, which affected both the exercise of freedom of expression and the personal integrity of the journalist and her mother Luz Nelly Lima.

The Court established that the judgment itself constitutes a form of reparation, and additionally ordered the Colombian State to promote the pending investigations and sanctions, circulate the judgment, implement effective measures for the protection of women journalists, create a memorial center to raise awareness on violence against women and investigative journalism, issue a monthly program based on Bedoya’s campaign against sexual violence, and pay the compensation established for Jineth Bedoya and her mother, Nelly Lima.


Decision Direction

Quick Info

Decision Direction indicates whether the decision expands or contracts expression based on an analysis of the case.

Expands Expression

The decision expands expression by implementing international human rights standards for the protection of female journalists who have been victims of sexual violence in relation to their journalistic work. This is a landmark judgment, as it is the first decision of an international human rights court referring to this phenomenon. In addition, the judgment plays a key role in advancing in the creation of standards of heightened due diligence by the governments with regards to women journalists.

Global Perspective

Quick Info

Global Perspective demonstrates how the court’s decision was influenced by standards from one or many regions.

Table of Authorities

Related International and/or regional laws

Case Significance

Quick Info

Case significance refers to how influential the case is and how its significance changes over time.

The decision establishes a binding or persuasive precedent within its jurisdiction.

Decision (including concurring or dissenting opinions) establishes influential or persuasive precedent outside its jurisdiction.

The decision was cited in:

Official Case Documents

Official Case Documents:


Attachments:

Have comments?

Let us know if you notice errors or if the case analysis needs revision.

Send Feedback